We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meli Melo
Ranked #3 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our family of four stayed at Hotel Meli Melo for one week at the end of March. It is a great spot to relax and enjoy the gorgeous beach! There are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is very clean and Melanie & Frederic are very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this as a great place to stay in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryHamsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

5mn away from Santa Teresa beach, simple and clean rooms & bathrooms, lovely terrace and hamoc - perfect for a relaxed, and easy stay - you can rent a surfboard, get drinking water, and ask Melanie & Fred for any advice and recommendations.
Simply perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I loved everything about my stay at the meli melo hotel : it's perfect location, the great welcome by Fred and Melanie, their local knowledge was much appreciated... Will definitely recommend to my friends and will go back without hesitation.
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green_lilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and son (8 years old) just returned from a wonderful four days and nights in Santa Teresa. We found Santa Teresa to be a great place for our family. The location of the hotel is very good. We loved that we could walk to everything (beach, restaurants, grocery store, a new French bakery). We had heard about the dust of Santa Teresa but did not find it that bad (we visited in March which is supposedly the dustiest of all). It is on the main road which is good and directly across from an access point to the beach. It is a little more noisy than you might find up the steep hill (but we felt the little bit of noise was ok compared to the trek up the hill for some of the other options). Hotel was comfortable - it was not anything extravagant but when you spend the day in the sun, you don't need much at the end of the day. A clean, comfortable bed with a friendly, non-pushy atmosphere were all we needed. Hosts were incredible - friendly, flexible, informative. My son and I got great surf lessons from Fred - he was hooked right away. Yoga was a block or so away. Fantastic places to eat everywhere. We have already recommended this place to several of our friends looking for a Costa Rica trip. You might get a little more quiet and a little more "posh" somewhere else but you cannot beat the friendliness, location, cleanliness, and value of Hotel Meli Melo. If plush living and resort type catering to your whims is what you are looking for, this may not be the place. If a place to lay your head for a great value with a great, local atmosphere is for you - Hotel Meli Melo is fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gringo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

With nearly two months spent in Playa Santa Teresa, and having stayed at multiple accommodations, Meli Melo was our favorite. Not only is Hotel Meli Melo a family run business, but they treat their guests like family too, which makes staying there truly rise above all other options in the area.

With great WiFi connection, Air Conditioned rooms, comfortable beds, surf boards, bikes shared kitchen area, free coffee, and hammocks all set within their safe and secure beautiful gardens, you won't want to leave... Well, that is until you decide to walk the ~200 yards to the beach! ;)

We aren't the only ones who returned to the Meli Melo... We saw countless travelers return to Meli Melo several times during their stay as rooms became available. This really is the place to be.

An insanely central location, we spent a total of 5 weeks there with no car, and no quad, simply walking everywhere and occasionally using the bikes. Within a minute or two's walk, we could be at several great restaurants, grocery stores, fruit shops, surf shops, the french bakery, the Italian food joint, sodas, yoga classes, etc.

Then you add on the fact that the other visitors there were always friendly and from interesting locations (USA, Canada, Poland, Holland, France, Brazil, Germany, United Kingdom, Switzerland) there were always interesting conversations around shared kitchen area.

No doubt that when we return to Playa Santa Teresa, Melanie at the Meli Melo will be the first (and probably only) person we reach out to in order to secure our accommodations! Thank you so much for everything Melanie!

And Fred... Thanks a ton for the surf lessons. Both our surfing skills have been enhanced thanks to your expert help...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanieandmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here last January and came back again the year for ten days. We had one of the rooms in the back which was so nice and private. The rooms are so clean and nice, the air conditioning is great and the hot water showers were the best we had on our three-week trip. We loved having the kitchen to prepare some of our meals. It's nice to have the kitties and dogs around too. The dogs loved to follow us down to the beach and hang out with us which was kinda fun. . .we almost felt like we lived there! Melanie and Frederique are so nice and always willing to answer questions and help with anything. My husband had a surf lesson with Frederique and really enjoyed it. He did one last year too, and was able to actually get up and surf for the first time! We will be back for sure. Santa Teresa is our favorite place in Costa Rica, and we can't imagine staying anywhere other than Meli Melo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydiaB226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel was so lovely! The rooms were very clean, comfy mattresses, hanging out area, kitchen to use for cooking, refrigerator space and a great price! We loved it and hopefully we'll be returning :). The owners, Melanie and Fred and very nice and helpful. We rented ATVs to head over to Montezuma on Fred's recommendation and had an amazing time. Fred is also a great surf teacher for beginners!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 30 in Santa Teresa
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
#4 of 30 in Santa Teresa
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#1 of 30 in Santa Teresa
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Address: | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £43 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meli Melo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2 min walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bycicles free of charge...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and comfortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing