We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another overpriced tourist trap”
Review of al chile viola

al chile viola
Ranked #9 of 91 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Al chile viola offers a great collection of incredible italian dishes prepared carefully by our italian chef Emiliano and served by his wife Luz.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another overpriced tourist trap”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I am Italian and after a few days in Costa Rica I was craving for a good plate of pasta. The Roman manager at my hotel highly recommended Al Chile Viola. I thought that a true Roman couldn't be wrong and headed down to this restaurant. After a few drinks and some nice appetizers served by a very attentive and friendly staff, my friend and I proceeded to order ravioli with pesto and tagliatelle with fresh tomato sauce. When the pastas arrived we were both appalled by the horrendous presentation and just how bad the pasta were. My tagliatelle were over cooked, all lumped together and the sauce had no taste at all. How difficult can it be to prepare a decent plate of pasta al pomodoro, evidently at AL Chile it's an impossible task. To make matters worse, at the time of the very expensive bill (this is Santa Teresa, not Madison Ave.), they refused to take my MasterCard, so I had to leave behind my driver's license and come back the next day with cash. If these pretentious places in the middle of nowhere want to really give a good service, they have to accept credit cards. Who wants to go out with cash? Do not recommend Al Chile Viola.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucabentivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    42
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A must!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Wow, we loved this place so much we went twice in the same week! The food is just fantastic, cooked beautifully with fresh, good quality ingredients. The restaurant also offers cocktails that are creative and fabulous (and very big!). And finally, the service was impeccable, the staff have been so friendly and accomodating. Luz and Emiliano have been fantastic.

all this in a lovely candle-lit surrounding with great music.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emilie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best options in ST”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is hands down one of the top 3 restaurants in Santa Teresa. Great service, cool ambiance, and a nice location on the quieter north end of town.
The cocktails are awesome, and the staff clearly makes an above average effort (miles above the ST average) to please customers and provide a good dining experience. I will keep coming back here!
Everything on the menu is good, the steaks and the mahi-mahi dishes are great options.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth checking out!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stopped by here on a whim while staying in he northern part of Santa Teresa, the seafood was done very well, the service was very attentive, and the deserts were excellent. This place is on the north end of the town, away from most of the noise of motorcycles and quads zipping along the road that you get in many of the places further south. I definitely plan on stopping by here on my next trip to the area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Surprisingly good Italian in the middle of Santa Teresa!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were skeptical but were quickly won over by their tuna carpaccio, which was fresh, delightfully dressed, and generously portioned. We then tried their pasta -- tagliatelle and lasagna -- and both came away satisfied. Their wine was nicely chilled and paired well with the food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed al chile viola also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to al chile viola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing