We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PURA VIDA ALL THE WAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

One week ended up being three. Yoga, surfing, relaxing, good food and amazing people. Don Jons is the best place to stay in Santa Teresa. I stayed in the dorms for three whole weeks, which was perfect for me, as I am traveling on a budget (shared a room with some pretty awesome people), but staying in the treehous/cabinas in the back looked equally awesome. The Samurai himself is one of a kind, doing everything he can to make sure you have a nice time while staying in Costa Rica. He arranged a deep water fishing tour, an awesome full moon party, movie nights etc. A billion thanks for everything you did for me Jon! Pura Vida.

Room Tip: I have never felt more safe in the dorms. There are always people around, and everyone knows everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Don Jon's is located close to the beach, right on the main strip but has the chilled vibes and tranquility that I was after whilst in Costa Rica. I spent SEVEN WEEKS here and could have stayed longer for sure, definitely missing the place right now.

All of the staff are absolute legends and really accommodating, the dorm room is great with AC, the Cabinas are so sick, you really feel like you're in a tree house and the apartments are fully equipped and accomodate up to 5 people easily. It has everything you need for every budget (cheap).

The breakfast buritto is the best in town, there are more hammocks to chill in than guests, Jon charges the same price for beers as the supermarket and the whole vibe is unbeatable. Pura Vida

Room Tip: If there's 4 of you try and book an apartment. If there's 3 go for a cabana, if you're g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_Hepworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We started our trip in CR from Santa Teresa in December and we spent the first 6 night in Don Jon's. The place was all that you could wish for, we had two bedroom apartment with two sanitary room and AC. The service was great and you didn't need to worry about your safety at all. I even happened to pass out after a night out, and was smoothly woken up when the sun got up by employe at 7 am :) Breakfast burritos were also great.

Location was great near the beach and market where you could get anything you need just 50 metres from the lodge. And the owner, Jon, helped us to get Surf lessons in reasonable price and joined us on many dinners and if he couldnt join, he gave us good recommandations of great places to go.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teemu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

You can't find a better place then Don Jon*s.

Closest to the best surf, the coolest tree houses in the area and will definitely give you memories for the long run.

Relax to the max at don jon*s with jon and the dogs :)

Room Tip: Stay at the private rooms in the tree houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was our second trip to Santa Teresa and our second time staying at Don Jon's! We had the best time staying at this place. The owner is an amazing guy, the place is very clean and comfortable and you will meet so many great people there. Our trip wouldn't be as great if we were not staying at Don Jon's! Highly recommend this place! We will be there again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahoush2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Don Jon's lodge & Santa Teresa was absolute the BEST holiday destination I have ever been! The public bus dropped us in front of the hostel and the owner + a group of hostel guests were cheering at us in the common area although it was almost midnight. We got our wonderful 5 people's apartment which was really clean and spacious (with 2 really good bathrooms!) and it was cleaned many times during our stay, too. There were hammocks everywhere and the days passed by surfing in the morning (only a 5 minutes walk to the AWESOME surf/swimming beach with reeeally warm water and perfect waves), relaxing in the hammocks in the midday, surfing in the afternoon and eating delicious seafood + drinking beer in the evening. The lodge serves really good breakfast/ brunch, the owner Jon and other employees are really friendly, and Jon can help you with everything: renting boards, attending surf/yoga lessons, finding good restaurants, bars etc. And he is there for the guests all the time! :) +If you need some company for going out, Jon doesn't let you down! :D The lodge is really safe, as well. We'll certainly come back next year, if not earlier! Thank you Jon & co!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sini v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed in a private 'tree house' room. The location was excellent and I loved all the trees and greenery surrounding the property.
Jon was an excellent source of knowledge as well as being easy going, fun and always up for a chat.
The hammocks are amazing and the whole atmosphere of the place was relaxed, easy going and really fun.
I would highly recommend staying at Don Jons and I would easily stay here again on my next visit to Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: I loved the 'Tree House' rooms. I was travelling alone but the room would of slept 4 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanaHajdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 27 in Santa Teresa
68 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#2 of 62 in Santa Teresa
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
0.4 mi away
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
#6 of 62 in Santa Teresa
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Dos Monos
Hostel Dos Monos
#4 of 62 in Santa Teresa
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante

Address: 150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £27 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Jon*s has a variety of accomodations, great restaurante, and is conviniently located. Dorm rooms for backpackers, modern apartments with AC for groups, and rustic cabins with private rooms all made from teak wood and very one of a kind. A restaurante serving the freshest fish tacos, burritos, sandwiches and salads all ways, always. Only 100 meters walk to Santa Teresa beach with consistent surf year round and in the center of the village near markets, reataurantes, and soccer plaza. A family run establishment where the service is personalized and with gusto. See you soon! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Jon`s Hostel And Restaurante Hotel Santa Teresa
Don Jon's Lodge And Restaurante Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing