We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the hook!”
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Although I was down in Santa Teresa this past July(2010) with friends,I stayed at the Manala solo. Turns out my buddies had there girlfriends come down so I opted for my own place. I could not have been more happy with my choice. I only wish my wife was with me. The Manala is in a GREAT location. Across the street from the popular surf spot "phone booth". There is nothing like being able to wake up and walk across the street to check the surf.
As far as accommodations go... it's a 10 hands down. The 8 or 10 private bungalows are as clean as clean can be(trust me I'm a clean freak). The beds are new,showers are big and hot and the grounds are beautiful with flowers everywhere. I really felt bad staying here and not being able to share it with the wife (i got over it though).
The Manala does have a restaurant but I guess it was closed during the rainy season. Something you may want to look into before booking if you are fixed on having a place to eat on grounds. There are plenty of great places to eat minutes away otherwise. Try to ask the cleaning staff where the Tico(local/costa rican) restaurants are and you will be rewarded. Great food at half the price while giving back to the locals.
The staff are really friendly and helpful. The Cleaning staff(local tico's) are the nicest people you will ever meet. Tip generously, they make very little $. $5 dollars a day goes a long way for these people and your room will be spotless and filled with fresh flowers everywhere.

I will say the internet service/connection is sub par at best! If you take your notebook to the pool you will get a signal but not in your rooms. Leave it home and don't worry about it! Hope this helps, Pura Vida.
.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddpreble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

Manalá Hotel is the nicest place to stay on the beaches of Costa Rica.

The hotel is gorgeous, The private bungalows are wonderful, the bathromms are beautiful & spacious and we had our breakfast served in our own large terrace where we admired the surrounding tropical vegetation, humming birds, iguanas, squirrels, congo monkeys, butterflies and any other animals in the area.

The beach in front of the hotel is a hundred feet away, a lovely walk across palms, trees and incredible tropical plants and flowers. An awesome beach, perfect for snorkeling, body surfing, surfing and sunbathing. We enjoyed like kids.

Back to Manalá, we relaxed in the large swimming pool.

We hired horses and quads and had wonderful rides in the beach, and every afternoon we had a spectacular breathtaking sunset we had never seen in any other place.

Our hosts, Fabri and Laura, were incredible, they helped us in anything we needed, recommended lovely spots and places to visit. We felt like home.

We loved it. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURA S, Equipo del Hotel Manalá at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rolocaseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pamela1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabineboulogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Address: | 800 meters north of the soccer field of Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £78 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing