We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surfing in santa teresa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumbo Surf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumbo Surf Lodge
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surfing in santa teresa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We visited santa teresa in november and stayed at rumbo for 4 nights - we had a great stay. We had a surf lesson with nico which was really useful and he was really helpful with recommendations for the local area.

He was an attentive host, always more than happy to help and the cabinas were clean and spacious with a kitchenette and patio area.

It's really close to the beach and a great surf spot, there's a surf shop just across the road and a supermarket 5 minutes away.

We definitely intend to come back, and would highly recommend this as somewhere to stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank blue_eyed_molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

REALLY AMAZING place, just in front of the main surf spot in Santa Teresa. The rooms are super comfortable, clean, very well equipped (hot water and air conditioning), and very safe. All rooms have balconies with hamaks and the most beautiful view on the jungle.
The staff is really nice, welcoming and always willing to help. Rumbo surf is also just next to shops and restaurants, it is a perfect location for surfers or beach lovers!
VERY VERY WARMLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judithNataf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Great place to stay, the location is beautiful just by the beach.

The staff was really helpful and friendly. Ask for the surfing lessons... I was a bit sceptical about my chances of standing on a board at the beginning... and by the end of the week I couldn't wait to get back to the sea and ride another wave. Nico is such nice and patient coach! Thanks a lot!

The lodges are very clean and tidy. We had a good night sleep throughout our stay

Looking forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keira_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

If you wanna stay in Santa Teresa, do in Rumbo Surf Lodge. Its very clean place, the atmosphere relaxed and very good prices. A typical surfer hotel with the beach aroun the corner.
In other words everything you need for a nice stay in Santa Teresa

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tere b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

So our plan was to stay at Rumbo Surf for a week and we ended up staying for two weeks! It is right across the street from one of the best surf breaks in Santa Teresa! We walked to shops, restaurants, and the beach. The accommodations were nice with a/c, a full kitchen, and great wifi. After staying there for two weeks, we decided we needed to find longer term housing because Santa Teresa is so awesome! Will definitely be recommending my family to stay at Rumbo!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a nice breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcrobertscb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have stayed at Rumbo three times in the past 18 months, and am returning in a couple of weeks. The owner is great, and is always more than willing give his reccomendation on restaurants, bars, places to surf, etc. The cabinas have everything you need, and are kept very clean. The location is great, as you are less than a .25 mile walk (400 meters) from La Lora beach, and within walking distance of several restaurants, bars, and grocery stores.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

It's my second time at Rumbo Surf, this time I got the Regular Surf Camp package and I'm very happy with the results.
Nico is great and helped me a lot improving my surfing.
The apartments are very confortable and next to the surf spot.
I recommend it and hope to go back for the third as soon as possible!

Room Tip: The apartments are quite the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riky f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbo Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbo Surf Lodge

Property: Rumbo Surf Lodge
Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only 100 meters from a breathtaking sandy beach and from the best surf spot of the area "La Lora" we offer to our guests four cozy apartments each composed by a large open space with a double bed and sofa bed, fully furnished kitchen, bathroom, safety, cable tv, air conditioning, internet wi-fi, cleaning service, mosquito net and a private and comfortable terrace surrounded by nature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rumbo Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbo Surf Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing