We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place!”
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meli Melo
Ranked #4 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

What a lovely place, what lovely hosts, what lovely family. I was supposed to stay 4 days and to move elsewhere…I ended up staying 12 days. The place is wonderful, cosy, charming.
The owners, Melanie and fred, are so friendly, helpful and welcoming! Always here for advice, help and always offering you a smile!
Rooms are clean and pretty. Beach is close to the hotel. I felt home there and if back to santa teresa, I’ll be back there for sure!
I strongly recommend that place! Excellent service! All perfect!
Nana

Room Tip: they are all nice and it depend on the number of persons you are; some are big, some are smaller.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank narimane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meli Melo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed at Meli Melo for 5 nights during the rainy season. Having stayed in Playa Carmen before we were a little unsure of staying farther down in Santa Teresa, but Meli Melo proved to be a great choice. The property is very pretty, with a great common kitchen, communal porch area, clothes line, outdoor shower, and housekeeper. The rooms are simple but comfortable, with plenty of room, and the shower has hot water (not a suicide shower). Freddy and Melanie are very welcoming and friendly, and we loved the 2 dogs and cats roaming around. There are a few good restaurants nearby for all meals, and the beach access is only a few seconds away. The beach area is quiet, and much prettier and less rocky than Playa Carmen. If you are planning to stay for a week or longer, we would recommend renting a car or ATV as the center of town is quite a ways away if you need a the ATM or want more restaurant selection. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Very good location, just a few meters from the beach and shops. Lots of restaurants nearby. Rooms are very nice and clean. And the owners are always here to help and welcoming - make sure you have a surf lesson with Fred !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent 15 days at Meli Malo, everything was exactly this same like it was described on their web-side.
Nice atmosphere and friendly owners, always willing to help us.
Room which we had was big, it was enough place to put all staff witch we had for 15 days trip. Room and bathroom clean and tidy.
It is close to beach, and close to grocer's (shop.
Internet, air condition were working without any problems.
Good thing is a well equipped kitchen,where you can prepare any kind of food. Also BBQ is available.
Owners can provide (free of charge) bikes, which helped us a lot to travel around.
We can strongly recommend this place,
we had a great holidays

Michal I Ulka

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190499Mich83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had made reservations for 3 nights at Meli Melo and ended up staying an extra night because of the great hospitality the hotel owners had provided us.

The rooms were clean and very spacious. The A/C worked perfect and the beds were good. We had WIFI in the room at no charge which is definitely a plus. There is also a kitchen in the general area which we had used a couple of times during our stay. In the morning you get your breakfast made whenever you' re ready to have this between 8 - 10. On our last day Melanie arranged for us to have our breakfast earlier than the normal serving hours which we appreciated.

Frederic can advice and rent you a surfboard if you need this at a very decent price. He can also give you advise on surf spots in the area depending on your level of surfing. One day he took us surfing at a location a bit further away which was going off. We had a great time, especially the drive back through a storm was unforgettable for us.

All in all nice hosts and a nice place to stay in Santa Teresa. Thanks Melanie and Frederic.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcarends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My son and I cannot say enough good things about Hotel Meli Melo and our wonderful hosts, Fredrique and Melanie. Both are fluent in English, Spanish, and French and were able to answer our questions about surf, expeditions, and the natural/beauty flora, fauna surrounding the hotel.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and within 20 minutes of our arrival, Fredrique had surfboards, leashes, wax and rashguards for us. Then he walked us to the beach and pointed out the best breaks. Some days Fredrique went surfing with us and gave me some great tips to help me catch more/better waves. It wasn't until our last night (we stayed 8 days) that Fredrique suprised me by showing me the photos he took when he wasn't out surfing with us. Nice touch!
The rooms are basic, but who wants to sit in a room when you can swing in a hammock on your porch and watch birds, lizards and monkeys in the trees! Rooms have Wi-Fi, good A/C, and Angela the housekeeper keeps your room and the common kitchen area very clean and tidy. (She also whipped up breakfast every day!)
Beach, shops, and restaurants are all within a few minutes walk, but if you need to go the few KM to Playa Carmen, Fredrique and Melanie have bikes that guests are welcome to borrow.
I am looking forward to my next trip to Costa Rica, and I will definitely stay with my new friends at Hotel Meli Melo.

Mike
Satellite Beach, FL

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msgtcallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Me and my mom took at family trip down to Costa Rica for about a week to visit my brother staying there for the summer. He had recommended Hotel Meli Melo and we had seen the pictures, but we didn't really know what to expect. This beautiful little hotel was clean; filled with wonderful people and staff, and just happened to be in the middle of paradise. The owners; Melanie and Frederick were willing to give an arm and an leg to insure their guests satisfactions. They booked a hotel for us in San Jose, answered a number of questions about the area for us, and even let us barrow their bike one day to go to the bank. My mom and I also took a surf lesson from Frederick, which was a great experience. Frederick was very patient and was a great teacher. The room was simple and comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. We were lucky enough to have a room connected to a huge back porch area equipped with a table, chairs and outdoor lamps, and tons of reading material in what ever language you prefer. I had a great experience and would love to go back. If you are going during the rainy season, do not be apprehensive. We went from July 6-13 and it only rained during the day once which turned out to be a nice and relaxing break from exploring the peninsula. Many people prefer the rainy season because the temperature is lower and all of the vegetation is beautiful and green, plus great rates. Also, the fruit there is amazing; pineapple will never taste the same at home! I had a great experience at this hotel and in the whole area. The environment urges you to be creative, to relax, and forces you to notice it's beauty.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clowermk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
#5 of 27 in Santa Teresa
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Address: | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £36 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meli Melo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2 min walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bycicles free of charge...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and comfortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing