We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We were in this hotel for 2 nights after we moved from another one because we weren't satisfied. It's a good one. Very nice rooms, a good service at the reception, great location. The wifi wasn't good at the rooms, too bad...also the breakfast is pretty poor and if you want to upgrade it's cost capple of dollars. The two last points it's why i don't give the five..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank erelb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Director de Recepción at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi,
Thanks for your opinion.
We were working for a couple of month to have WiFi inside the rooms and finally we got it. We are sorry you had problems with this.
About the Breakfast, is a Continental Breakfast what is included. Everybody knows that is fruits, toast, coffee and juice. Guests have the option to add more food if they are still hungry or change the breakfast for less than $5, like you wrote.
Its hard to satisfy all of our guest all the time, but we try to.
Thanks again for your comments and we wish you come back to Santa Teresa any moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place is a lovely little treasure not to far from the coast and nestled right on the edge of the jungle. My wife and I stayed 2 nights here last week and enjoyed it very much. The staff here is phenomenal, they were so incredibly helpful. Anything you might need while you stay here, they do what they can to help you get it. You can get a taxi from the front desk, and you can also plan any number of trips, they will help you through it all. The rooms are spacious, and air conditioned with a beautiful shower and comfortable bed. The grounds are extremely well kept, I mean they are immaculate, and the pool is lovely and always open. I would suggest this place for anyone who is looking for a nice relaxing getaway, and outstanding hospitality and service. For our two day stay we could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: When choosing a room, if you want the most privacy, choose room 7 or 8. Either way the are all priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWarren1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Director de Recepción at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much! Guest like you and your wife are always welcome to come back any time!! Thanks for the nice review of all our place and staff. We really appreciate your words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights in April. We were traveling with a large group, 6 adults and 8 kids. The Manala met all of our needs. The rooms were clean, spacious and offered air conditioning. The grounds were kept clean and the staff was very accommodating. We ate the majority of our meals at their restaurant, the food was delicious. ( I'm sure Mary never wants to make another pancake). What we loved the most was that we could walk right across the street from the Manala to a great surf break.
Laura, the owner and who manages the property was very helpful in planning and recommending things for us to see and do. Easiest trip I've ever taken with 14 people. Thanks to wonderful staff!

Karen

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Director de Recepción at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you very much for the great review! Is nice to know that you and all of your family and friends had a geat time here. We try to do our best with all of our guest. We love this place and we recomend the best. All our team is very helpfull and we work hard to keep for you to have a nice time. Thanks again for the coments and try to Come Back Soon!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a really relaxing and great experience. The bungalow we stayed in was clean, air conditioned and designed to reflect the "Tico" style. There's a pool and a restaurant on sight and breakfast is included daily for each person during your stay. The staff was incredible--from the person who checked us in to the ladies who cleaned our room. Everyone was lovely, friendly, mostly bilingual and helpful. The only reason why we are not giving Manala a rating of 5 is due to the plumbing. Yes, we are in Costa Rica, but nicer (more expensive) hotels should vent their septic systems properly. The solution for us was simple: sleeping with the bathroom door closed. Aside from this one issue, our experience at Manala was great.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your comments of our Hotel. We are happy to know that you like our Hotel and you felt comfortable with our work and our staff. We try to please all our guest with any of their needs and its good to hear feed back about it. We are sorry that you had a bad time with the septic system, but if someone have a issue with something related of the Bungalows or anything that involves the facilities of the Hotel, we really appreciate if our guests inform us. We try to give the best service and we put ourselfs in the position of the guests, thats why we give you all the information that you require for having a nice accommodation. Everything has a solution and we could fixed your issue. We will be happy if future guest will inform us of this or any kind of bad situation that you could present.
Again, thank you very much for your feed back and we hope you can come back to stay in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights the first week of May and enjoyed this place quite a bit. The property is surprisingly secluded and the grounds are some of the cleanest i've ever seen. (The groundskeeper deserves a raise, he NEVER stops working!) I do have a few things to say about this place so to make it easy I am gonna do a pros and cons.
Pros:
Beautiful quiet grounds.
Spacious rooms with a fridge and a market in walking distance.
Beautiful pool that is always empty.
Across the street from the most lovely beach in Costa Rica.
Air Conditioning.
Free Breakfast.
The most wildlife we saw anywhere was on the grounds including many monkeys daily.

Cons:
Hard bed, very hard.
Room 5 has absolutely no privacy when you want to enjoy your porch.
The breakfast never changes and can get really boring day after day.
They get a little weird if you hang out at your room. At 9:51 am they actually came and asked us if we were going out because the maid needed to clean our room. WHAT!?!? Chill out people, I'm on vacation.
And lastly the cash thing... We booked our room thru booking.com and they took our credit card and then proceeded to send us an email telling us we would need to pay cash for 4 of the 5 nights we would be staying there. It's hard enough to be a tourist in a foreign country without your hotel making you carry several hundred dollars in cash.
This definitely would affect our choice for a hotel in ST for the future.
Cute place just know these things and you will be much happier.
Also the guys at reception are really nice.

Room Tip: Ask for on the higher rooms as in 6-8. They seem to have the most privacy on your porch. I highly su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Silawe,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Thank you very much for mention that our Hotel is the most clean and quiet you have been, and about our beautiful gardens and our Excellent staff.

We also would like to clarify some of the points that you mentioned:

All our bungalows have orthopedic mattresses and we took that decision thinking in the physical wear of most all of our clients have dairy (surfing, horseback riding, canopy, hiking…). Many of customers have said how good they have rested in these mattresses, but obviously it is very hard to satisfy everybody´s likes. We would love to do it, but it is actually impossible. As a personal comment, I use the same kind of mattress for myself.

Bungalow # 5, I agree, might be not the most private. But, as is closer to the pool, many customers ask for it. Also, when we only have a few booked Bungalows, we prefer to place our guests near the restaurant and in the center of the property, for your own comfort.
For the dates that you stayed with us, bungalow #7 and #8 were available. If you did not like the Bungalow #5, why you did not let us know? We could have given you another unit. It would have been a pleasure to do it for you. Keep in mind that our purpose is always to satisfy all our clients.

Our rates include Continental Breakfast, but our restaurant offers other good options like pancakes, French toasts, eggs, omelets, etc, for only $ 5.

In relation to the maid, we do apologize for bothering you, but we only asked you when you were sitting outside the bungalow if you wanted the daily cleaning, and you answered us that you wanted it later.

Our rate for May is $123 ($109+13%tax), but right now we have an offer of $104 (cash only), for our direct clients and for Booking.com customers. In order to make it more accessible and as a better deal, but because commissions with agencies, and others like Credomatic taxes the only way to make it functional is collect it in cash; is something that we always inform our customers when they ask for availability. In the case of Booking.com when we confirm the reservation. Booking.com does not provide the option to report the payment balance of the following nights, but we do in the confirmation, so, guest can consider it. In case that they don’t like it, they can cancel the reservation. We also advise customers that there are two banks in Santa Teresa and two ATMs to not have to carry cash with you all the time (We do NOT recommend to carry too much cash)

Thanks again for your comments and we will consider many aspects of them. Have a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for 6 Nights and really enjoyed the property and location. The staff is really friendly and helpful. We took unit #8 which is at the top of the road and the most secluded, it is a little bit of a walk up the hill but still easy. You can get wifi all over the property except in your room, so we had to sit in front of the room to get it. There is a nice pool and eating area on the property .You can walk to the beach in 5 minutes and walk to the store and a couple of restaurants in 5. Most restaurants are a little further down the main road and you will need a ride. We rented an ATV for 3 days and that was the best move we made. The roads are really bad and the taxis are not cheap and an ATV can fly over the bad roads with no problem. We drove to zip lining and then into Montezuma for lunch. Take the beach road back to Santa Theresa it is the most most beautiful ride and you get to see the jungle. Zip lining was very fun and you get to see some waterfalls as part of the excursion. We also went to Tortuga Island to snorkel and that was average at best. Kind of a long boat ride and not a great variety of fish.

You cannot go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Take room #8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socalsxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Hi!

Thank you very much for your coments. We hope this help travelers who are not going to doubt in staying with us. Our staff tries to give the best advices. Here, depending on the season, nature can be amazing, so we are happy you made some of the activities that we can arrange. Looking forward for your next visit and thanks again for your reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here in February with two other friends for 2 nights.

The grounds are stunning and each cabin is extremely spacious, picturesque and spotless. Breakfast was always delicious and we very much loved hopping into the mainly deserted but serene pool every night after a long day on the beach or exploring the town.

The hotel offers many resources to book day trips and activities, but we found ourselves simply enjoying our time in the beautiful town and relaxing on the beach.

While the hotel isn't situated ON the beach, Santa Taresa is a fabulous little beach town that runs entirely along the beach so you are never far away from it.

There are loads of restaurants and shops along the main road and I highly recommend you check out Banana Beach which is a beach bar a few spots down from Manala Hotel.

Absolutely phenomenal stay! If i ever have the pleasure to go back to Santa Taresa I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbenn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANALAHOTEL, Gerente at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Manala staff will like to thank you for your great feedback, it is a honor to read such good things, not only from the hotel, but from the places we are sorrounded by! It is good to know that you were able to relax and have your time ,we will be more than happy to see you back here at Manala Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Address: | 800 meters north of the soccer field of Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £64 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing