We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Santa Teresa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Meli Melo
Ranked #4 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Best Hotel in Santa Teresa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Melanie and Fred are awesome! This place is a real gem. What a great bargain, and the ability to be 100 yards from the beach and have the comfort of a nice clean room is a great way to spend a vacation. Super relaxing, friendly atmosphere, I stayed here for 12 or so days and could have easily stayed another 2 weeks or so. You'll be taken care of here and the rates are more than fair. Lots of different boards to rent too, so no need to spend a ridiculous amount of money on board bag fees on the plane.

Pura Vida!
Rob

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob61980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
89
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Only positive things to say. Owners are very warm, welcoming, and pay attention to detail. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing, very well-located. Our stay in Santa Teresa couldn't have been better thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 633CCC633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

The hotel is one of the best in town! Right across the street of Santa Terasa surf break, close to all amenities (grocery, shops, restaurants, bars, etc…). The hotel is brand new and the rooms are very clean, bright and they provide AC, which is a must ;) You can even ask for a room with your own little private garden!
As for the owners, Melanie and Fred are more than welcoming. They make you feel at home and will do everything to make sure your stay is the greatest! Fred provides surf lessons and you can rent boards for reasonable prices right at the hotel. The communal kitchen is very well organize and give you the opportunity to meet people from around the world ;) You can’t’ go wrong with Meli Melo! Enjoy your trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_ElaineMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Meli Melo from July 1st to 12th, and we just didn't want to leave! Frederic and Melanie, the owners, make you feel at home. Our room was spacious, clean and the beds were really confortable. The shower has hot water. The hotel kitchen is well equiped, we almost never went to restaurants and the grocerie store is less than a 5 minutes walk away. It was a great way to meet with the other hotel guests, who were all really friendly, relaxed, and fun to talk to. They also provide bicycles for free. Last but not least, the beautiful beach is right across the street! I can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Veronique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

my friend and i just stayed here at the meli melo from the 3-7th of july 2012. we are both travelers and both agreed that our stay here was one of the greatest accommodations we have ever experienced on a bed and breakfast level. melanie and frederick who are the owners are extremely relaxed and laid back and will take care of everything and anything that you need/want. the rooms are clean and have everything you need. the establishment has a communal kitchen which is great because you get to meet all your guests and eat meals with them so you feel like its a little family while youre staying. cant recommend it enough. we plan on going back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlrapaport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Really great hotel, nice rooms, so close to the beach
I really enjoyed my stay. Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet.
Wonderful location, really good surf lessons, and was so nice to just rent a board from our hotel.
I cant wait to go back next year to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Found this place after nearly leaving town due to the heat and lack of a/c (my boyfriend love his conveniences!) great people, willing to do anything to make your stay better, have bikes for free use, will wash and line dry your cloths upon request, have a full kitchen for guest use, a and it's directly across the street from the beach entrance. Would definitely stay here again, an extreme value!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhill611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#15 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Property: Hotel Meli Melo
Address: | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meli Melo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2 min walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bycicles free of charge...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and comfortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing