We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yoga excellent Spa is super right on beachfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yoga excellent Spa is super right on beachfront”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The yoga teachers here are excellent! Karen Love is awesome! The guy also wonderful, everyone i had was superior. The spa stone rock massage is worth every penny with the best relaxing music that you can purchase. Hugo and Jamie at the front desk are very helpful in planning daily activities for you. The Bakery is the best place to eat in this tiny place. Gourmet food and coffee and desserts. Alex is the best tour guide in Santa Theresa so please ask Hugo and Jamie to find him for you, he is a great guy! SUP paddle boarding is a must and the guide Andy is wonderful, his wife is a SUP champion!

Room Tip: balcony ocean front room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 909Renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    137
    43
    20
    16
See reviews for
140
205
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved my stay. The rooms were beautiful and unique, the location was great, and the food was impeccable. If you want to stay somewhere where the staff makes a point to know your name and your story. It is a very special place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We will return to Hotel Tropico Latino as soon as we can. We have traveled to Costa Rica on three separate vacations and this is one place we did not want to leave. Why?
1. the friendliness of the staff. Simply Everyone! Thank you especially to Evelyn (but we will remember all of the servers, spa staff, and taxi drivers),
2. the yoga. Daniel was simply amazing. As he said, "Gratitude opens 100 doors!" More than 100 doors were opened for us in our one week stay. Yoga at 9:00 and 4:00 every day overlooking the ocean.
3. the rooms. our room was spacious, tucked down a wooded path with a large veranda where we sipped wine, played cards, watched amazing wildlife, and listened to monkeys. Are the rooms perfect--no. But it didn't matter one bit because everything else was. So if you are a perfectionist about the hottest water, the best flow of shower water then go away. we dont want you to spoil what is so beautiful about this place--including comfortable beds and pillows, refrigerators, coffee pot.
4. the proximity to the beach. we walked miles and miles on the long stretch of beach. Played with all the friendly beach dogs, watched sunrises and sunsets.
5. the food!!! the restaurant is simply amazing!
6. the grounds--perfectly kept, rustic, not overdone like some of the 5 star places we have stayed.
7. the spa treatments/staff. Listen to the waves crashing---in reality, not played on a cd. Expert, professional, tranquilo!
I could go on and on. We will return. No question. One of our best vacations ever because of our experience at Hotel Tropico Lantino. Muchas Gracias for el todo!!!!

Room Tip: Any room tucked away from the beach. Room 3, 4, 5 are halfway between the beach and the road--quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I never write a review-BUT I must in this case. We were in Costa Rica from July 26th to Aug 3rd and was very disappointed to the point of tears and trying to find a way to return back to the US within 24 hours of the start of our vacation. I had read about Santa Teresa and although that is not where we booked our vacation I figured if we could leave where we were and get to Santa Teresa I was sure we would have the vacation our family had desired. We hired a taxi and drove one hour to Santa Teresa the next morning after our arrival. We stopped in at Tropico Latino and we were greeted with a warm welcome. We told the lady in the office what had happened the previous 24 hours and how disappointed we were with Costa Rica and that this was not what we had expected by everything we had read about this country and the people. She discussed our options with us and they showed us around the resort and told us what they had to offer. Upon us leaving, we told her we would discuss this as a family and get back with her the next day when we had planned to check out at the previous place and either return back to the US or try another location in Costa Rica. We no more than made it back to the taxi that was waiting for us in the parking lot and all of us ( husband and 2 kids) knew this was where we wanted to spend our remaining days of vacation. We turned around and went right back in and booked our Bungalow. I don't have enough time or paper to finish this story other than to say " Tropico Latino" saved our vacation and made our trip to Santa Teresa one of the most memorable trips we have ever had. This is a wonderful resort and the location is superb for walking the town of Santa Teresa, relaxing on the beautiful beach and enjoying "true" Costa Rica lifestyle. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are clean, and the staff are amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyandTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We first reserved a beach front room, but as I kept looking at pictures I bean to get suspicious of "beach front" so I changed the reservation to a standard room. I am SO glad I did! I saved $300.00 and although situated further from the beach (which still was not more than 200 feet from the beach) there was not a beach front room as I had pictured when I was first shopping for rooms. The beach house set beside the hotel part and is private and on the beach. The hotel is located at the end of town which, again, is a relative term. Everything is within walking distance. And right across the street from the hotel is a well stocked general store. Everyone at the hotel was super nice and helpful -- as far as things to do, they have their "go to" guys. The hotel has security at the front gate. It was a great value and we enjoyed our time there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our week long stay at this hotel and would definately love to come back! The hotel is clean, perfect location, and staff very friendly and helpful! Thanks for a great vacation!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridagirl251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

You can't ask or a better location. Directly on the beach yet on the main road. We did not rent a car; grocery across the street, restaurants all walking distance. If you need ATV's-go with Pacific Dirt Road Adventures. (http://quadtourscostarica.com/) They are less expensive than the hotel-brand new Honda's. Not to mention, great for tours. We used them all week.

Pro's:
Size of rooms-perfect for a small family (2 bed villa)
Beach
Restaurant is excellent-steak was unreal and chicken salad sandwich to die for!
Location, location, location
Grounds are gorgeous-lush-jungle like
Staff-extremely friendly and helpful. Waiters in the restaurant were great!
Monkeys, Iguanas, wild horses on beach and the friendliest stray dogs! :)
Villa was secluded and quiet

Con's:
*Bedding is horrible-we stayed in the 2 bedroom/1bath villa. Beds are old and loud. Every bed made a noise when you barely touched it. We didn't sleep well at night. They need to use a mattress cover-sheets came off constantly and kids would wake up in the middle of night directly on mattress. Ugh.
*Cash Only for hotel portion-but you can use a CC for the spa and restaurant. I don't get it.
*Shower door needs replaced-pretty old and kept falling off hinges.
*Could add some hooks in the bathrooms to hang towels, etc.

I would still return as this is the most unique hotel. Rustic jungle setting- yet very clean and nice. There's something about it that makes you finally feel like you've left it all behind....hammocks on beach helped! There are just some little things that could make big impacts in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedgar0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Property: Hotel Tropico Latino
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing