We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small boutique hotel with a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canaima Chill House
Ranked #1 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Great location, great service, super stylized and clean rooms, cheap rates and safe place to stay in Santa Teresa. You might need an ATV or car to come up and down from the hill where the hotel is located, but besides that, I recommend 100%.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
Thank ebagnarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2010

If you are looking for noisy, trendy, hot spot, off the chart, glamourous crowded hotel don't bother .... this is not for you. This hidden gem caters to the responsible traveler who respects nature for its true essence; in their natural habitat per say ... where flora, fauna, and nature are the primary attractions.

- We enjoyed our time in Santa Teresa because of hotel staff. They were very friendly and very helpful with our "what to do agenda", sleeping rooms were all equipped the same with private bathrooms & hot water (great water pressure), queen bed, ac power plugs, Ipod ready, full kitchen, dining area, floating bed. Hotel is also pet friendly, at night is guarded by German Shepherd who makes sure you feel safe at all times. Paradise in the middle of a jungle.

- Do plan on renting a quad (best way to get around) or a 4x4 car to get to the city center or surrounding areas, hotel location is hidden on top of a hill (worth the hike, or the drive) 5 minute drive to the beach ...

Costa Rica has a lot to offer - it was my first time in this country - but not the last. First impressions were memorable, almost magical ...contact with the locals - always inviting! This is the beauty of Santa Teresa & Canaima Chill House

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We had great expectations after all the good comments but the stay at canaima chill house was even better. After tree nights we really thought about cancelling the next hotel because we didn´t want to leave this place. Juan Carlos is the best host, you can imagine. You feel instantly welcome!
If we ever come back to costa rica (in fact, we decided not to go twice to the same place) we definitely spend our time at canaima chill house. The hanging bed outside was so wonderful that I decided to build this kind of bed if I ever have my own garden or a balcony which is big enough.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJUrlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

I just got back from eight nights in Costa Rica. I was fortunate enough to spend six of them at Canaima Chill House. Canaima is the perfect balance of luxury and comfort while still feeling like you're having a unique experience in truly special place (Santa Teresa). Juan Carlos, Alex, Rebecca, Philippe, and everyone else who helped make the stay so wonderful, muchos gracias. That's pretty much all the Spanish you'll get from me. So, if you're an ignorant American such as myself, with no grasp on any language beyond your native tongue of English, youre in luck because the staff there is incredibly versatile in that area. Oh...and if you want a massage on your patio, Juan Carlos is happy to arrange. He doesn't do it himself (which for us ladies--and maybe some gay men--is a shame!) but he knows some local people with some incredibly good hands. Canaima is relaxing but sophisticated. Juan Carlos did a beautiful job creating a place that allows many of us to take a real break from our usual day to day. Oh, and if you do go, please tell Teetsu (I know I spelled it wrong, Juan and Alex, but it's better than calling her Turkey) that I send my love. She's the best pooch in town.

Love,
Erin From Brooklyn

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELJ718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Originally was traveling in February with no reservations... stuck in Puntarenas for four hours (missed the ferry). Got on the phone and found another local hotel that was full but that recommended Canaima. He said it was a new hotel and it was very nice. Nestled up on the hill, this beautiful oasis is surrounded by tropical scenery and lots of monkeys, butterflies and the like. My uncle actually slept on the outside bed that is suspended from the ceiling. He says he's never slept that well in his life. JuanCarlos, one of the owners, was incredibly accomodating and also very nice. The beach is a short walk down the hill, along with small cafes and shops. I can guarantee if you stay at Canaima, you will love it. You can't beat the price for this beautiful heaven. I miss it already so very much. I just returned from my second trip.. this time alone. Didn't want to leave the place!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apeybloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

After 2 days travelling the beautiful Costa Rica we end up in Santa Teresa, and following the tips of a friend we went to Canaima Chill House.
There we meet Juan Carlos, the owner, a really nice guy who show us the hotel and surroundings. We can not believe the effort, good taste, care and detail that he had put in the hotel, every single detail was take in to account in the desing of the hotel and rooms.
So we can not resist the charming of the place and the warm welcome that we received.
Later on we discovered, with the help of Juan Carlos, the nice people of Santa Teresa, and we end up with a dinner in an Argentinean restaurant, owned by three brothers, who not only had good food but an excellent atmosphere created by their music and jokes.
Believe me you have to see it!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanitoviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Really nice place, clean and quiet.
Love to wake up with the sounds of the jungle.
Friendly people.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
585 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £57 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaima Chill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Eco Chic hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our "pillow swimming pool".Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 Suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing