We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome place to stay”
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An awesome place to stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Manala back at the end of November. My sister and her boyfriend were also staying on the property. The 4 of us had such a great time. Laura, Fabien, Ronald were always super friendly and helpful with any questions we had. Fabien made dinner reservations for us and set up my sisters zipline excursion. Ronald had great suggestions for dinner on the other nights.

Manala is in a great location tucked away from the dusty roads with thick vegetation. We even saw a monkey one afternoon. We were able to walk to dinners and lunches, rent surfboards across the street and reach the beach down the same path.

The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The shower was incredibly large and the closet space worked out great.

We would spend our evenings out to dinner and our late nights crowded on our patio the 4 of us just taking in our day. We were able to have breakfast either on our own patios or at the restaurant since there were 4 of us.

We would definitely stay here again if our plans led us back to Santa Teresa. We had a fabulous vacation.

Room Tip: We had room #5 with the best wifi spot since we were next to the restaurant and pool. Super convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CnJ-July9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you very much for this comments, Me and the staff from Manala are happy to receie nice couples like yours. Yu are invited to come visit as whenever you want. thanks again for keep motivating us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    59
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
198
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Really nice property with private, well-designed bungalows directly across the road from beach access to one of the best surf breaks on Playa Santa Teresa. Service was excellent. Fabian and Ronald were very accommodating, everything was easy really. Simple but nice breakfast every morning and the staff were very friendly as well. All in all, one of the nicest places to stay in Santa Teresa and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
We are really glad when people enjoy their staying at Manalá Hotel. It is a pleasure to assist everybody with arrangements, information and everything they may need. We are located near of one of the best points to surf in Santa Teresa. Always our rate incluides continental breakfast, and now our restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Thank you very much for your good comments, we hope to see you again here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed in two of the casitas since we had extended our stay. #9 is at the top of the property and is definitely the most private. Rooms are Huge! Shower is Huge! Laura really did a nice job of making a comfy space to call home during your vacation. and for the last night we moved to #3, which was great as well. I would not say that privacy is a problem with any of the casitas. But #9 was the most private.

The Food at Pulpo was great. We highly recommend the Guacamole, which they serve with fresh pizza dough, in place of standard chips. Yummmy! That place rocks on take out. There was dozens of orders going out. Breakfast was a fine fare of Fresh Fruits, toast and coffee. The only thing I would recommend is that they upgrade the coffee. It was weak - which is just odd since we were in the Land of Coffee. If they made that small change it would make all the difference.

Dont heistate to stay at Manala. They took good care of us, gave us a beautiful place to stay and is just across the street from a fantastic beach. What else could you want?

Room Tip: All of them are fine, but I would avoid #5 since it is too close to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaLouG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for your truthly comments. We really appreciate this! All review means a lot for us and help us to improve in details that makes the difference. We love to have couple that see all of our efforts and help giving us motivation and leaving good comments for future guest. Thank you for being so sincere and we will love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harkers Island, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We returned to Santa Teresa and Manala for another week long stay. All the things regarding the hotel we enjoyed (room size, comfort, privacy, setting, and location) were again beyond expectations. The staff as always were very accomodating and pleasant. The new restuarant is great and very convenient. We thought we might be disappointed as our first stay was perfect and so much fun, however this trip was even better. Great place, great people!

Thanks to all for a great time.

Room Tip: All are nice and private. The room by the pool is the least private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeT31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
It´s always a nice sensation when couples return to our Hotel. We are more than happy to receive you again! More because you enjoy even more this time! You are more than welcome for any oter visit that you want to make in the future. Thank you very much for this comment and have a great time meanwhile. Hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. The located is great, situated amidst a tropical garden and close to the beach. We found the rooms to be among the best hotel rooms we have ever stayed at. We also enjoyed the staff, they were very friendly. The food was quite awesome as well. Our kids enjoy the stay too, we went surfing daily. We will recommend it to friends and family for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelorLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Manalá Hotel was built in the middle of a tropical garden of Santa Teresa beach. It gives a special touch to our guests. We are really glad to read good comments of travelers who stayed at Manalá. We enjoy while helping all our huespeds. Surfing is the most atractive activity to do here, there are good waves during all the year.
Thank you very much for your great comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I loved this hotel. It was incredibly relaxing, sort of tucked away but still close enough to bars & restaurants. They have a great pool, and they don't mind if you swim at night. They also brought a delicious breakfast to the porch of our room every morning. With this hotel you get luxury at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tori2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

we had a great stay at Manala Hotel, very nice and accommodating people, nice shower with hot water, breakfast on the porch every morning and just across from the entrance to Santa Teresa's beach break.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fer_ortiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
It is aweson that you had a great staying at Manalá Hotel. We are really glad to help everyone in order to give them a special touch of Santa Teresa. Our rate always incluides continental breakfast, and we serve it in the bungalows every morning. We are located at just some steps from the entrance to Santa Teresa´s beach break.
Thank you very much for your good comments, we hope to see yoou again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Property: Manala Hotel
Address: | 800 meters north of the soccer field of Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing