We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Malpias Costa Rica”
Review of Playa Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Cielo
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Our stay at Playa Cielo was pretty well perfect from top to bottom. The owners, Adele and Sol have put there hearts and souls into Playa Cielo and it shows in every conceivable way from the staff, the design of the villas, landscaping...etc. Pretty well every morning started out walking on the beach with our favorite dog Bambi, a small german shepherd owned by the grounds keeper Parfiddio. After our walk we would return to find our breakfast waiting for us on our patio, yummy:-) To our surprise Playa Cielo just opened a beach front restaurant, what more could you ask for. Location is very good as you are close to all the local shops including grocery stores which we hit very often to cook some of our own meals. ATV's is the way to go so explore explore explore but wear a bandana for the dusty roads. Thanks Plays Cielo

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

The new Habenero is some of the best mexican I have ever had. Had a great special of Lobster with Chipotle cream sauce, to die for. Staff and new Chef Gary and his wife Nikki make it so special as well. A must for great seafood with a fusion Mexican flare!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RP0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My family of four spent Thanksgiving 2011 at Playa Cielo. This property is gorgeous! We stayed in one villa and had plenty of room and felt very safe. We especially loved the outdoor shower, hammocks, fresh fruit and rolls in the morning. Our stay there could not have been better. The owners, Adele and Sol, are so accomodating and helpful with activities and restaurant suggestions. We also loved thier adorable daughters and dogs. Everyone who works there makes you feel welcome. My son surfs and he was able to take a short walk to a great spot. We spent hours exploring the beach, but there are many other activities to keep you busy if you want to do more like zip lines, horseback riding, and surf lessons. We will be back! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina15_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I recently spent the week before Christmas at Paya Cielo. The bungalows were perfect. We spent a fair amount of time just lounging around on the patio in the hammocks and seating area either before or after the days activities. While there we did zip-lining in Montezuma, horse back riding, surf lessons etc.all arranged by the hotel. We also managed to sample a fair amount of places to eat in town as well as Playa Cielo's new restaurant.

We had a great time and will certainly be back. I am a little bit picky about accommodation but would recommend this without hesitation.

Room Tip: All three looked excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloverGjertsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

After spending a few nights at Nayara, an exquisite hotel in Arenal, my husband and I figured our accommodations for the remainder of our trip in Costa Rica could only go down hill. This couldn't be farther from the truth. Playa Cielo truly holds its own. The perfectly luxurious and beautifully appointed casitas, gorgeous grounds, ocean views from every inch of the property and its friendly, warm and down to earth staff made this the perfect place to stay. From the high thread count linens to the beautiful furniture, everything looked and felt brand new and was immaculately clean. We woke up every morning to a plate of the most delicious pineapple and watermelon waiting at our Casita. My husband, who is never truly away from the office, was thrilled to have internet access from our room and enjoyed working from the cozy couch and hammocks on our front porch. The property is on a beautiful stretch of beach. This is a plus, as many of the other nicer properties are on rocky beaches. Town is just steps away, where there is no shortage of great restaurants. Our favorite places to eat were Ginger and Brisas del Mar for breakfast (get the french toast), Florblanca for lunch and Brisas del Mar and Al Chile Viola for dinner. Playa Cielo is a great find. Many thanks to the owners, Adele and Shlomi for building the perfect refuge and for your incredibly warm hospitality.

Room Tip: Though two of the three casitas are a few steps closer to the beach, the third casita still has an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We were unofficially on our honeymoon and what a truly luxurious romantic stay. Better than the website pics. The owners were cool people and it was a pleasure to meet them as well. How can beautiful, oceanfront private bungalows perfectly decorated with big gorgeous terraces ever go wrong? The answer is never!

Sunsets by the pool, relaxing mornings on the terrace, and swimming in the ocean. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

If when you close your eyes in the midst of your harried work week, do you dream of white sand beaches, coconuts swaying in the breeze, a cozy infinity pool with an ocean view, a hammock outside your luxury cabana and an outdoor shower complete with starry-night view? If so, you'll love Playa Cielo.

Adele & Shlomi, the owners and hosts, have created a private-feeling get away in the midst of relatively bustling but removed & relaxed Santa Teresa.

The cabanas are new and have flat screen tvs, a giant comfy bed with billowing white canopy, a private outdoor shower, and a coach/bed for an extra guest. When electricity inevitably goes out in Santa Teresa (once or twice during our weekly stay) you can light the countless candles in the room for a complete island get-away experience. There are several reasonable and excellent places to eat with in walking distance to Playa Cielo (Chicken Joes, Brisas Del Mar, etc.) or easy taxi ride (Mary's.)

We have been dreaming of returning to chill out along with our six year old (who also had a blast) ever since we visited last year, but this place is equally quiet and suited to couples in search of a get-away.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank find_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
581 reviews
2.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £96 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, luxurious private villas, each with an open sky shower, a kitchenette and outdoor sitting area, tucked in a lush tropic garden. Outdoor, beachfront chemical-free swimming pool with lounge chairs and hammocks on the beach, for the utmost relaxing atmosphere and the best sunset view. Restaurant onsite. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing