We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation at it's fullest”
Review of Surf Vista Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Vista Villas
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation at it's fullest”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Andy and Crystal were great to deal with from the start. Before we even got there, my boyfriend and I worked with Crystal to set up tours for our time in Costa Rica. She was nothing short of amazing in finding us the best guides, the best places to eat, and making us feel at ease even before we stepped foot into the Villas.

The Villas themselves are located 300 meters up in the hills, overlooking the jungle and ocean. When I saw up, I mean up. The hill is a steep walk, but honestly I didn't mind - it kept the vacation pounds in check! If you want a break, I'd suggest renting a quad from the Villas themselves or they can arrange to have one delivered for you. Again, Crystal made this so easy.

The room was clean, spacious, and fit the environment perfectly. Every morning and night was started and ended on the porch, listening to the howler monkeys, birds, and ocean. We will be back.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms definitely have a better view, but all rooms have a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It's that time of year again and I wish I was going back to Surf Vista Villas. Andy's place is the perfect spot to start, enjoy, or end your day in. With everything you need up top on this hillside property , enjoy incredible views, great places to relax, even a waterfall shower to cool off after a day on the beach. Any questions we had were answered by Andy, and any activities we had planned to do he took care of . I cannot wait to join the crew up at Surf Vista Villas again. Thanks again Andy

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a true paradise on earth! Loved our upstairs villa with surrounding balcony.....the best view ever. What an experience being high up in the jungle, listening to the "howlers" and watching amazing sunsets over the ocean. The "track" to the top only added character to this perfect escape! Cristal and Adam took care of our every need, they were awesome. We ended our stay with massages on our balcony during sunset! Just Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonRN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We didn't book our nights in Santa Teresa before our venue. What a mistake ! We tried all (nice) hotels in Santa Teresa one after the other and all were full for the coming days. We were ready to give up and try an hostel after on last try, at the end of the "city", at the end of a long and crappy track. But it worth the effort. We were at Surf Vistas Villas, and by chance they had a room available for the night.
The best night and stay of our trip in Costa Rica. Amazing view, amazing room.
Unfortunatly they had only one night availabe (we spent the onther at the Horizon which was also great), but we will defenetly come back for at least a week. This place is just the best for a peaceful vacation rest.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marty3775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Santa Teresa is a very unique place, and Surf Vista Villas fits right in. As stated many times the view was spectacular. The amenities were very functional, and perfect for a casual stay. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly and perfect for the vibe of the town. It showed without question that Andy and staff care alot about their guests and the property. I'd easily recommend SVV to anyone who's looking for a genuine Costa Rica casual vacation. After all luxury is in the eye of the beholder, and SVV offers Costa Rican luxury.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I found this little gem of a place way up above the dusty dirt streets of Santa Teresa. It 's modern, airy, light,and breezy, clean and well cared for. The view is just beautiful. It's the perfect place to watch the sun set while sipping a cocktail as you lounge in a swinging chair or hammock. A rare place. The only draw back is the steep and rutted road up to the place. It's not for sissy's. Get yourself an SUV or ATV. It will come in handy for many of the roads around here. They're generally pretty bad. Theguy who owns and runs the place, Andy, and his staff, Crystal and Juan are all great.

Room Tip: I would choose the Sunset Reef Suite because it's off the beaten track. My room is wonderful but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

If you are fortunate enough to be able to come to Santa Teresa, CR and lucky enough to stay at Surf Vista Villas, you will have a wonderful experience. The views are absolutely breathtaking. The room was spacious, and clean. Definitely will come back! The only thing I would repeat from other reviews would be you will want transportation up and down the hill. Andrew was great, and Juan was a terrific surf instructor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Vista Villas

Property: Surf Vista Villas
Address: 150 Meters North of Super la Hacienda in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas is a new resort consisting of six luxury villas all with panoramic ocean/wave views. Each villa is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, large bathroom with hot water, a/c, new beds with posturpedic mattresses, ceiling fans, wireless capability and a huge deck with breathtaking views. Sunsets can't be seen from a better location and mornings are peaceful and serene with daily visits from exotic birds and howler monkeys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Surf Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Vista Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing