We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de la Luna
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
US$679
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Break Surf Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$16
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Funky Monkey Lodge(Santa Teresa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
43
4
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
4
1
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The house is very beautiful. However, it is on top of a very steep hill. Having a car or atv is necessary to get up to the house. Vicky also acted welcoming and friendly at the beginning. but quickly shifted into nagging me and the rest of my group for money here and there. At the end of our stay, she wanted to charge us if we were gonna use the sugar in our morning coffee. I recommend staying somewhere else when visiting Santa Teresa. Vicky does not know much about hospitality, and she can make things very uncomfortable for you with her constant "re-negotiations".

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmore2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_CasadelaLuna, Propietario at Casa de la Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013
Google Translation

Este estimable huésped hizo su reservación y pagó por AIRBNB, por tanto es alli donde debió enviar su comentario, con lo cual se comprobaría que pagó por 5 y no por 6 huéspedes, por tanto nuestro derecho a cobrarle el 6to. Tambien teniamos derecho a cobrales el golpe que le dieron al ATV que les alquilamos,fue de $60 y no querian pagarlo.
Nuestros precios incluyen desayuno, por tanto para la preparación de otros alimentos los huéspedes deben traer sus ingredientes,sólo les proveemos de una canasta de especies y condimentos básicos que estan a disposición de todos los huéspedes, si disponen de alimentos de la casa deben pagarlos.
Tenemos altos estándares de limpieza, sera de responsabilidad del huésped de mantenerlos, en sus habitaciones y lugares comunes de lo contrario su estadía sera con sábanas llenas de grasa de pizza,sobrantes de cigarro, y toallas sucias de comida y por supuesto mas trabajo para nosotros después de que se ha ido, pero respetamos sus hábitos siempre que no ponga en peligro a otros huéspedes o nuestras instalaciones.
Respetuosamente . La propietaria..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Spent three nights with Vicky last week and Casa de la Luna was one of the best experiences I've had in the last several years!

We arrived around 10pm and Vicky immediately greeted us, suggested we may want to take a swim in the pool after our long ride, and offered us some freshly made pineapple juice. She really makes the place with her caring personality and makes you feel so at home there, from the moment you step in.

There are only a handful of rooms, and our room was in the corner with a private balcony overlooking the Pacific ocean. Big doors open out onto the ocean (open air) so you get the amazing breeze off of the Pacific ocean all night and despite being on the hill you can hear the waves crashing as you fall asleep. Sun wakes you up early in the morning, which is perfect if you want to get out to the water and enjoy Santa Theresa.

I've stayed at a lot of luxury and non-luxury properties - if you need a tv in your room and air conditioning, then this is probably not the place for you. But that said with the combination of the amazing open house, the owner Vicky and its incredible views this is by far the best place I saw in Santa Theresa, and would recommend it in a heartbeat over any of the other resorts around!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brand_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Vicky opens up her home and her heart to her guests, doing everything possible to make their stay as memorable as possible. Her gorgeous boutique B&B is set a short walk or drive up the side of the "mountain" that flanks Santa Teresa. As far as I am concerned, it is only worth visiting Santa Teresa if you stay up the hill (in dry season), because the dust on or near the main road is unbearable. It is also very noisy on the main strip, unless you are in a fancy hotel tucked down hear the beach.

But up the hill, at Casa de la Luna, there is no noise, no dust... only a beautiful breeze, stunning view and the sounds (and sights) of wildlife. There is a delicious pool with an unobstructed view of the ocean and the sunset. (The sunsets are one of the main highlights of Santa Teresa)

The rooms all have beautiful views, are clean, simple and have very comfy beds. Guests have use of the kitchen and all open areas of the home - which is more beautiful than any photo can illustrate.

I found that I had to drag myself away from the hotel... it is nice enough that I think you'd be happy spending your entire stay up there, just staring at the expansive ocean and crashing waves. But of course I did head off to check out everything that Santa Teresa has to offer... an incredible beach, picturesque yoga studios everywhere and tasty little restaurants. Casa de la Luna is a little ways along the strip (thank goodness!!!), but if you have a car, you're laughing, and even if you are on foot, it only takes about 3 minutes to walk down the hill, or 5 walking up (a somewhat invigorating 5 minutes, but hey, it works off a glass of wine!). There is beach access within a 6 minute walk from the hotel (3 minutes from the bottom of the road). Next to the beach access is my favourite restaurant/lounge in Santa Teresa - Rocamar Beach Lounge. There is a supermarket within walking distance, and a bus that goes up and down the strip leaves from there throughout the day.

I spent a week in one of the upstairs rooms and it was absolutely luxurious. Such a special time. Moonlit dips in the pool completed every day.

I would highly recommend that you choose this spot if you are visiting Santa Teresa. You wont be disappointed, and it is honestly the best way to experience what this place is all about.

Room Tip: There are two upstairs rooms with private balconies and crazy views! But all the rooms are nice. You can't go wrong! If she is renting it, ask about the Casita del Sol!!!! (Precious RUSTIC gem tucked in the woods, overlooking the pool and the sea... )
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaiaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed here with my friend for two nights while surfing and exploring this area. The hotel is absolutely amazing. On top of a mountain overlooking the ocean and beautiful countryside. Walking distance to the beach. The rooms are clean with incredible views. Wi-fi works. The owner, Vicky is one of the nicest people you will meet. Great cook btw, too. It's a perfect spot and I would recommend it to anyone. Make sure you have a four wheeler if you want to make it up the hill. Short road but a quite steep. You will love it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertC-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_CasadelaLuna, Propietario at Casa de la Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012
Google Translation

Gracias Robert por tu linda recomendación y estamos a la orden para cuando quieras regresar, saludos a Christian.
Cariños,
Vicky Vargas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week in August. We had visited Santa Teresa before but stayed in a hotel and wanted a different experience and Casa de la Luna was exactly what we were looking for! Vicky was so helpful and cooked a great breakfast every morning while teaching us Spanish. She is there for anything you may need! All of the rooms have great views and really cool bathrooms either overlooking the ocean or open to the jungle on the back of the property. The pool was clean and nice to relax in after a day at the beach, visitors have access to the kitchen if needed and the whole house is open air with plenty of places to sit and relax.
We did rent an ATV for the week not only because of the hill (which is walkable if you want) but because we like to go to different places between Mal Pais and Playa Hermosa and the whole 'strip' is 7km long. We will choose Casa de la Luna when we return to Santa Teresa. Gracias Vicky!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderWasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews