We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Check-in smooth; garden bungalo very good; beach was beautiful; nice pool; restaurant very good; close to town. Went with a group and several people did yoga which was fantastic. Breakfast everyday was excellent; did a few lunches and dinners and they were excellent. Would have liked to get afternoon and evening appetizers with drinks at the bar.

Room Tip: Garden Bungalo large; nice front porch; did not like the ants in bungalo; toilet paper had to be put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregBurns2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great location right on the beach. Even the simpler standard rooms were quite nice. Loved the fresh tasty breakfasts. Very nice, helpful staff. Yoga classes were phenomenal. Daniel is an excellent instructor and the view of the beach just steps away from the open air yoga studio was unparalleled. There were always sunchairs and hammocks available under the palm trees. We spent many happy days lounging there. The pool is refreshing and clean. We saw many different places in Santa Teresa and Mal Pais, and you can't beat Tropico Latino for location, access to grocery store and restarants, and value. Plus the direct bus from San Jose stops right accross the street. I will definitely stay at Tropico Latino again on my next visit to this area. Another couple we met has been going there for 9 years and we can see why. Enjoy your stay! The only two funny things were that the transportation we reserved through them with another business didn't arrive on time. We waited a half hour and then decided to organize our transportation to Cabo Blanco on our own. And it's a small thing, but the shower is really lovely and roomy, but the shower head is right next to the wall and you have to plaster yourself next to the wall to get a shower. I will give them feedback on this. It seems easy enough to add an extender and make full use of the beautiful, roomy shower. Overall, we were very pleased with out stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_fromSeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We enjoyed our second stay at Hotel Tropico Latino. It is great they have a bar and spa on site and you are really in the middle of town. My spa treatment was excellent. This hotel is a great value plus has AC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

It´s a beautiful place!
The gardens, the pool, the beach. Everything is near. They have a lot of iguanas. The food of the restaurant was great!!! And there are a lot of good restaurant around (Try Zula... just across the street)
I loved the place.
The service though is not that good, we had to change room one night, and they didn´t offer much help (such as move our bags, or make an effort to have us the new room available the earlier they could...) But to be fair, the service at the restaurant is very good, is the person in charge of the reception who does´t offer mucho help... since it´s an hotel, and this are vacations, I think it will be nicer with more concern by her side.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Overall a very nice place to stay. A good location, convenient to groceries, restauraunts and other things. Very helpful and friendly staff. Beach was not too busy; could find a chair or lounger on beach if you wanted. The restauraunt was good. A variety of room types and all quite private.

Room Tip: prices vary with proximity to beach view and available sleeping space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyboyace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

How do the great folks at Tropico Latino do it? How do they make tropical garden surrounded bungalows, just a few paces from an exotic, magical, tropical beach … Take on such a feeling of Home for visitors?
It’s not just me. I hear the same words spoken by other visitors too, like “magical”, “home-away-from-home”,… and more often than not you don’t hear, the Staff referred to as “Housekeeper, Waiter, Gardener, Chef, or Office Manager”, ….. You hear guests happily refer to … “Melina”, “Arnoldo”, “Martin”, “Randy”, “Evelyn”. It’s always great to look back on a trip and see along with the places, … also faces.
Tropico, and the surrounding area is safe, friendly, with a touch of “peaceful adventure”. A female friend went with us this year who loves to walk. She walked alone with camera in hand, at least 10 miles every day, early morning, and past dark, exploring hills, beaches, the various small communities. She was amazed at how easy and comfortable she felt all the time.
I go for the surfing. I’ve never had less than great conditions. But this unique break attracts both first time beginners and experts from all over the world. The “inside” break is an easy little whitewater in waist deep warm waters. The outside gets anywhere from 6 feet the 12 foot waves …. Beautiful walls that break over sand. When the different skill levels occasionally mix in the water, I have never in my travels seen the exuberant fellowship exhibited here. It’s wonderful to see a “hard core” expert hoot on encouragement for a novice who has decided to try out the “big action”.
But Tropico is also one of the best places to take non-surfing partners along. With yoga classes available twice a day, therapeutic massage, skin and body care treatments, swimming pool, bar/restaurant … all in a tropical garden …. Wow. Oh yes AND …. The famous Tropico hammocks strung in a shady palm grove overlooking the surf. We’ve taken kids ranging from ages 7 to 11. Totally safe, no dangerous animals, snakes, etc. It amazes me every time, as to how much time the kids will spend just poking around and exploring. And nearby are Canopy Tours, Waterfall Hikes, Snorkeling, Fishing, Horseback Riding, ATVS, …. and more. Tropico has plenty of free wi-fi for keeping up with friends or business back home BUT (one of my favorite things about Tropico) No TV on the premises! I’ve known the House Keeper since she was working at the Tropico as teenager, so I leave my stuff all over the room, but there are room safes and 24 hour security on the grounds. The Office folks can, I’ve discovered, arrange just about anything and follow up on your questions or desired activities, to arrange it so it’s really a “no brainer” an easy easy event for you.
The Tropico Restaurant is fantastic. The Chef is truly an artist with presentation and tastes such a real experience every meal. And within walking distance is enough other really great restaurants, you could literally eat dinner at a different place every day for a month.
I find getting to know the international mix of Tropico guests fun (one couple from Sweden took us up on our invitation and visited us here in the States!). But it’s also easy to come, be quiet, and to yourself. No one pesters you for activities. There are guests I have spent a week around, and the only thing we shared was a smile and a friendly nod at the traditional sunset gatherings that goes along the beach each evening.
If you need to be constantly entertained, with “Club Med” activities, if you need to rock out at discos, or Pro Sports TV …. Don’t bother with the Tropico. It’s not for you.
If you like a mixture of exotic and peace, with adventure and great people, then the Tropico is as good as that gets. Their website is an extremely accurate representation of the place itself. But I don’t think words can do justice to the people who work at the Tropico. You will have to experience it yourself. They are a special group, skilled, conscientious, honest, and kind.
I have no connection with the Tropico other than as a Guest, and obviously a big fan of what they provide to travelers like myself.
But Just in case there is any doubt…. My name is Steven, I live in Maryland, and persons interested in my descriptions may call me at 443.235.1344

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBOLGIANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

After a very bumpy ride from the ferry on the other side of the peninsula, we finally arrived at this little slice of heaven. We were 2 couples from California and Sweden, in CR for the first time. Had dinner in the restaurant the first night, good food, good service, however, a little on the pricy side...Each couple had a bungalow style room with 2 queen beds, bath and porch, quite nice. The property is right off the dusty road, but once inside it's a nicely groomed "jungle", you hear the waves and the birds and the monkeys and just relax. We took the body massage and it was so nice laying there hearing the waves crash on the beach. Poolside/beach bar, lounge chairs and hammocks add to the relaxed feel. Staff is friendly, but be aware some charges are asked for in cash, but they will take a card if you ask. Probably OK for families, but wouldn't necessary recommend it since it seems more of an adult place to relax at and the surf is very strong. Lots of decent eateries in the neighborhood, but be careful walking on the road, its busy, dusty and very dark at night. Bring a flashlight. Very casual attire everywhere... Glad I didn't see any snakes though!

Room Tip: We liked the garden bungalows, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plumesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
2.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 27 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £49 - £772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing