We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach, sun, resting”
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beach, sun, resting”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After 15 days of trippin around the country, we finalized or journey in Santa Teresa. Manala Hotel provided what we were looking for: Absolute rest, comfort, relaxation and sleep. The place is a dream ! SMALL, INTIMATE, COZY, LUXURY,… just walking distance from a nice nice beach. Definitely recommended. Service and staff members super friendly. Great food, gorgeous pool, awesome gardens… Rooms are so nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We are really glad because you and your couple had great days at Manalá Hotel while you were in Santa Teresa. It was a pleasure to assist you with everything you needed.
Thank you very much for your recommendation, we will be happy to see you again here at Manalá Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    59
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
198
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Santa Teresa was a surprise after starting our honeymoon in the Arenal area. It is very laid-back, and almost rustic feeling. It is what a surf destination should be. Manala was a great place to stay, the bungalows are very cute and quite spacious. I loved the large shower and the seating areas inside and outside. Since they were alerted by our travel agency that it was our honeymoon there were very pretty flowers on the bed and the towels shaped as swans, and some chocolates with a nice congratulatory message. The bed wasn't the most comfortable we had on our trip, but after a long days of activity we slept great all the same. I unfortunately came down with a cold at this point of our honeymoon, so we didn't get to explore Santa Teresa as much as we wanted to, and I was in bed quite a bit.

Our first night we did make it out to the beach, it was a very short walk. I come from the Pacific Northwest so the concept of warm ocean was pretty amazing to me. Unlike where we stayed in the Arenal area, (Tabacon), there were markets and restaurants and even coffee shops within walking distance from Manala. The two men working at the front desk while we were there were really friendly and perfectly happy giving recommendations and directions for restaurants and things to do in the area. One of them arranged a taxi for us for a more remote restaurant we wanted to go to.

The complimentary breakfast is really simple, but satisfying. We had dinner there twice, they have some pretty tasty pizza. The restaurant is right by the pool, so it was cool at night to watch bats swoop down and grab insects around the pool. I really liked that. We also saw some cool birds, butterflies and lizards on the property.

I think my favorite experience at Manala was during a heavy rainstorm that lasted quite a while, my husband and I sat outside in the seating area in front of our bungalow and just relaxed and read while listening to the rain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamoftheshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at Manala 4 nights in mid august and had the most pleasant stay.
The location is perfect . Close to everything yet very quiet and just a few steps from the best surfing point on the beach.
The rooms are clean, specious and comfortable. The staff was great , friendly and helpful.
We will definitely come back to Manala in our next visit to santa teresa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeKalasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Manalá Hotel is located really close to the best beach break in Santa Teresa. We are glad because people like you enjoyed your days here. This is the perfect place to relax after surfing or after looking a nice sunset on the beach.
Thank you very much for your nice review. It will be a pleasure to see again at Manalá Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

After reviewing tripadvisor I finally chose manala hotel. Was tripadvisor right! It's a hidden Jem located at the best surf point in santa teresa. Know that it's not close to the ATM "in town". But there are plenty of restaurants and things to do near the hotel in walking distance. Clean, beautiful, well staffed. So glad I found this place!!! Check out Kikas down the road for some fresh caught fish, and olam for a healthy lunch. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieb6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review, we really appreciate it. We are glad too that you found our place. You will be more than welcome when you and your friend come back to Santa Teresa. We will be here to help you with everything you may need.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Manala Hotel is a great place to relax in Santa Teresa. The bungalows are very spacious and clean with AC, fan, and cable TV which kept my wife entertained when I was out surfing. A three minute walk, just across the dusty main road (which is the only road in town), you can find one of the best beach-breaks in the area. It’s a great atmosphere when the sun sets as everyone gathers at the beach with their dogs and kids, watching the surfers shredding the last waves of the day. The staff at the Manala are very nice and helpful and can assist you with their local knowledge to plan your activities. Just ask Ronald about a great route for a Quad bike tour. We followed his suggestion and had a fun and exciting trip crossing rivers, seeing animals, and new places. They rent quads but you can also look around other places. The Manala has its own restaurant called “El Pulpo”. Make sure you have one of their delicious pizzas.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Recepcion at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions for next guest. We are happy to know that you and your wife spend a nice time in the Hotel and Area. We hope you can come back and enjoy of Costa Rica again. Thank you again and have a nice time together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and I just spent two nights at the Manala, and absolutely loved it. The place is beautiful, well kept, and the staff is very accommodating. Air conditioning, wifi, TV, the works! There were howler monkeys the first morning in the trees surrounding our cabin. What a special treat.Of course, we spent most of the two days on the beach, which is a very short walk from the Hotel. Santa Teresa has great waves for surfing, but lots of other activities for those who don't surf. By the way, the pizza at the hotel restaurant is the best we've had in all of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: All rooms (cabins) are identical and comparable as far as comfort. We slept well, with no noise othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Recepcion at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, We really appreciate your honestly and how great you discribe your vacations, we are always open to recommend great stuff to do. We hope you come back next year and have a great time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Driving into Santa Teresa in a rainstorm was a bit of a shock,but the shock disappeared very quickly once we found the entrance to Manala. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and kind, with information that was genuinely useful and a very 'can-do' attitude.
The bungalows were clean, tidy and well appointed with all the facilities we needed, we actually so liked the shower that we have decided to recreate it at our home, including the tiles!
The food in the restaurant was excellent and well priced, the closeness to the beach excellent and links into the local surf schools and atv rentals kept prices in check too.
We will be going back, so if that isn't endorsement enough then I don't know what is!

Room Tip: I would go for bungalows at the top of the hill for choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We really appreciate your highly recommendation. It would be nice to have you here again.
We have a Project Planet program that is an effort of this hotel to protect the environment through conservation of water and decreased use of detergent, also to avoid the innecesary waste of electricity and avoid the global warming.
At Manalá Hotel there are latest technology ACs, which get your room cold quickly (5 min), that is why we have a policy in our Hotel: "when we are 100% sure that the customer is out and leave the AC on, we will turn it off".
We are very sorry to bother you, we hope you understand us. It is just a matter of environment protection.
Thank you very much, hope to see you again.
Pura Vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Property: Manala Hotel
Address: | 800 meters north of the soccer field of Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing