We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing private beach getaway! We can't wait to go back!”
Review of Playa Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Cielo
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing private beach getaway! We can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Playa Cielo was the perfect beach getaway vacation, I only wish we'd had more time there. We were traveling with our 2 yr old daughter, and the owners and staff treated us as though we were family, taking care of everything we could possibly need.
The casitas are so lovely and comfortable with beautiful eco-friendly finishes, canopy king bed, flat screen tv, and an awesome open roof shower. The design even has a wall that we put our daughter's crib behind, so we were separated from her. Each morning we were brought fresh fruit to eat on our terrace overlooking the lush grounds and the waves in the ocean. In the evening our toddler loved lying in the hammock with us, listening to all of the animals and watching the monkeys in the trees. We LOVED the pool which is super tot-friendly, in fact we had a hard time getting our kid to come out! The little pools that form in the coral on the beach as the tide goes out each day are just heavenly as well. There are several great restaurants nearby that we tried, and we were also fortunate to get to test out some delicious items from their new beachfront Mexican restaurant, which features free range meats. The ceviche, chunky guacamole and tangy chicken burritos were supper yummy! There are so many things to do in the region, but we were content just to mostly stay around the beach and relax. Even with our 2 yr old, the scenery and surroundings somehow still made the vacation seem romantic. The location is great. I walked along the street to food shop, yoga, restaurants, bakery. If you're looking for the comforts of home in a luxury private beach setting with wonderful people taking care of you, then this is your place! Thanks so much Adele, Sol, family and staff. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaCieloResort, Owner at Playa Cielo, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
We can not wait to have you and your family back!
We truly enjoyed having you all as our guests.
Thank you and come back soon.
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    15
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
63
129
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Currently on my ninth day of staying at Playas Cielo. Everything exceeded my expectations. When you walk from your bungalow to the beach, you may want to accidentally fall into the pool on the way. Because it is right there you know. Then walk on the beach for hours, if you like. Every part of a Costa Rican vacation can be experienced here. Zip lining, ATVs, surfing, waterfalls, beaches, etc. ,etc. All in the comfort of luxury at Playa Ceilo.
I kind of don't want to tell everybody this because I'd like to keep it to myself. But it is too special for that.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoney91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My wife Sarah and I stayed here for a week honeymoon after our wedding and were stunned by the beauty of the property and the care of the staff. Sol and Adele have made their dreams come true by opening this piece of Heaven in Costa Rica and in turn made our dreams come true. The Bungalows are clean and laid out perfectly including a kitchenette and all of the luxuries of home like air conditioning. The bathroom was amazing with the roofless shower which is a wonderful touch. The doors open wide so you can take in the ocean from laying in bed. There are 2 hammocks on the porch which was also a great place to relax. The property is impeccable thanks to Porfilio the groundskeeper and security. Also, the house dog Bambi kept an eye on things as well. Ette helped us coordinate all of the activities such as Canopy (zipline) Tours, renting an ATV, Sport fishing, Horseback ride through the mountains and the beach. There are plenty of great places to eat around and the food was amazing. We are definately coming back as soon as we can for a slice of paradise and to see our new friends who happen to be the owners. I can not say enough about Playa Cielo except stop looking around and book NOW!! Everything about

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocala_Brett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaCieloResort, Owner at Playa Cielo, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Brett & Sara,
Part of what makes our place paradise are the wonderful guests (like yourselves) who are such a pleasure to have and get to know.
We can't wait to see you both again.
Many thanks,
Adele & Shlomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Sol and Adele take pride in their property and make everything special and beautiful. We enjoyed our stay immensey. The villas are fully equipped and comfortable. The staff are helpful and go beyond to make you feel welcome and taken care of. Love the beachfront villas that were private, quiet and relaxing. One of the best stays in Costa Rica. Will return to Playa Cielo!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeAndC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaCieloResort, Owner at Playa Cielo, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Connie,
It was a great pleasure having the two of you stay with us and being able to share our bit of paradise.
We look forward to having you both back!
Gracias!
Adele & Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Playa Cielo for the first 5 nights of our honeymoon. It was absolutely blissful. The bungalow was airy, clean, unique and the view was stunning. It has air conditioning, internet, cable and an adorable little kitchen that has everything you need. The king size bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. We could lie there and watch the sun set over the pool and ocean and in the morning open our curtain to watch the world wake up. There was nothing more serene, a place of true bliss. You have privacy and yet easy access to the town and your in walking distance of the grocery store and great restaurants and stores. Adele & Sol and all the staff are incredible people that are worth meeting. They have put their hearts into this place and it really shows. The grounds are clean and they have people watching the property so you always feel secure. But that is just the beginning of what Playa Cielo has to offer. The ocean waves and the feeling of the warm sun at Santa Teresa make this place a piece of paradise. We fell more in love with one another and the entire area- we didnt want to leave. The place is cleaned everyday with fresh fruit in the morning that you can eat leisurely watching the sun play on the waves. If you are lucky enough to stay in this place you will never regret it. They are putting in a Mexican Restaurant right on the beach that should be open in a week in a half. We got to watch them put a bunch of it together and Sol really let his style go. It is going to be beautiful and I just know that the food is going to be unforgettable. Adele & Sol made the beginning of our honeymoon. My husband and I were married on the beach and then stayed near by for our honeymoon and the whole area of Santa Teresa has a place in our hearts so deeply rooted we just know it has become a part of our lives- as the place seems to have done with most people lucky enough to live in the area. We cannot wait to be back without a doubt we will be back to stay at Playa Cielo and we are even excited to see Adele & Sol who have a special place in our heart :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect but the bungalow we were in was the front with the BEST view. Either way y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ema C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaCieloResort, Owner at Playa Cielo, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Dearest Emily & Ross,
We are so thrilled to have had met the two of you and to have had you as our guests. To be able to share in your special honeymoon experience means so much to us.
We thank you from the bottom of our hearts and really look forward to having you as our guests again.
Pura Vida!
Adele & Shlomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

After 6 hours of traveling to get to Santa Teresa, my boyfriend and I were completely exhausted. The roads into town were terrible so it was far from a pleasant drive. We couldn't wait to get to our hotel. Upon arrival I was warmly greeted by Sol who immediately handed me the keys to our bungalow. No drawn out check-in process, no hassle. It couldn't have been more perfect!! The bungalow was fabulous. The website had amazing pictures and I'm always skeptical of how it will actually look in person. Do not worry about it at Playa Cielo! The grounds are beautiful and everything is just as it looks in pictures. Before arriving to Santa Teresa, we had been in Arenal doing adventurous activities every day, so we were ready to wind down. This was the perfect hotel to do so. With only 3 bungalows on site, you have a lot of privacy, which is very important to us. We rented ATVs because it was much easier and enjoyable to get around that way. We took the ATV to the Montezuma waterfalls, which we had a blast doing. Other than that, we walked along the beach and just relaxed on the property. The staff on site was great. When we arrived the shower head had no water pressure. Once the request was put in, it was fixed within the next hour. They were constantly cleaning the property and you felt really safe there. It was my first time in Santa Teresa and I am so glad I booked it here. We checked out a couple of the other hotels that I saw on TA (out of curiousity) and this place beats every other hotel by far. The only thing that I saw as a down side is the continental breakfast. There is no restaurant on site and all we got was a plate with fruits. I was told that there would be croissants, etc. Fruits do not fill me up so each morning we had to get up and leave the property to go eat anytime. It'd be nice to not have to look for a place to eat for each meal, but it wasn't a huge deal. I would love to come back and rent out all 3 bungalows with friends! You MUST stay here when you travel to Santa Teresa!!! Thank you Sol for such wonderful accomodations. Your family is very lovely!

Room Tip: The two front bungalows have unobstructed views of the ocean. Definitely get either one of those if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MONIQUE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaCieloResort, Owner at Playa Cielo, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Hi Monique ,

Thank you for staying with us at PlayaCielo.
It was our pleasure sharing our little piece of heaven.
We would love to see you again soon.
PS, sorry about the croissants, the bakery was closed during your stay.
We will have our hotel beachfront restaurant/bar open to serve our clients ,in two weeks.
Pura Vida
Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were lucky enough to be told about Playa Cielo from friends as we planned our trip to Costa Rica. Having just returned we can honestly say that we spent a week in paradise. Playa Cielo is not your typical "hotel". It's more like renting a private house with your own private beach. The surroundings are beautiful, the accomodations are gorgeous and the staff at Playa Cielo are all very helpful and welcoming. There are a number of activities available to guests including horseback riding and day trips, but our favorite activity was lounging by the pool or the ocean and just decompressing. Our room was beyond comfortable and included a kitchen area and an outdoor shower. The grounds contain a number of hammocks for lounging and taking in the beautiful views. All in all, Playa Cielo is a great place to go to get away from the everyday routine and experience the beauty and serenity of this ocean front corner of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JocelynT212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
2.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Property: Playa Cielo
Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, luxurious private villas, each with an open sky shower, a kitchenette and outdoor sitting area, tucked in a lush tropic garden. Outdoor, beachfront chemical-free swimming pool with lounge chairs and hammocks on the beach, for the utmost relaxing atmosphere and the best sunset view. Restaurant onsite. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing