We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our entire experience at Manala Hotel was perfect! The staff was so friendly and helpful. Our private bungalow was set up just right with a cozy bed, large tiled shower, t.v., fridge to keep the Imperial nice and chilled. :) oh and it's set away from the road so we had two very great nights of peaceful sleep. The pool area is gorgeous and surrounded by tropical landscape. The restaurant had great food and the staff was like a little family working together. The beach is a short walk across the street. We highly recommend Manala Hotel and we will be back Laura!

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 6 I'm sure they are all perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Gerente at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Friends Lisa & Mike ,

We want to thank you for your review and for your time to write it down.
It is a real pleasure to read such a great feedback from your vacations here at Santa Teresa, and is more gratifiying to read that Manala family contributed a lot to help you have a great experience. We will be expecting for you to come back and try to provide the best from us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    58
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
197
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I just returned from my first visit to Santa Teresa with my girlfriend and staying at the Manala Hotel was part of my wonderful experience. The location was ideal, a bit on the further end of town so it was quiet yet conveniently located across from an entrance to the beautiful public beach, extremely close to the best local cuisine in Costa Rica at Soda Tiquicia, and easy walking distance to a grocery store. Not only that but the restaurant inside the hotel, El Pulpo serves surprisingly delicious italian food.

The hotel staff was very friendly, welcoming, accomodating, and there were two hotel dogs as well. The hotel was seems really safe and has a security guard patrolling after hours. The room/bungalow was large, air conditioned, and had wifi- everything we wanted and at an excellent price.

The staff gave us (helpful) recommendations, directions, and even rented us an ATV.

The complimentary breakfast of pineapple, watermelon, bananas, orange juice, and toast was appreciated. I'd recommend the Manala Hotel to anyone planning a vacation- can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 775emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Gerente at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Friends Emily & Eli ,

It is a real pleasure to read such a great feedback from your vacations here at Santa Teresa, and is more gratifiying to read that Manala family contributed a lot to help you have a great experience. We will be expecting for you to come back and try to provide the best from us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My friends and I had planned a trip to Santa Teresa but waited until a week before we left to book our hotel. With just a few options available for the dates of our stay, we decided on Manala after having received recommendations to stay there. It did not disappoint. The hotel rooms are actually each their own standalone bungalow- 8 total for the entire hotel. The rooms were clean, air conditioned and very private. The breakfast included with the hotel reservation was delicious- fresh fruit, juice, toast and coffee..and it is served pool side! The entire landscape surrounding the hotel is lush and beautiful- and very well maintained! The staff was super helpful and very friendly. I would stay at Manala again in a heartbeat and would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
It makes us feel pleased that you got a great time while staying with us. It is always a pleasure to help you with anything that you or your friends may need. At Manalá Hotel we take care of every single thing in order to please our visitors and to be the best option in Santa Teresa.
We really apreciate your nice review, your excellent puntuation, and the recommendation. We will be happy to see you again here.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We just got back from our one week trip in Costa Rica and spent 5 nights here. It was a very relaxing, quiet place to stay that was very close to the beach. Our bungalow was very nice and cozy, very close to the pool. The walk to the beach is about five minutes right across the street and down a little dirt road. When the beach got too hot we would head back to relax by the pool which was nice and refreshing. We had the pleasure of seeing a lot of monkeys two evenings right above our bungalow in a tree. You can rent ATVs through the office if you want to be adventerous and see a bit more of the area. We mostly just walked where we went. There is a little grocery store right down the street where we got snack items for our lunches each day. Our goal was to relax and not do much of anything....this was a great place for that.

Room Tip: Bungalow three or 4 seems to get the most shade which would help keep the room cooler while your not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyclv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
We are glad that you had a great time at Manalá Hotel. We really like when our clients are enjoying of their vacations. We are located at only 100 meters away from the beach. There are a lot of Howler Monkeys here, everybody can see them on the top of the trees early in the morning or in the afternoon.
There are a lot of things to do in Santa Teresa, like surfing, fishing, kayaking, snorkeling, horse riding, quads rental. Just let us know want you want and we will arrange it for you.
Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again here.
Pura vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

What a gem this place is. Its very close to the beach but on the more north end of the town in general. If you have a car, ATV, or bike no worries. If on foot, be aware you will be doing a lot of walking to get most places. The staff was very friendly and check in was a breeze. The hotel property is narrow in width, but streched back up into the hillside and is very lush and well maintanied. The pool was great! The free breakfast was good, not great. Wifi worked very well in the pool/breakfast area but not in the room. The room itself was very nice, comfortable bed, nice shower, everything you need! I only stayed here two nights and I was traveling solo but wanted my first 2 nights in Costa Rica to be comfortable and Manala was perfect for that. It is certianly a couples hotel, so I would look around a bit more if looking for a social or younger crowd. Santa Teresa is an amazing place. Beaches are world class and I felt safe no matter when or where. Lots of good places to eat. A really good Costa Rican "soda" near Manala going north towards Hermosa beach. Oh and rent and ATV and take the farm road to the waterfalls in Montezuma.... AMAZING!

Room Tip: Room Number 8 is at the top and the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremiah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Gerente at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi Dear Friend Jeremiah ,

Manala staff will like to thank you for your great feedback, it is a honor to read such good things, not only from the hotel, but from the places we are sorrounded by! .About the breadfast The Pulpo Restaurant ,has several opcions that you can get it . It is good to know that you were able to relax and have your time, next time we will be waiting for you to come back , but with someone else you can tour and relax with!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

As the title says, our stay at the Manala Hotel could not have been any better!

The bungalows are very clean and beautifully arranged; the living room is very big, including a comfortable bed, a (super fast!) AC, TV, fridge and a small table with 2 chairs directly by the windows.

However, as all the other reviews already give an adequate description of the establishment, here some other personal experience at Manala Hotel:

When we were confronted with a medical emergency and needed help to find a specific medical institution (including an air ambulance to San Jose), the owner as well as the staff did absolutely wonderful to support us and help where they can.
The owner (Laura) even offered us to drive us to the next ambulance in Santa Teresa and provided us with lots of needed information.
The next day, we also surprisingly received a mail, stating their worries and offering us to take care of our luggage/etc. while we were away (luckily we made it already back a day after).

In the following days at the hotel, we were treated in the most kindly ways, often asked how we are and what they can do for us, while at the same time giving us the opportunity to relax and spent some time at the pool.

We hereby once again would like to thank all the staff at Manala Hotel for their service and kindness during our stay. Just to clarify, this of course also concerns all the staff of the restaurant. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Gerente at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi Dear Friends Chistin ,and Tim ,

It is very conforting to read such a great feedback from you, thank you very much!! Here at Manala, we are very glad and proud to know that the begining of a new life cycle was here, with us! now, we can feel proud and awaiting for what we can say will be our niece? We actually do care about our clients as if they are part of our family, now we will be expecting pictures and status of the development of your, (our) new family member! Please remember that you three are more than welcome to you family in Costa Rica, Manala!! Best wishes and luck from Manala family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We left Manala Hotel this morning with the feeling that we really could have stayed several more days. The "casitas" they offer have great bedding, are clean, modern and comfortable. Ours was #6, and we loved being right across from the pool and restaurant. Noise was not an issue at all, and the way that the pool is set up and landscaped gives you a feeling of privacy even when other people are around. Yes, the restaurant is great, and the pizza is the best! As well, I need to complement every single person that works there...from the front desk to the housekeeping and garden staff to the restaurant staff, each is lovely, smiling, and gives great service. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I'd probably try to get one of the rooms farther from the front entrance, but the hotel is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We are glad to know that you like our "Casitas". We try to keep them clean every day. As we have only 8 bungalows, it is very quite here. We always take care of the place, clean the bungalows every day, water the garden for it to be always green.
We are here to assist our guests every time. It is a pleasure to help you with everything you may need. As you said, we have the best pizza in town.
You are welcome to come back as soon as you can. Thank you very much for you nice review and for the excellent puntuation
Pura Vida !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Property: Manala Hotel
Address: 800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing