We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have been in Manala Hotel in september and we had lovely time in it! The staff was very helpful and our room beautiful, spacious and clean. Even if the restaurant was closed, we had our breakfast every morning in our bungalow. Lovely location, beautiful gardens! We loved it! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifigeneia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

We are too glad to read that you had a lovely time at Manalá Hotel. We are happy while helping our guests with everything they could need. Manala´s bungalows are spacious for maximum 4 people, and we do daily cleaning.
Eventhough, the restaurant was closed for low season the rate incluides continental breakfast. This is a real tropical garden.
Thanks a lot for the good comment, and for the highly recommendation.
We will be glad to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Everything was perfect! The place is amazing! The beach was really close and the tropical gardens were spectacular! The staff is very friendly. It's a great place to go with children or just with your partner. If I ever go back to Santa Teresa, I'll definitely return to this resort!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you very much for this review. This kind of comments we appreciate and motivate us to keep giving a good service. We will be waiting for your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Manala was more than I could have asked for. Although the restaurant was closed because it was not tourist season, the staff was more than accomadating with everything that we needed or could have wanted. The bungalow style really impressed us and makes you feel like you have your own little home! Three of us girls went for 4 days in August and we pretty much had the whole place to our self! We all fit in 1 bungalow as they set up a small extra bed on the side. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast served every morning was perfect, fresh and delicious. The power did go out, but it made the experience that much more unique and interesting. The owner was right there to make sure we had candles. You must try zip-lining, such a great experience. I wish we would have rented bikes or quads as the taxis can get expensive. Manala would be my #1 choice to stay in Costa Rica, and I hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are gorgeous and in good spots. I liked ours, #4, because it was right across f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DegnanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

It make us feel so good !!!

We are exciting when people really enjoyed their staying at Manalá Hotel in Santa Teresa beach. Here we are to help everybody to have a good time in one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica. All our bungalows have "queen" beds and we can add 1 or 2 single beds for extra people.

Because of rainy season sometimes it rains hard and power goes out, but it comes back quickly. Here there are many good options to experience nice moments, once you arrive we will arrange the tours for you to have good reminds of the zone.

Thank you very much for you nice review. It was really amazing to meet you and your friends, and we will be so glad to see you again at Manalá Hotel.

See you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

When planning my trip recently I stumbled upon the Manala hotel and could not be happier that I did!! We arrived to Costa Rica in San Jose and Fabian with reception at Manala helped get us safely from the big city to our final destination at Manala Hotel on the coast. He, as well as other staff are friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating and are able to help you with anything you need. We had assistance with planning our overall trip, signing up for and getting to zip lining and had a wonderful three days at the hotel.

We went in September which is typically the rainy season but had an amazing time nonetheless - we experienced a small earthquake but almost instantly the owner of the hotel was at our door to make sure we weren’t scared or in need of anything - everyone here always greeted us with a smile and care. Following the earthquake we had a bit of a rain storm (about 6 hours’ worth of downpour) and a power outage, but again the owner and staff were at our door in minutes with candles and offered to bring our group anything that we needed - they even called a taxi for us so that we could go to a restaurant down the street while we waited for power. All in all customer service here is unrivaled. You couldn’t find a better place to stay in most of the world.

Along with the great service, the hotel and grounds are beautiful - incredibly clean with all the modern conveniences. The bungalows are separate and private and all would be amazing to stay in (sometimes hotels have rooms better than others - not the case with Manala. We stayed in room 4 right across from the pool). Our daily breakfast of fruit, toast and coffee was delicious - I really wish we had stayed during peak season though because I hear the restaurant is amazing. Location is another perk of this hotel - we were in proximity to anything we could want. Shops, the beach and great restaurants were only steps away and in both directions. I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Santa Teresa as a couple or with friends!

Room Tip: Only 8 bungalows available - I would avoid number five only because it is right next to the pool. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swhela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

We are really glad to help each of our guests. In Manalá we can arrange tours for travelers when they arrive here. There are many interesting things to do in Santa Teresa, Malpais.
We are now in the middle of the rainy season, as they could see, it does not rain every day, and when it rains is still hot. After September, 5th´s earthquake there have been small earthquakes, but we take special care of people in here.
It is a real pleasure to give our best custmer service for people enjoying the beauty of Costa Rican coasts. We do daily cleaning into the bungalows, and they are self-enclosed and separated of others for more privacy.
Our rate incluides continental breakfast (toasts with butter and jelly, three kinds of fruits, orange juice, coffee, tea, milk). Manalá Hotel is surrounded by many places to eat as well.
Thanks a lot for your recommendations and good comments, we will be glad to look at you in the peak season again.
See you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My friend and I stayed at Manala Hotel for 3 nights at the end of July. We loved the bungalow accommodations! The room was spacious, airy, and very quiet given it was a detached, standalone room. Access to the beach was down a short lane directly across the road. While the beach was basically deserted anyway, we liked that the hotel was north of town - this meant that we often had the entire beach to ourselves - amazing!

The best part of Manala Hotel was the helpfulness of the staff. Surfing lesson? Taxi? Dinner reservation? Departure transportation? Anything we asked about was recommended and booked for us within minutes.

My only suggestion for improvement (and this is getting nit-picky) would be more comfortable lounge chairs by the pool. The pool area was a great way to unwind after a day in the surf and sun. Manala was the perfect find for our stay in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you very much for your truly review. Me and the staff are really happy with your stay and we hope you can come back to have a really nice vacations again. For summer the lounge chairs by the pool are of wood and have a small mattres, really comfortable! You came in the rainy season and this year we decide to change them, because the mattreses get wet and conserves humid. I promise that if you come back in summer, we will have the comfortable once for you. Thanks again for your review and have a great and truly relaxing time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

A great place to "get lost" and do your own thing for a while, if you want. All cabins are detached from any other structures, except cabin #5.
The cabins are large, still cozy, well appointed and very clean. The kitchen produces amazing food and good suggestions from the chef. The pool has water jets on the side if you want and it's close to the beach. The wifi connection is tenuous though.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 is attached to the main building and near the kitchen. Probably best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thanks Kevin,
This is a nice and good review. We hope you can come back again!
Just to let you know, we are in a place that Wifi is like sacred. We have 2Mb of speed and is the only choice we have. Is the maximum in the locality. Is not an excuse, but is the best we can do. We hope that for the next time you come, we can have a better coice for you. Thank you very much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Amazing staff and bungalows. The restaurant is amazing (try the Tuna steak!).
Very quite and quad bike hire is available from reception (better quality bikes than some of the main rental places in town).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenroom1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Simple and Direct!! Thank you very much for this review. More than welcome to have you back any time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
596 reviews
0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Address: | 800 meters north of the soccer field of Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £87 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing