We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like a growing plant - it will flourish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Pramamar was our last stop in Costa Rica, we chose it to be a luxurious ending to an adventure filled trip with incredible highs. We were sweetly upgraded to a beach front villa which is a truly extravagant space. it was finished beautifully using stunning wood and every attention has been paid to the interior detail. The hotel as a whole experience is lovely and I WOULD recommend it. I do want to point out somethings which I hope come across as constructive criticism and that perhaps should be looked at.

The staff who we spoke to are are sweet and really helpful, we understood the team there work as a 'family'. One thing though, which was evident, was at meal times some of the waitresses (in particular) tuck into their breakfast, lunch or dinner and the same time as the guests, chatted away with their backs turned. I'm not sure now normal this is, at least where we are from it's not. But there is a laid back attitude in CR which does grow on you - perhaps this is an example of it.

The breakfasts you get within your rate are definitely very good but perhaps a smoothy or juice should be included rather than having to pay extra for it. This is one of those little money making extras that's quite irritating when paying quite such a high rate and considering fruit is one of Costa Rica's biggest exports, its not really right to charge for it, we thought anyway.

The hotel is on a lovely spot of beach completely out of the dusty reaches of Santa Teresa with great surfing for all levels as well as perfect tidal pools for swimming. I would say though at the time we visited it was a shame the garden of the hotel wasn't greener and the young plants haven't filled out, I know this is to do with the dry season and once the rain comes things will look a lot different. It was just a shame there wasn't more wildlife due to the lack of large plants, isn't there is a way of using recycled water to feed the plants?

My biggest gripe, which may seem trivial, was the outdoor pathways which really don't look finished, and every so often you might see a little pile of left over building materials hidden under a small plant, or maybe some left over slabs of paving tucked behind something. Also there is a distinct lack of bridges over the little rivers, so you need to jump over or walk through them, this was a bit odd but could be very easily solved.

Overall though I genuinely believe these points are the result of the hotel only being opened just six months, teething problem, things are being worked on, maybe you do need more help in the gardens, so the outside looks as good as the inside.
I do want to mention the owners are seriously experts in the luxury hotel trade and Pranamar clearly means everything to them. They are constantly on site and are very hands on. I do wish them all the best. As soon as the rainy season comes this hotel will blossom.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calamansichendol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Manager at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2011

Like a growing plant, we wish to flourish! We water ourselves and learn about our surroundings and the best way to grow! It is because of people like you that we learn ,thank you for your comments. We would like to let you and all travelers that come across this review, we did change thanks to your review, we have included a juice or smoothie in our breakfast, always fresh! And for our staff meals, since we just opened we hadn't finished our staff area, and being the family we are we thought it would be OK to have our staff sitting in the restaurant, but, we learn, and grow... we have finished our staff area, this way, when our staff is on the floor, the eyes are on our clients! We hope to see you back, when our gardens have grown! Thank you for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

Pranamar Villas is a beautiful new resort, but run by an experienced team. The friendly staff was happy to help arrange activities from surf lessons to horseback riding. Daily yoga classes with in-house yoga teacher Nancy in Pranamar's open-air yoga studio were a major highlight, as were the delicious smoothies and cocktails made with fresh local fruit.

This area of the Nicoya Peninsula features gorgeous, uncrowded beaches with no buildings higher than 2 stories for miles around. In most places, the jungle runs right up to the edge of the beach. An amazing getaway, well worth the short flight from San Jose.

Only 4 stars for cleanliness because sometimes a few bugs made it into our room. Only 4 stars for service because while everyone was very helpful, sometimes food and drinks in the bar/restaurant were a long time coming - but worth the wait!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Manager at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2011

We enjoyed your company sooo much! Thank you for making our work so worth it! Nancy's yoga is truly blissful and I am glad to know you enjoyed it! We will be here when you come back, please visit us!
Regarding the little ants, yes, you are right, sometimes its impossible to stop nature, although we do try, our daily maid service cleans your rooms from top to bottom!
Thank you for your warm comments, we will see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I am currently honeymooning at PRANAMAR-could not wait to write a review-I have traveled all over the world-and have stayed at some wonderful resorts-never have I experienced this type of service, our villa is perfect, and the food is incredible. . If you are planning a trip to CR-this is a MUST stop.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Honestly, I have no idea how all the good reviews are coming from! We booked the Pranamar because of its excellent reviews but we were highly disappointed.
Having seen some great hotels in Costa Rica (Lapa Rios, for instance, is simply amazing) and around the world, I think we can judge pretty well what makes a great hotel.

The rooms:
We stayed at the ocean front villa. The interior was ok but really not worth the 500$/night. The toilets were blocked; there was no mosquito net, which was really uncomfortable because the outside doors and the windows could not be properly shut (almost an inch wide gap) and mosquitos were coming through very easily.
And honestly, how can you call yourself a "green" hotel, when you have got air conditioning but non-closing windows and doors!

The surroundings / "garden" and pool:
There just is no garden or green - just some single plants... We also stayed at the Le Chameleon in Puerto Viejo, which has a really nice jungle garden, where you always saw gardeners around. We never saw a single gardener in Pranamar. The whole appearance of Pranamar, from the gateway to the "lobby" through the hotel, is just poor.
There are also no sun lounges at or near the beach. And only four sun lounges at the pool, which is also very small.

Yoga:
This is actually the best part at the hotel. We had a Yoga lesson with Andy, which was really great.

Service/Food:
Whow! I have read reviews stating that the food is excellent. Forget it. The food is below average. And I don't want to talk about the service... They got our breakfast order (yes, there is no buffet and the breakfast choices are just ridiculous) wrong 5 times out of six. They should really go and visit other Costa Rican Hotels, where the service is excellent and friendly.

Summary:
This hotel is simply a rip-off. Completely overpriced, no flair, no charm, bad food and service. The best thing about it are the Yoga classes and its proximity to sandy beautiful beaches, also good for swimming and surfing. Next time we will go to the sister hotel of Lapa Rios, the Latitude 10 Resort.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Manager at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2011

Dear friends from Germany,
You can probably imagine our surprise when we read this review, as you can see from all of our other reviews this is not the way we work of like things to be. I wish you would have told us of your unhappiness and discomfort!!! It is our job to make sure all of our guests are happy, and clearly we did not sense this with you guys! I would like to review your points…
Our villas – these spacious units have two bedrooms and two bathrooms, the oceanfront, like the one you stayed have a fully equipped kitchen, living room and two big porches… the price for this villa is not near $500, I hope you can verify this. If there is an error, please feel free to email us and let us know. All our bedrooms and living areas in the villas have screens to avoid mosquitoes and other tropical bugs to wonder into your room. We have revised the small openings in these that you mention and fixed them, we could have done this right away for you, had we known.. This way, our guests can enjoy of the ocean breeze and our fans, without worries of bugs or having to use the A/C. The idea behind these screens is to reduce the use of air conditioning.
Our gardens – Pranamar first opened this past July 2010. Our gardens have no more than 6 months, they are still babies! It is impressive what heavy rains can do for our plants, the difference from now and 6 months ago is amazing. Nature works with time though, and we are all being patient.
Our restaurant – Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and I respect yours, I am just surprised I didn’t know you felt this way… our breakfast menu has options from a healthy fruit parfait, to our big Surfer’s Arepa, to a simple eggs and toast.. we have home baked muffins, fresh fruit juices… are these options truly ridiculous? Breakfast seems to be a favorite amongst all of our guests..
Our team has worked together in various hotels before, growing and learning how to provide the best and most friendly service. We will work even harder to assure our guests an amazing service, always given with a smile and friendliness.
It seems that overall you were quite unhappy; I hope you understand that our door is always open. I feel most of what made you feel bad we could have helped, had we known. I also understand that this place might not be for everyone and we cannot make absolutely everyone happy… although we will always try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I went alone with my son and this was our first trip out of the country alone...so my nerves were at me. When we got to Pranamar I instantly felt at ease. The staff are so welcoming and kind and the owners are wonderful. My favorite part was around 530 sunset time when the bright orange light would start to creep into this tranquil community and it's almost your duty to follow it...it's almost like it's calling you. On your way to the beach you hear the sound of Om. As the the sun is going down so are the yogis in the yoga shala taught by Nancy the owners daughter. It is a family owned business which is what I love and they also have children which made me feel better when my son was acting up...I knew that they got it. Anyway...amazing place, great food, beautiful villas and great energy and all the yoga you can get.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

My new husband and I just returned from our honeymoon, which was spent partly at Pranamar. I'm going to sound like a broken record after reading the other reviews, but we had a marvelous time and loved this resort. We can't agree more that the people contribute, in large part, to the experience. There is not an unfriendly person in the place and the warmth is genuine. We owe special thanks to Marianne, Mario, Joselyn, Sebastian, Eva, Melissa, and Susan. In addition, Nancy is a wonderful yoga instructor, and Andy was able to make my husband feel like maybe he can learn yoga after all (no small feat). I've never written a review on trip advisor, but felt I had to this time. The yoga studio is fabulous, the food is divine, the recommendations on other restaurants are spot on, and so on and so on.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Manager at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2010

Dear Honeymooners,
Thank you!!!! It does not sound like a broken record, it sounds lovely! This is the best way for us to learn how we are doing. Serving our guests, providing them with an exceptional service is why we are here, and your comments help us work harder and happier. I hope, and we all, the Pranamar Family, wish you and your husband a life full of love and peace, and we hope you to have you back, whenever, just contact us, we will all be here waiting!
From sunny Santa Teresa we send you both a huge hug!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I went to Pranamar Villas for a weekend getaway with a couple of friends and it turned out to be a one of a kind weekend!
The beach and natural environment surrounding the villas are breath taking, not to mention the surfing...but what really made the difference was the incredible energy that you feel staying at Pranamar. The staff (or family as they call themselves) is lovely, I am a real pain when it comes to food (no animals, all raw, specific food combinig) and I have to say I ate like a princess!!!!
Yoga shala = AMAZING as well as the instructor, we had private classes in which we all could practice and deepen our knowledge.
ALL IN ALL LOVED IT, DEFINETELY A WORLD FAVORITE!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaDe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 27 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Address: Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £182 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Rica’s Premier Ocean Front HotelPranamar Ocean Front Villas and Yoga Retreat, an intimate, consciously designed oceanfront hotel recently built on the spectacular beach of Playa Santa Teresa, offers guests tropical beauty and nature in an exotic and friendly ambience. Along with world-class surfing and our top-quality Yoga classes, numerous activities and adventures await you.Immerse yourself in the beauty and ease into nature’s rhythm as Pranamar’s experienced and caring staff take care of all the details, making sure your vacation is perfect.Our hotel offers a variety of accommodations to fit your needs and desires: our luxurious two-storey villas built around a free-form saltwater pool have private lounging areas, tropical gardens and boast spectacular views, while the ecologically-constructed bungalows offer tropical simplicity with sea breezes, spacious decks and views of the ocean.Pranamar’s beautifully designed open-air restaurant and tea lounge specializes in healthy, delicious cuisine using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and organic meats.We invite you to step into the rhythm of nature, breath in the energy of the sea and discover... PRANAMAR!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing