We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and just relaxed. It is a yoga and surf camp, although, I didn't partake in either, I'm told both are outstanding. I did have a wonderful massage from Pina while relaxing to the sound of the waves out the window. Our room had great air conditioning and a lovely view of the ocean through the lush vegetation. The shower didn't exactly give a steady temperature but that didn't bother me, it is very hot outside so a lukewarm shower was perfect. The food in the restaurant was great and everyone on staff we spoke to was extremely friendly. This is NOT however a luxury resort area. Santa Teresa is not developed, most streets are not paved and you do need to know where to go and where to stay away from. So ask the hotel staff for recommendations. If you are looking for a plush 5 star resort, this is not it. But it is clean and safe, they have security roaming the grounds, and there are plenty of beach chairs and hammocks to lay and relax in. We didn't experience any crime while we were there, but we always kept our valuables in the in-room safe and only brought the cash we needed with us when we ventured out to restaurants. We were fortunate enough to have a friend who lives locally show us around. I recommend renting a quad or some type of transportation to get around to local restaurants, etc. The rooms are a little pricey compared to what you might get in a well developed area but it is priceless to feel completely unplugged. That being said, there is WiFi, it's not entirely stable but good enough to post a picture to Facebook, or send an email. Don't expect to be able to Facetime or Skype with it though. This is a place to simply relax. We didn't bring our children but it was a kid friendly resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach house, which are supposed to be a bit nicer but they don't have the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefaniLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I needed a relaxation time away from work. Our week visit to Tropico Latino put us on the beach at a wonderful resort. Just what we needed. We began each day having an early morning walk up an down the beach. The coastline here is so beautiful. We would sit at the beach and have breakfast at the Shambala restaurant at T.L. After some sun and reading, we may get in the ocean or hit the pool. Great lunches were available at Shambala Each afternoon was spent either at the spa getting a massage or other treatment: or we would attend the yoga class for some stretching on a deck right on the ocean. The dinners at Shambala were incredible. We did try a couple other restaurants, but are convinced that Shambala is the best in all of the Santa Teresa area. Randy the chef/manager of Shambala has put together a delicious consistent menu. The waiters at the restaurant were exceptional. The resort management continues to improve the experience at Tropico Latino. This was our second visit and we plan to come back as often as we can. The staff are so friendly and kind. I guess this is no longer my secret. Enjoy. Greg and Linda from Colorado, USA

Room Tip: There is not a bad room at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Such a lovely spot! The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating. Evelyn at the reception was most gracious and helped us out on many occasions - including unlocking our room safe twice- with a smile! We also needed help with one of the bed supports and it was done immediately!

The food was very good and the wait staff always greeted us with a smile and were most helpful and efficient.. The accommodations were what I would call Tropical rustic! Our room was clean and spacious and thank goodness the AC was working because it was very hot outside.

Lots of security around the hotel grounds - we were warned not to walk on the beach at night.

The spa staff wonderful - Ask for Mary, Nina or Nadia!!!!!

We were four of a group of 10 women participating in the Pura Vida Surf Camp! They were awesome. Josie was our hostess - she was great! Bret, Helen and Andy were the surf instructors and they were very thorough, patient, and always emphasized safety.

This is not a four star type of hotel but was perfect for what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We were close to the reception and restaurant and we liked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraStice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent 2 nights at Tropico Latino in Santa Teresa last week with my family. We were on a 1 week family vacation. This place was good and bad. Starting with the good : friendly staff, good AC in the room ( rooms 21 and 22), nice view of the beach, right on the beach, lizards, iguana (3 feet long ), good security and good food in the restaurant.
The bad:
1)the rip currents at the beach killed the son of a govt official while we were there
2) outside the hotel - significant crime - robbery at gunpoint, drugs, not safe!
3) Reception - open 7AM-8PM. No one to help you if you have a problem at 8:01PM
4) No phone in the room!!! Who/how do you call for any issues?
5) Brochure in the room states the water(sink/shower) comes from the town and is not recommended for drinking. "drink bottled water".
6) Small stuff- no tissues, no toilet paper holder, no soap in the soap dispenser...
7) IMPOSSIBLE to take a complete shower without running out of hot water. Middle of your shower, it turns cold.
8) You have to RENT a hairdryer is you need one. Lucky I don't have much hair on my head.
9) Door locks - they have these bizarre round rings rather than a handle. One family member got locked out on the balcony because the door locked behind him. They are also difficult to open and close.
10) Bill - the cost of our room included breakfast except the first day, the waiter told me drinks were not included. As we only drank coffee and nothing else, I was surprised by the $10 charge. The second day, a different waiter told me there was no charge for coffee. When I checked out, I had to argue with the manager about this issue. She finally, deleted it.
Overall, very mediocre, overpriced hotel on a nice beach. Would not return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahovagim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from our 3rd trip to Mal Pais/ST and our second stay with HTL. we are 7+ months pregnant so we played it really low key and had a true restful vacation. Thanks so much to the staff and grounds keepers at the hotel this place is top notch. Being our third consecutive year in the area (though this year we are a month earlier than usual because of the pending baby) and more in the middle of the tourist season. There was a definite seedy-ness present in town (especially after dark) that we hadn't noticed before but the hotel was very well guarded and our dawn to dark, late pregnancy schedule allowed us to enjoy the best and safest parts of the day! The local food/restaurant options continue to be a big draw for us (definitely self-classified as foodies) as well as simple access to groceries.

Room Tip: haven't had a bad room yet. Even the Garden View room closest to the road this year was perfectl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A few things for travelers to know:

1. Surf is some of the best in Central America. Un-crowded, consistent, many breaks and powerful. Beach is beautiful and on the doorstep. If your a serious surfer you have to try it.
2. Not cheap. Bungalows are a little expensive for what you get, even by US standards, but anyone going to Costa Rica should know that is pretty much the CR norm.
3. BE CAREFUL AT NIGHT. My wife was robbed at gunpoint (could have been avoided as she was walking the 100 yards up the beach to the Banana Restaurant at 8pm after dark to meet some friends). No matter what people say, there is a lot of crime in the area, its kind of seedy. Another guy was shot two nights earlier (a tourist, he lived, but it took an hour for police and ambo to arrive). Even a local restaurant owner said stay off the beach and of the street after dark. If you don't get robbed, all you see is the paradise during the day, and perfect sunsets, so it can be a little deceiving. The nearest police station is an hour drive, so no police presence anywhere.
4. Staff are awesome. After the incident, the manager was great, offered to drive to police station for us, they posted security around. Bar staff great, cleaning crew kept rooms cleaned. I saw the staff had daily group meetings, meaning they are running the place well.
5. Pool area clean, nice little setup, grounds are very cool and well kept.


All in all probably some of the best surf in Central America, and a good spot to stay if you don't mind spending a little more. Just be really careful, stay in-resort area after dark, take your valuables with you when you can. I would think twice about bringing my family there again, but good for couples and buddies looking for waves or sun. Would have rated it excellent, but you know the whole gun-in-the face thing......

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Rent any bungalow and have three buddies share it, good value then
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 491Garth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If the idea of having coconuts drop on to your roof and being awakened by howling monkeys appeals to you, (as it does for me!) then this is the place.

In all seriousness, the staff is friendly, efficient, and the property is lovely.

I had a phenomenal time here and am coming back later this year!

Room Tip: Check out the pictures first. Rooms vary. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
2.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 27 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £58 - £763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing