We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manala Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wave Trotter(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumbo Surf Lodge(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milarepa(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Funky Monkey Lodge(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Vista Villas(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Palm Villas(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
272
64
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
64
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricamaintained groundsspent two nightsrecommend renting an atvbeach accessthe main roadlarge showerpool area issmall hoteldusty roadhowler monkeysmin walkpollooff the beaten pathbeautiful poolour honeymoonfabian
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

After reading all the reviews for Manala Hotel I knew it would be a wonderful stay. We just came home from our week long stay and everything about the hotel (and Santa Teresa) has exceeded our expectations. I dream of Marco's freshly made meals and wonderful company while dining at the his restaurant located on the property. Laura, Ronald and Fabian were all attentive and answered all my questions with smiling faces. Ronald took great care in preparing all of our excursions. We were never disappointed when we followed his advice on where to go and what to see!! You will definitely want to rent an ATV while you are there and Ronald or Fabian will take care of everything you need. An ATV will allow you to venture out of town and experience what the area is about and all the wonderful people who live there. Both my husband and I have agreed that we would love to visit Santa Teresa again and without a doubt we would stay at Manala Hotel!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Amazing review. Thank you very much for your good comments.
Our purpose is to make easy and happy time for all our huespeds. We want everyone to enjoy their vacations, and to enjoy their time in Santa Teresa. In our restaurant we use fresh ingredients and the best quality for our food. We are really glad that you had a good time at Manalá Hotel. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We enjoyed our 3 nights at this place - the eight bungalows gives it a intimate affair where you are on your own. The pool area is very nice with howler moonkeys roaming the trees in the afternoon. The dinner you can buy at the restaurant is amazing, well prepared and nicely decorated, the young chef is a real gift for this place. The beach it to far away, you cross the road and then you follow the path on the other side a 100 meters. wifi is in the common room.breakfast is a little bit boring but nice fruits.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmanDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Very good review!

Thank you very much for the review so pretty, we try to provide the best service and try to make people feel like at home. In a place where privacy is not an issue.

Our rate includes continental breakfast (fruit, toast with jelly, coffee and juice) but there are also other options like Pancakes, French Toast, Gallo Pinto, etc.

We expect the next visit we can meet all your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

What a gorgeous property! The grounds are immaculate. The bungalows are stylish, spacious, comfortable, and very clean. The pool & outdoor shower are heaven after a long hot day. You can only get the wi-fi signal in the restaurant & pool area, but why would you sit in your room when you can lounge on the patio and check your emails? The hotel is at the quieter, northern end of Santa Teresa. The beach is just across the road, down a short tree-lined path. There is a market and a few good restaurants within easy walking distance, but it's a bit farther to the center of town and the Mal Pais crossroads where there is more to see & do. You'll definitely want to rent an ATV from the front desk to get out & explore. I highly suggest taking an ATV out to Montezuma and hiking to the waterfalls -- it's absolutely beautiful.

What really made the Manalá feel like home for us was Laura & her wonderful staff. Ronald and Fabián were super nice, answering our many questions and making great suggestions. And then there's Marco, the hotel restaurant's owner, manager, and budding chef extraordinaire... He takes such great care of each and every guest. And every dish -- from fruit at breakfast to fresh fish at dinner to the creative "surprise dessert" -- was beautifully prepared and presented. He makes a mean caipirinha, and even better conversation. We are STILL talking about the delicious homemade fish soup he brought us on our last night. If this were L.A. and if I were a food critic (a girl can dream), I'd name Marco and his restaurant "The One to Watch". I'd also probably try to set him up with one of my single girlfriends!

A great hotel is one that makes you want to stay forever... My boyfriend & I stayed at Manalá for 4 nights and that wasn't nearly long enough. This place is truly a hidden gem, and the people there make it so. We're already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are great -- #6, 7, 8 are furthest from the road, but even #1-5 are quiet and peaceful. Bungalows 4, 5, & 6 might get wi-fi signal as they're closest to the restaurant & pool.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Wow!! Thank you Bianca!! This really motivate us! We really appreciate this comments. The idea is that every person that comes to the Hotel, leaves like Feliz and you did. This is one of the best comment we receive and because of that we know we are going to be the best in town! You are more than welcome, so if in the future you want to come back again. We will give you the best treatment! Thanks again for your honestly and please come again! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We split up a week between Santa Teresa & Mal Pais, and Hotel Manala was our choice in Santa Teresa. Overall, I thought it was a good value.

Pros - Super close access to the best beach in Santa Teresa or Mal Pais. Cute, spacious villas. Great shower/ bathroom. Beautiful heated pool (heated pools are rare in this area). Quiet. Close to store and 2 or 3 good restaurant options. Friendly service. Got occasional glimpses of howler monkeys in the trees above.

One suggestion: We wish we had realized earlier that Marco at the restaurant could prepare cocktails. This place would have gotten 5 stars from me for sure if there had been a cocktail menu anywhere (chalk board on the wall by the restaurant, or printed and available by restaurant), and if we could have enjoyed cocktails by the pool (even just served in plastic if you don't want glass by the pool).

Overall, I would return here when staying in Santa Teresa in the future. LOVED the proximity to Playa Santa Teresa!

Room Tip: We had Villa #1, which was right by the entrance. Great for beach access, but not as close to the pool/ restaurant and maybe not as romantic as the others (set more into trees further back).
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martini_A_Go_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Hi,

Thank you very much for your review. With all those pros, I thought you had a very great experience in our Hotel. We try to make our guest feel like Home, giving the best recommendations in town and have a good customer service. With that we think you can have an excellent vacations. We promise that for next time we are going to have a Coctail Menu and you´ll be the most happy person in Town!! Thanks again for the review and we will improve every time more with suggestions like yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Super cute option for Santa Teresa. You get to stay in these adorable bungalows as a guest of the Manala. Friendly folks behind the front desk. There is a restaurant on the property and a lovely swimming pool. The beach access directly across the street led to our favorite beach of the trip. I would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Reception at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

We are located in nice part of Santa Teresa, with many facilities for our guests, and different activities to enjoy the area and its beautis.
Thanks for good comments, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews