We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Santa Teresa”
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value in Santa Teresa”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Manala Hotel is a great place to relax in Santa Teresa. The bungalows are very spacious and clean with AC, fan, and cable TV which kept my wife entertained when I was out surfing. A three minute walk, just across the dusty main road (which is the only road in town), you can find one of the best beach-breaks in the area. It’s a great atmosphere when the sun sets as everyone gathers at the beach with their dogs and kids, watching the surfers shredding the last waves of the day. The staff at the Manala are very nice and helpful and can assist you with their local knowledge to plan your activities. Just ask Ronald about a great route for a Quad bike tour. We followed his suggestion and had a fun and exciting trip crossing rivers, seeing animals, and new places. They rent quads but you can also look around other places. The Manala has its own restaurant called “El Pulpo”. Make sure you have one of their delicious pizzas.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Recepcion at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions for next guest. We are happy to know that you and your wife spend a nice time in the Hotel and Area. We hope you can come back and enjoy of Costa Rica again. Thank you again and have a nice time together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    59
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
198
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and I just spent two nights at the Manala, and absolutely loved it. The place is beautiful, well kept, and the staff is very accommodating. Air conditioning, wifi, TV, the works! There were howler monkeys the first morning in the trees surrounding our cabin. What a special treat.Of course, we spent most of the two days on the beach, which is a very short walk from the Hotel. Santa Teresa has great waves for surfing, but lots of other activities for those who don't surf. By the way, the pizza at the hotel restaurant is the best we've had in all of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: All rooms (cabins) are identical and comparable as far as comfort. We slept well, with no noise othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Recepcion at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, We really appreciate your honestly and how great you discribe your vacations, we are always open to recommend great stuff to do. We hope you come back next year and have a great time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Driving into Santa Teresa in a rainstorm was a bit of a shock,but the shock disappeared very quickly once we found the entrance to Manala. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and kind, with information that was genuinely useful and a very 'can-do' attitude.
The bungalows were clean, tidy and well appointed with all the facilities we needed, we actually so liked the shower that we have decided to recreate it at our home, including the tiles!
The food in the restaurant was excellent and well priced, the closeness to the beach excellent and links into the local surf schools and atv rentals kept prices in check too.
We will be going back, so if that isn't endorsement enough then I don't know what is!

Room Tip: I would go for bungalows at the top of the hill for choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We really appreciate your highly recommendation. It would be nice to have you here again.
We have a Project Planet program that is an effort of this hotel to protect the environment through conservation of water and decreased use of detergent, also to avoid the innecesary waste of electricity and avoid the global warming.
At Manalá Hotel there are latest technology ACs, which get your room cold quickly (5 min), that is why we have a policy in our Hotel: "when we are 100% sure that the customer is out and leave the AC on, we will turn it off".
We are very sorry to bother you, we hope you understand us. It is just a matter of environment protection.
Thank you very much, hope to see you again.
Pura Vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel this year. The place is within walking distance of Playa Santa Teresa Beach, a breathtaking tropical beach that spreads for miles and miles with nothing but tropical trees, surfers, wildlife and ocean surrounding it. The hotel is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. There are only around 8 – 10 rooms, but each room is actually more like a Suite, tastefully decorated, spacious, luxurious, comfortable ( it reminded me like a tropical – Mediterranean style ). The hotel also has a large and beautiful swimming pool, its own restaurant run by local Argentineans or Italians, bar service. We also enjoyed the company or Laura, the owner, a young lady from Spain. Absolutely friendly and she really gave us some excellent tips like things to do, where to eat, where to go, Montezuma Waterfalls, where to go shopping, etc. The roads in the area are in pretty bad shape, but we really did not care, we had a 4x4 rental and I guess it is part of the adventure. Santa Teresa and Mal Pais ( a bit further south ) along with Montezuma are the coastal areas we enjoyed the most during our recent trips to Costa Rica along with the beaches in the South Caribbean. Manala, definitely recommended !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equal, some are clsoer to the pool, some closer to the beach, but all within a matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vogel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
That´s amazing to read that Manalá Hotel has been one of the best hotels you have stayed at. We are really happy when our guests enjoyed of the days in Santa Teresa beach. As everybody says, it´s a nice adventure to be in this magic place.
We appreciate your Excellent review of our place. You and your couple or friends are more than welcome to come back.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cos Cob
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Everything about Manala Hotel was perfect. This was my first trip to Costa Rica and couldn't have had a better experience. The service was first class and started before I arrived and lasted through the day I left. Whether it was lining up a car from the airport, a surf lesson, atv rentals or recommendations for a good restaurant, the service was outstanding. Manala is located on a beautiful piece of property with easy access to an amazing beach. The bungalows are spacious and extremely clean. This was my first trip to Costa Rica and I can’t wait to get back and stay at Manala!

Thank you Laura, Ronaldo and Fabian for making this first time trip an unbelievable experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjharrisct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Recepcion at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hi, Thanks for your great reviews, We are glad that you appreciate our effort and enjoy of our recommendations. Costa Rica is very nice if you know where to go, that´s why we give tips to people, so they know where to go. Thanks for your review of the Hotel and we hope this is not going to be the last time you come to Costa Rica. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This property is absolutely gorgeous- from its location just steps from the best stretch of beach in Santa Teresa, to the exquisitely designed villas, immaculate grounds, clear swimming pool surrounded by tropical gardens, and the most friendly staff... all of the creature comforts are provided- comfortable bed, A/C, wi-fi, etc. Beautiful breakfast and lovely terrace to sit right outside the room... We would recommend this to anyone coming to Santa Teresa! The always smiling Ronaldo (as he said, I wish I could play football like Ronaldo but it is pronounced Ronald) was super helpful and always a pleasure to see! It's all right here, don't think twice!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie020239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Recepcion at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for your reviews and nice comments, we appreciate every single word and we are very happy that you had a great expirience! Hope you can come and visit Santa Teresa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Manala is definitely one of the best beach hotels we have stayed at. It is a small family run luxury hotel located at just steps from the beach of Santa Teresa, north of Mal Pais. Laura the owner or manager is a gentle lady, very knowledgeable and friendly. We stayed for 4 nights during March. The hotel has a gorgeous pool and garden setting. There also is a small restaurant with great food, Pizza, Pastas and more. Our kids had a great time. The beach is located approximately 100 yards from the hotel, great surfing. The hotel also has a list of trips. We took the horseback riding trip to Montezuma Waterfalls and a fun quad tour. We payed U$ 480 for the four nights + the additional for our kids. The roads in the area in pretty bad shape, but since we had rented a 4x4 Jeep and had no problem with it. Highly recommended hotel @ a very good price too.!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. we stayed in a room in the upper part, far away from the front desk, alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments about us and the Hotel. We are going to be more than happy for having you back and enjoy of this great place one more time. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Property: Manala Hotel
Address: | 800 meters north of the soccer field of Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing