We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pacific Paradise!”
Review of Surf Vista Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Vista Villas
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pacific Paradise!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

If you are fortunate enough to be able to come to Santa Teresa, CR and lucky enough to stay at Surf Vista Villas, you will have a wonderful experience. The views are absolutely breathtaking. The room was spacious, and clean. Definitely will come back! The only thing I would repeat from other reviews would be you will want transportation up and down the hill. Andrew was great, and Juan was a terrific surf instructor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Surf Vista Villas is a great place to stay in lovely Santa Teresa. The accommodations were perfect for our family vacation. The room was large and comfortable. I really liked the large veranda, with swinging chairs and hammocks. It also has a roll down screen that blocks the excess sun to keep the place cool, yet preserving the superb view. We rented a pair of quads (ATVs), so going up and down the hill was no problem at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Would we go back again? probably not.
Would I recommend it? Maybe, but I'd set expectations a little different than what's represented.

This place is a bit of hard one to review. It's hard to separate "the view" and the hilltop location from the actual lodging. If you take "the view" out of many of the reviews, you'll find many people don't get past that.

I won't cover "the view", because it is awesome. However for us, the basic lodging aspect left something to be desired. Not that it's bad, but it is more like "average" (don't expect Marriott or Hyatt Place, but La Quinta or Holiday Inn comfort is similar). The terms on the website "villa, luxury and resort" conjures up a certain images that were not really fulfilled. A more appropriate name would be "Surf Vista Lodge", "Surf Vista Bunkhouse", or something along those lines. From our perspective a few inexpensive items would have made our stay much more enjoyable. It all felt very minimalist and not very luxurious.

-The beds are average; no soft mattress padding, no comforter, no extra pillows. Just a sheet, a thin bedspread and thin pillows. (Let's say a $100 investment to upgrade a few items)
-The towels were in short supply, and the two cup-towels left us short handed for drying dishes (I suspect most folks eat out?). (Let's say $3 investment)
-There was no microwave (unlike our other CR apartments), so heating a cup of water, a tortilla, or bowl of refried beans was unnecessarily complicated. (in the states microwaves are about $60 investment)

-Unlike some of the other places we stayed in CR, there was no salt, pepper, cooking oil, or paper towels, so be prepared with those items if you're planning on cooking. (let's say $1 per day, or maybe even $2 per day)

-I didn't figure out the housekeeping plan? She came in one day, but not the next?

-Access to a washing machine would have been a bonus. From reading reviews and the web site, some people had access to one, we were not made aware of how to access one?

-A hot tub or a pool would have been a nice addition.

-From reading reviews and the web site, some folks had access to a grill, we were not aware of one?

-Wifi only worked in 50% of our room, mostly I had to go outside to get a good signal. (Maybe my macbook, ipad, and android tablet are defective?)

- The website mentions a 24 hour front desk service? Our greeting was from a dry-erase board with the key in the door. In our 3 nights we never saw a identifiable staff person.

- A "recommended places" brochure would be a nice addition. Where to eat, where to buy fish, where's the laundromat, where's the bank, where to book excursions, beach clubs, ...those sorts of things.

If we had our preference there would have been a partition for a separate bedroom, one large room with two beds doesn't feel like "luxury". Maybe the design is for bunkhouse surfers or families with small children, in which case it's spot-on? There's no sun-block drapes to block out the 5:30 a.m. sunrise so if you're thinking of sleeping in during your vacation, you'd best rethink your plan. However, if catching the early morning surf is what you are looking for, this is great for you.

Possibly our review may be a little tainted by the fact that we stayed during peak season so we paid $480 for three nights ($420 plus an extra $60 for our daughter (don't know what the extra $60 got us as it didn't provide any extra towels or soap??). If we'd have paid the base $80 per night, we'd probably offer a different review.

Positives
-awesome view
-good AC
-good hot water supply
-away from the road dust in town

In all fairness, our average experience could have been our fault. If we'd have simply searched (operative word "searched" because no one approached us. It feels odd to ask other guests "do you work here?") out the right people at the right time our shortages would have all been rectified?

I don't mean to be negative, all in all our stay wasn't bad, it was simply average (but we expected more). Did I mention the incredible view?

(pardon the typographical errors, I'm not much of a thumb typist)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S3596QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ando420, Manager at Surf Vista Villas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello and good day from Surf Vista Villas . We appreciate feedback and information from our guests so we can improve upon our accommodations . Our intentions are always to exceed the expectations of our guests and we apologize that your stay was not better than average . The holiday time was very difficult for us as our concierge was sick with a flu , did not leave the apartment for many days , and was unable to attend to our guests in the normal manner .

I have never heard of our place described as a "Bunkhouse", and definitely have to disagree with this description . We've have chosen the best pillowtop mattresses you can find in Costa Rica , the bedspreads are somewhat thin because of the warm/tropical temperatures , new pillows are purchased frequently . Each villa is supplied with 4 towels for the hotel and 4 towels for the beach , this is usually sufficient for our guests . Our kitchens are fully equipped with large refrigerators , 4 burner stovetops with ovens , and all necessary utensils and cooking supplies . We do not have microwaves because we're making efforts to be eco friendly while still providing all necessary amenities . Thank you for the suggestion to have salt , pepper , oil , paper towels and the kitchen basics in every villa . We think that's a great idea and have already made such changes .

There is a laundry room for our guests to use , we've put a new sign on the door so everyone is now aware of it's location . A swimming pool and/or hot tub would be a nice addition to the property , however there are drought issues on occasion , and we're making every attempt possible to be environmentally friendly , we've therefore decided to keep the property in it's natural state .

Thank you once again for bringing to our attention the wifi issues , we've since added another router to the hotel and it seems to have solved the problem . We do offer 24 hour front desk service , however as mentioned previously , our concierge was unexpectedly ill and we could not locate additional assistance because it was the very busy holiday time . Our hotel does offer an ocean view villa with a separate bedroom which could have been requested upon initial inquiry .

There are large notebooks in every villa with descriptions of local activities , nearby restaurants , phone #'s , local maps , etc. We also have a gas grill and a charcoal grill for all guests to use . We've decided to purchase a new gas grill so there will now be one on each level .

I also disagree with your statement that " The design is for bunkhouse surfers and families with small children " . We host all types , from honeymooner's to families , couples , to groups of friends , etc. , and all have been more than satisfied with our villas . Every hotel in Costa Rica raises their rates during the peak holiday times , this is to be expected during the Christmas/New Years week and Semana Santa (Easter Week) .

We value the opinions and suggestions from all of our guests in order to make improvements and changes for our returning and future visitors .

Thank You , Andy
Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had such a good times at surf vista villa !
The view and the location was amazing!
Andy the owner was very helpfull, if you are surfer you can rent board at the villa.
Everything is closed to the place and one of the best restaurant of santa teresa is 2mn away from the place.
Great feeling in this place, i would advice it to anyone looking for a cool place in santa teresa.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandolfH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My family (4 of us) wanted a place to stay that was both close to the beach and town. We also wanted a place that was quiet and peaceful. We found that (and more!) at The Surf Villa Vista! Our room was spacious with 3 queen size beds, an ample deck with a fully equipped kitchen outside, and a view that was picture perfect. The room and facility in general was very clean and always felt great to come home to for an afternoon siesta, or after a full day exploring. Besides a stove and oven, the kitchen also included a grill, which was nice to cook fresh fish, which is available in the markets. It was never cold on the deck and we enjoyed the ocean breeze. Plus, there are some swinging hammock chairs that are wonderful to relax in while enjoying a cocktail and looking out at the sunset. The hill that takes you to the beach and town is a bit steep, so you may want to rent a car or a couple of quads. But it was nice to be up the hill because town and the main road can get noisy and very dusty. The villas closer to the beach have a lot of foot traffic so we appreciated being away from it all, but close enough so that it was convenient. It was so wonderful to hear the howler monkeys while cooking or resting. There are many song birds too, some of which would visit us every morning while we were eating our breakfast.
The owner and his staff were tactful, helpful and friendly. Whatever we needed, they were always willing to help. I highly recommend staying at ST Surf Vista Villas and we certainly hope to be going back in the not so far future, god willing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryclare2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My 2 daugthers, my husband and myself spent a few days around Christmas at Surf Vista Villas The vue from the terrace is absolutely amazing even for the ones of the downstairs villas. Andy, the owner, has been very helpful as he proposed (for a very moderate rate) a small chalet (with its own vue) for my 16 years old daughter who did not wanted to share the room with us. We arrived with suitcases full of dirty clothes as it was the end of our trip to Costa Rica. We were able to use washing machine for free but as they were occupied the hours we were at the villa, the lady in charge of the housework washed and folded all our clothes. What a good surprise and very nice service!!! In the morning you are wake up by the monkey families you can observe from you terrace. In the evening, you can enjoy a drink in your hammock looking at the sunset. The villa is situated high up the hill so you need a car or a quad (the usual way of transport in Santa Teresa) to reach the place but it takes only 2 minutes. And if you are a surfer, Santa Teresa is definitely the place to be in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The upstairs villas are more luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebelou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Surf Vista Villas is located at the top of a hill in northern Santa Teresa. The view is incredible & the breeze is very nice. Each room is spacious and sleeps several people. Kitchens and bathrooms have everything you need. The linens, hammocks and beds are all high quality. Great vibe, nice people hanging around. Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Upstairs is nice & breezy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicBennyLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Vista Villas

Property: Surf Vista Villas
Address: 150 Meters North of Super la Hacienda in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas is a new resort consisting of six luxury villas all with panoramic ocean/wave views. Each villa is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, large bathroom with hot water, a/c, new beds with posturpedic mattresses, ceiling fans, wireless capability and a huge deck with breathtaking views. Sunsets can't be seen from a better location and mornings are peaceful and serene with daily visits from exotic birds and howler monkeys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Surf Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Vista Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing