We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodations were not as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Accommodations were not as advertised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We called ahead to confirm accommodations as we were part of a Surf Camp. We knew we needed WIFI to work remotely, Clean rooms w/ hot water and convenient place for drinks/snacks. During our stay, we did not have WIFI in our room until we complained each and every day/night as they had to continuously reset their router, power went out daily/nightly, there was no hot water in the rooms, and we had biting ants in the room. It was by far the most expensive location to have drinks/snacks. There are no laundry services on site. We ended up going to other resorts/restaurants for drinks and dinner. The drinks there were also poor quality. We were early in the season so the property and beach were not clean, but it is a beautiful/convenient location for surfing. It should be noted that there is no TV in rooms or bar which can be a challenge for sports fans!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltropicolatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not up to par. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit to Santa Teresa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    134
    42
    20
    16
See reviews for
137
198
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our two young children (4 and 7 at the time) and had a great time. The service at the hotel was very accommodating and the restaurant/bar areas were convenient as well. The pool was a hit for my kids and the beach was spitting distance from our room. We could hear the waves hitting the shoreline all night long.

We stayed in a bungalow that had a kitchen, large bathroom and two bedrooms (three beds). There was no television, but we didn't want one either! It was nice to get away from screen time. We at out probably once a day, sometimes twice. We tried to eat in at least once a day. Fresh eggs, avocados, bananas and yogurt were available at a small grocery store just on the other side of the road.

The location of the hotel is really great, too. We walked all over - beach side and town side.

We met a lot of really great people staying in the hotel. I loved this place too much not to give it 5 stars. I did bring my computer to try to get some work done, but the wifi wasn't available from where we were situated. I was able to pick up a connection in the pool area. I took the lack of wifi in my room as a sign to relax and have a glass of wine! So I did. The only other downside was the mattress in our room - it was pretty squeaky.

We went in August, which is quite rainy, but hardly an obstacle. My whole family loved this place. We'd love to go back. From the hotel we hiked, went horse back riding. A short ride away we surfed. A slightly longer taxi ride away we climbed water falls and went to Tortuga Island. I can't complain.

PS - Ladies, don't bring long sun dresses. They'll get trashed. It rains a lot! Short dresses, shorts, and swimming suits are all you'll need. Very very casual.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our honeymoon to Santa Teresa was amazing and Hotel Tropico Latino was a major factor in the experience! We purchased the honeymoon package, which included all meals at the fabulous restaurant Shambala, a couples massage and a massage and spa treatment for me, the bride. We purchased transportation from San Jose airport through the hotel and Gilberto, the driver, was ready to pick us up at the airport on time! I cannot say enough wonderful things about GIlberto!!!

Once we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with many "happy honeymoon" and "so glad you've arrived!" The staff was so, so kind.We stayed in the beachfront bungalow and it was a cozy space located extremely close to the sand. The waves were beautiful to listen to each night as we fell asleep. All of the activities we planned were easily accommodated by the staff and effortless on our end.

Most enjoyable was the location. The beach was stunning! The hotel is located in a lush area, adorned with beautiful landscape, animals and sandy beaches.

It's hard to summarize the experience and excellence of the hotel, but I cannot praise Hotel Tropico Latino and their staff enough. We will absolutely visit again! THANK YOU to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had wonderful time in Costa Rica, and Santa Teresa was worth every minute!
We traveled with 3 little children and stayed in Tropico latino. It was Great!

The best rooms they have are the bungalows. roomy and well maintained with a large balcony to spend some time. beautiful pool and very good service.

Few comments:

1) With kids - take the bungalows!! not the "casita" (old and dark) nor the "ocean front" (smaller and small balcony).

2) It was the only hotel I have ever been that does not give a full detailed bill. (restaurant and bar, how many nights etc.) Check the bill, we found over 100usd mistake.

I gave it 5 stars as at the bottom line: price, hotel, location it gave us an EXCELLENT experience. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Check bills, use mini bar to keep fruits and other foods for meals or in-beween. don't be afrai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week in October. The weather wasn't great as it was low season however the resort was great. The staff members were helpful and friendly and the food at the restaurant was delicious. Everywhere we went whether it was small and dinky or expensive the food was amazing! The room we stayed in had it's own hammock which was amazing and the room was huge! It had two king size beds, a singe bed, a mini fridge, and spacious bathroom. The beach had quite a bit of debris on it but the waves were big and the water was the perfect temperature. I attended a yoga class and the instructor was great. I would also suggest renting a four wheeler and exploring the island and visiting the waterfall!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Loved staying at the Tropico Latino for the first 2 nights of our road trip through Costa Rica. 3 adults one baby stayed very comfortably in a double room with a partition. The restaurant served good food, the pool area had just enough shade and the hammocks on the beach were a great touch. Very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Beach front bungalows are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikomaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Tropico Latino has a great location. The hotel consists of separate bungalows and it is right by the beach. The pool is also very nice, big and deep enough. The rooms are spacious. Bathroom was a bit tired, but clean and decent. The staff vas very accommodating as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Property: Hotel Tropico Latino
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing