We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Cielo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lucero Surf Retreats(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buenos Aires(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Funky Monkey Lodge(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casas de Soleil(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
244
16
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
16
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningoutdoor showerfresh fruit deliveredlobster tacoscosta ricagorgeous groundsbeachfront restaurantlocated stepssmall kitchenettethe king size bedlittle piece of paradiseguacamolebeach locationour honeymoonwatch the sunsettide poolslocation is amazing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My family of four spent Thanksgiving 2011 at Playa Cielo. This property is gorgeous! We stayed in one villa and had plenty of room and felt very safe. We especially loved the outdoor shower, hammocks, fresh fruit and rolls in the morning. Our stay there could not have been better. The owners, Adele and Sol, are so accomodating and helpful with activities and restaurant suggestions. We also loved thier adorable daughters and dogs. Everyone who works there makes you feel welcome. My son surfs and he was able to take a short walk to a great spot. We spent hours exploring the beach, but there are many other activities to keep you busy if you want to do more like zip lines, horseback riding, and surf lessons. We will be back! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina15_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I recently spent the week before Christmas at Paya Cielo. The bungalows were perfect. We spent a fair amount of time just lounging around on the patio in the hammocks and seating area either before or after the days activities. While there we did zip-lining in Montezuma, horse back riding, surf lessons etc.all arranged by the hotel. We also managed to sample a fair amount of places to eat in town as well as Playa Cielo's new restaurant.

We had a great time and will certainly be back. I am a little bit picky about accommodation but would recommend this without hesitation.

Room Tip: All three looked excellent!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloverGjertsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

After spending a few nights at Nayara, an exquisite hotel in Arenal, my husband and I figured our accommodations for the remainder of our trip in Costa Rica could only go down hill. This couldn't be farther from the truth. Playa Cielo truly holds its own. The perfectly luxurious and beautifully appointed casitas, gorgeous grounds, ocean views from every inch of the property and its friendly, warm and down to earth staff made this the perfect place to stay. From the high thread count linens to the beautiful furniture, everything looked and felt brand new and was immaculately clean. We woke up every morning to a plate of the most delicious pineapple and watermelon waiting at our Casita. My husband, who is never truly away from the office, was thrilled to have internet access from our room and enjoyed working from the cozy couch and hammocks on our front porch. The property is on a beautiful stretch of beach. This is a plus, as many of the other nicer properties are on rocky beaches. Town is just steps away, where there is no shortage of great restaurants. Our favorite places to eat were Ginger and Brisas del Mar for breakfast (get the french toast), Florblanca for lunch and Brisas del Mar and Al Chile Viola for dinner. Playa Cielo is a great find. Many thanks to the owners, Adele and Shlomi for building the perfect refuge and for your incredibly warm hospitality.

Room Tip: Though two of the three casitas are a few steps closer to the beach, the third casita still has an ocean view and offers even more privacy. Either way, you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We were unofficially on our honeymoon and what a truly luxurious romantic stay. Better than the website pics. The owners were cool people and it was a pleasure to meet them as well. How can beautiful, oceanfront private bungalows perfectly decorated with big gorgeous terraces ever go wrong? The answer is never!

Sunsets by the pool, relaxing mornings on the terrace, and swimming in the ocean. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

If when you close your eyes in the midst of your harried work week, do you dream of white sand beaches, coconuts swaying in the breeze, a cozy infinity pool with an ocean view, a hammock outside your luxury cabana and an outdoor shower complete with starry-night view? If so, you'll love Playa Cielo.

Adele & Shlomi, the owners and hosts, have created a private-feeling get away in the midst of relatively bustling but removed & relaxed Santa Teresa.

The cabanas are new and have flat screen tvs, a giant comfy bed with billowing white canopy, a private outdoor shower, and a coach/bed for an extra guest. When electricity inevitably goes out in Santa Teresa (once or twice during our weekly stay) you can light the countless candles in the room for a complete island get-away experience. There are several reasonable and excellent places to eat with in walking distance to Playa Cielo (Chicken Joes, Brisas Del Mar, etc.) or easy taxi ride (Mary's.)

We have been dreaming of returning to chill out along with our six year old (who also had a blast) ever since we visited last year, but this place is equally quiet and suited to couples in search of a get-away.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank find_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews