We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koji's

Koji's
Ranked #2 of 90 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great sushi, slightly more expensive than elsewhere but well worth it. The restaurant is very romantic, set back from the road in the jungle with candle light etc.. The signature rolls were delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank F-bear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    93
    28
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Way out of town for sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We thought we would give this place a try since we heard so many people tell us it was amazing. I thought the sushi was fresh and good. There was something about the cat lying on the dining table that made me uncomfortable but that is just the casual atmosphere in Santa Teresa. The place got pretty crowded for being far from ST town and in the season I am sure you need a reservation. I thought the place might be a little more upscale but it was pretty rustic and very much in line with Santa Teresa surfer vibe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank desertlover92004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrriffic sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

the koji name is synonymous with awesum steaks and super sushi just a stones throw from pranamar it was easy to access and enjoy, get a reservation, I'm feeling hungry just thinking about it

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What would the world be without sushi?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We are at Koji's opening night of their 2013 -14 season. It was great! The staffing was just getting into the swing of things so I'm sure they'll find their grove soon. The food was outstanding and of course, we ordered more than we could eat because we wanted to try so many of their fabulous dishes.
Well worth the reservation. Be prepared to spend $40-$50 per person especially if having alcohol.
A nice night out with great food and atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steveNjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Koji is a great sushi spot about 20 minutes north of Santa Teresa. The sushi is authentic and delicious (due to the fresh fish they catch that day). If you don't make a reservation you wont get in, and even if you do you probably will have to wait for a table. Don't be surprised if your dinner takes 5 hours. Try to breath in and enjoy the candle lit patio under the tropical trees. If you are from NYC or haven't had time to adjust to Costa Rica time, skip this place. You will be too annoyed by the service to enjoy the delicious meal. The sushi is inventive and oh so good. The menu doesn't change as much as you'd think, but it doesn't have to. We stayed in Santa Teresa for a month and came here every week.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koji's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Koji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing