We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tropico Latino
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Break Surf Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Cielo(Santa Teresa)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buenos Aires(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
387
150
47
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
150
47
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspura vida adventuresbeach housecosta ricagreat spagarden viewbeachfront bungalowspa treatmentssurf campfacing the oceanprivate porchtropical paradisehotel groundsbeach chairsmal paisfront porchyoga studiogreat beach
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We recently had an amazing stay in the Beach House at Tropico Latino. Often you are disappointed as the resort is not as nice as the pictures. That is not the case here!! This place is gorgeous. We are two adult couple in our late 50's and we have traveled extensively. We all were in awe of the Beach House. It is set up perfect for two couples but has one additional unit on the ground floor plus two units upstairs so it would be great for a large group of adults. The kitchen had modern stainless steel applicances including a dishwasher. Everything in the unit is concrete...floor, counters, cabinets, bed frame...this makes it a little stark but quite functional.

My husband and I both had a massage. Mine was the full treatment with Maria and I have never had such a great scrub, wrap, facial & massage. His was just a massage with Nathan and he was also very pleased. We only ate at the restaurant once and it was very good even though the menu is rather limited. We prefer to explore the area and visit different restaurants. It is quite convenient to venture across the road to the grocery for lunch and breakfast items. We were a little disappointed as we visited in low season and many restaurants and shops were still closed. No night life at all that we could find. We did think it was a rather long way to get to Santa Teresa from San Jose. You should plan on an entire day for this venture. Great place for R & R.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoparMan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Trip dates: Oct 29-Nov 5, 2012.

This place is pretty, very well-situated, and the rooms are rather nice. The staff are uniformly super-friendly, helpful, and honest (thanks Hugo, Jaime, Junior, etc). This is high praise. Santa Theresa is an easy place to travel, and this is a downright pleasant place to park yourself for some R&R or a jumping-off spot for surfing or whatever.

The yoga platform is about as well situated as you could imagine, and I have to hand it to the people who set up this place for putting it in prime location, rather than some bungalow that could command a hefty fee. When we found that the shower did not work so well, someone was over in several minutes and fixed it. The restaurant was beautifully laid out in a teak-y rustic fashion, and the food was on the nicer side of standard. Wifi works well over the entire property, from what I've seen. AC was a nice addition... this place is humid.

Prices are on the slightly high side for the town, but this is no knock on the place; I found that the value was excellent. May be best for couples or families with kids, or a group of people who are looking for a swish crash-pad. This is not quite the hostel environment where you're meeting other travellers with any frequency. Of course, a friend and I arrived in the low season, so this may factor in.

In my view, you won't go wrong. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Beachfront and Garden View are nice (we stayed in both, don't ask). The Garden View rooms are nestled in back from a central path. They're kind of awesome, and I would not worry about not being "beach view" or whatever they call it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sncohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This place was absolutely amazing, and the staff were great! I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Mal Pais / Santa Teresa. The (room) prices are reasonable, and you really can't beat the location. A big thumbs up!!!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Easton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We spent the weekend at the beach house and had a great time. Location is the best. So many thing to do right in front of your house. The house is amazing and very confortable. The kids had a great time at the pool and jacuzzi.. The area offers many food and entertainment options for all ages. Make sure you visit hermosa beach, best place to learn surfing in the area. Look for Lolo a great teacher.

Marco, Hugo and the rest of Tropico Latino team, thank you very much. It was a great vacation for all my familly and freidns. Hope to go back very soon...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haehner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The hotel is located right on the beach which is beautiful, but the hotel itself is just okay at best. We stayed in a cabina closest to the beach which would have been wonderful except for the fact that you cannot open the windows as there is no screen or mosquito netting. So we paid a fortune to be close to the waves and couldn't listen to them without being eaten alive.

The front desk won't bargain AT ALL and they are fairly rude. The staff at the restaurant is also surly and obnoxious. They could definitely use some lessons in manners.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank funkyartmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews