We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Diamond Bar, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable...”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had actually booked this trip through Vajra Sol Adventures, to go on a yoga/surf retreat. I had looked over reviews and pictures of the resort to get an idea and I have to say, that it didn't disappoint. It was incredibly liberating to feel so free and relaxed. The two things that stand out the most are the people who work there and the incredible food. I wake up every morning dreaming about smoothies and the yummy oatmeal banana pancakes! It was always a pleasure to see the same faces waiting on you day after day that it felt like spending time with family. And having Susan stop by our table for lunch every day and entertain us with stories was something to remember! By the way, we still talk about the key lime/passionfruit cheesecake! I can't recommend this resort enough to everyone. If you're looking for paradise, look no further than Pranamar Resort!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Ha ha, glad to see my chatting with you didnt drive you nuts! I love to meet all the guests, but you were so darn friendly and fun...that i probably drove you nuts. And im delighted you loved the panckakes and the keylime pie....thats my daughters specialty. But truth be known, the beauty and warmth of Pranamar are the GUESTS and my amazing PRANAMAR STAFF
We are really family....thanks for joining right in!
Susan money, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    23
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
40
118
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The staff is amazingly accommodating and the grounds are gorgeous. The food is phenomenal and it was the perfect setting to propose to my fiancee. We will definately be back for an anniversary soon!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moose35ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
THANKS!!! My gosh, Ischmel our surf instructor is exactly as you say, a real gem. And Paola at the beach bar LOVES her job...because of people like you.
Where do i begin? Thank you seems insignificant.....but its from my heart.
see you soon, i HOPE
susan money, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Leaving the hustle and bustle of everyday life, and then tolerating the indignities of modern air travel, what a joy to drop ones baggage (literal and metaphorical) in this little corner of paradise. I can go on about the beauty, the beaches, the great food, but what makes Pranamar so special are the people. Such a warm, caring, and helpful staff, they truly represent the spirit of pura vida.
I won't mention everyone,but my special thanks and love go out to Ishmael, my surfing instructor. My wife was running a yoga retreat but Ishmael was my guru of the waves. " Breathe, relax, focus, look ahead not down, do not fight the ocean"- is this life or surfing? You know when they say someone is "good people"? Ishmael is good people and he loves to teach and he's good at it. And then there's Paula ( I hope that's how she spells her name)who runs the little beach bar. What a doll. Everyone fell in love with her- always smiling, always helpful.
These two are representative of everyone on the staff and for this I must commend Susan, the owner, because this attitude does not come by accident. The tone is set from the top.
Now not everything was perfect, There are little things here and there that can be improved. Internet access was very intermittent and unpredictable and this was a serious problem for a member in our group. Closet space was in most accomodations nonexistent. We had a curtain rod that was not very stable and fell a few times. The latch on the doors to our armoire was broken. If you choose, you can hold on to these little imperfections but for me, those cares melted away when compared to everything good and pure about Pranamar. I miss you all.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IraBernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Having spent the last 6 nights at this resort, the above average food, ambience, and surfing were seriously undermined by internet service that was slow (i.e. makes POTS look like 4G) and intermittent...an exaggeration as it was available sparsely only at various hours during the day (unavailable more than available). What's even more disappointing was the management's refusal after my request that they alert future guests about this problem by making adjustments to their internet representations on their web site. Had I known of the problem beforehand, I would have never stayed at this resort.

If you do find that you are already committed to going to Pranamar and need reasonably fast internet service with excellent availability, go to the restaurant "Pasta Basta". Its about a 10 minute cab ride into Santa Teresa and is open from about 11AM until the late evening. The manager is very welcoming and appreciates your business.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Ben
Thank you for taking the time to write Trip Advisor! As you well know (since I am the owner who discussed the internet connection with you) this problem is being worked on. For the benefit of newcomers to Costa Rica, be aware that many things in this country can be "sporadic". For example, electricity...internet...delivery service...banking and money transfers, water and road accessability!!
Pranamar has the fastest internet service available in this part of the country. There is no other service provider, so its not as though we can change hands the minute a problem arises. As I had explained to Ben, there is a mountain behind us that makes difficult our internet connection since it is via a radio signal, not wired. Yes, he was able to go elsewhere...(where the mountain was not a problem) and get connected. However, I am presently helping the internet company find the owner of a the mountain so that they can put a tower there. It looks like this is going to happen! I do not feel I need to say on my website that internet can go down, because if anyone is doing their homework about Costa Rica or any other country they are visiting in Central America, they will read about the roads, the electricity, the bugs, the banking and the lack of public water....frustrations which make this part of the world a little more challenging. Just ask any of us who live here.
That said, Im very excited to say we have excellent internet at times and it looks like we are going to be able to have consistent internet in the near future! But if your life or your business depends on having high speed internet 24 hours a day, be prepared to visit various other locations...all of us suffer from time to time! Knowing this will reduce your stress.
Part of travel is accepting that the rest of the world is not as blessed as North America...in terms of services...but this can be compensated for by celebrating the kindness of the locals, their ability to adapt and the beauty of their country! Thank you Ben for sharing your experience!!
Susan Money, owner Pranamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, CT
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Just returned from a trip to costa rica where I was able to spend a couple of nights at Pranamar. Stayed in bungalow 1 which looks right out onto the ocean. A gorgeous tropical room with a gorgeous view. The food was excellent and the service top notch. Everyone so friendly and warm. I highly recommend the high quality yoga classes with Nancy. The Shala has spectacular views. Susan , the owner and her husband Greg were personable, making themselves available for all kinds of conversation.They were extremely helpful in arranging accommodations for us at a beautiful bed and breakfast in Tamarindo for the end of trip. Whether you want to practice your downward dog, surf the waves, or just relax in the hammocks and enjoy the sunset, this is the place to go in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have traveled extensively and many times in Costa Rica.

Although my family and I do not usually stay at resort like hotels and generally rent private homes this place was great.
The Staff accommodating and friendly, Food was outstanding, Villas beautiful. They have several excellent Yoga teachers and classes for any level. Top it of with a 5 minute walk to great surfing.

I had several massages with De'lores working on some shoulder issues. She was beyond great! I could have had a massage everyday, but she insisted I wait several days between to allow the adjustments to take. Clearly more concerned with healing me than taking my money.
Nothing here for young kids..(my boys are 14 and 19) If your kids surf and swim they'll have a great time.

Room Tip: Villa 1 on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Pranamar is visually stunning and has a naturally peaceful and relaxing energy. The rooms are simple and elegant, well designed and the food does not disappoint. We just had a one week yoga retreat here and we were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we had no issues, just time to relax! A great place to stay in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, yoga director at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear friends...thanks so much for reviewing our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your restful, relaxing week of Yoga. We hope we will get another chance to serve you in the future. Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 26 in Santa Teresa
247 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
235 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Property: Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Address: Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Rica’s Premier Ocean Front HotelPranamar Ocean Front Villas and Yoga Retreat, an intimate, consciously designed oceanfront hotel recently built on the spectacular beach of Playa Santa Teresa, offers guests tropical beauty and nature in an exotic and friendly ambience. Along with world-class surfing and our top-quality Yoga classes, numerous activities and adventures await you.Immerse yourself in the beauty and ease into nature’s rhythm as Pranamar’s experienced and caring staff take care of all the details, making sure your vacation is perfect.Our hotel offers a variety of accommodations to fit your needs and desires: our luxurious two-storey villas built around a free-form saltwater pool have private lounging areas, tropical gardens and boast spectacular views, while the ecologically-constructed bungalows offer tropical simplicity with sea breezes, spacious decks and views of the ocean.Pranamar’s beautifully designed open-air restaurant and tea lounge specializes in healthy, delicious cuisine using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and organic meats.We invite you to step into the rhythm of nature, breath in the energy of the sea and discover... PRANAMAR!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing