We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My new Home away from Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My new Home away from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The rooms are great, the staff members are INCREDIBLE - good people, good attitudes - so accommodating and always greeted us with a smile! I LOVE this hotel. The food is wonderful, the SPA is tranquil and the beach and surf was better than I could have imagined!! THANK YOU Hotel Tropico Latino for the memories! Can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPrimacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    122
    41
    20
    16
See reviews for
121
181
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have only positive things to say about Tropical Latino. The dishes prepared by the chef, Randy, were outstanding and also works of art. Each one seemed to top the one before. We thoroughly enjoyed the couples massage and facial (Nadia is the best!) My husband even took a yoga class with Daniel ! Arnaldo made our dinner on the beach unforgettable... white table cloth w/ beautiful local red flowers scattered around the table, candlelight, 2 burning torches, complimentary bottle of Italian wine, tuna carpaccio, sirloin steaks cooked to perfection. I didn't think anything would compare to our wedding on Santorini on May 9, 1999, but fifteen years later this certainly came close! The waitstaff could not be more attentive --- Marcos, Anthony, Andry made it difficult to say goodbye. We left calling them friends ... Arnaldo and Chef Randy,too !!! After my husband checked in he told me about Hugo that attended Worcester Academy (less than 30 minutes from our home). He and my husband became fast friends and we hope that one day he and his son, Diego, will come back to Massachusetts and stay with us at our home.That invitation is extended to you all ! I also want to mention Evelyn.Unfortunately, I did not meet her until we were checking out, but I just know that she played a large part in making our vacation as special as it was.Thank you so very much! Love, Michael and Linnea from Sterling, MA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linnea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I chose Tropico Latino as the venue for our wedding the first week of April 2014. We visited in 2013 and loved the property, the staff and of course, the beach. We brought a group of about 45 people to Santa Teresa and booked the entire property. There were only a couple minor maintenance issues that were handled promptly. The staff is extremely helpful and will resolve any issue you bring to them. Roberto, the hotel manager, is fantastic and will work to make your stay enjoyable.

The garden bungalows are great with plenty of room for 4 people comfortably. The beachfront bungalows are smaller than the garden type, but they are conveniently located near the beach, pool and restaurant. There is a two bedroom house on the property that is nice for a small family. It is more private, secluded and tucked back away from other room. The two bedroom house has a small kitchen, and there is a grocery store across the street from the hotel.

There are also two large houses on the property that can be rented entirely or on an individual room basis. The beach house has individual beach front rooms as well as the beach front studio. These rooms are spacious and the house is only 100 meters set back from the beach. The second house is the "White House" and has an infinity pool and a whirlpool. This house has the beachfront suite and beachfront superior rooms. The house is amazing. We spent most of our day laying by the pool having drinks, grabbing the boards and hitting the waves, and then coming back to the pool to relax. The individual rooms are great, and I highly recommend having a group of people rent the entire house. If you rent the entire house, you will have full shared access to the kitchen, and the pool will be your private little oasis. Regardless of what room you choose you will not be disappointed.

The hotel restaurant "Shambala" was wonderful. They catered our wedding and we could not have asked for anything more. The service was fantastic, the staff was very friendly and I highly recommend it. I will give a more complete review of the restaurant individually.

Santa Teresa/Mal Pais is a great little getaway. There are tons of restaurants and little shops, coffee houses and bakeries in town. You can rent a car if you have a family, or just rent ATV's to get around. The hotel has a full service concierge desk that can book/arrange any excursion offered in the area. The hotel also has a spa. I got a 60 minute deep tissue relaxation massage. It was amazing. One of the best massages I have ever had. We had multiple guests go to the spa for various services and everyone had a great experience.

We put a lot of trust into Hotel Tropico Latino to provide us with our destination wedding dream. We could not be happier with the service we received, and everyone who came to our wedding is planning on returning to this slice of paradise!

Room Tip: If booking a beachfront bungalow, ask for the one closest to the beach. In the white house, the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxanderson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Tropico Latino has a beautiful beach, awesome surf (my friends and I were there for a Pura Vida Surf Retreat). We found the staff to be pleasant, the food was very good and the rooms were large and clean. Unfortunately, our last night there we were mugged at gunpoint by two men. We were not even a hundred yards from the hotel. We had asked the staff if it was safe to walk on the beach to the banana bar not even 5 minutes away. Because the sun had just set, they told us that it should be fine. The police were unresponsive and sadly, for the town seem to do little to prevent these robberies from happening. The hotel would do well to post security beach side as well as the security they have at the road. Until the security issues are addressed I cannot recommend this as a safe place to stay- especially for women. We stayed there at the end of January 2014.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justmel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and just relaxed. It is a yoga and surf camp, although, I didn't partake in either, I'm told both are outstanding. I did have a wonderful massage from Pina while relaxing to the sound of the waves out the window. Our room had great air conditioning and a lovely view of the ocean through the lush vegetation. The shower didn't exactly give a steady temperature but that didn't bother me, it is very hot outside so a lukewarm shower was perfect. The food in the restaurant was great and everyone on staff we spoke to was extremely friendly. This is NOT however a luxury resort area. Santa Teresa is not developed, most streets are not paved and you do need to know where to go and where to stay away from. So ask the hotel staff for recommendations. If you are looking for a plush 5 star resort, this is not it. But it is clean and safe, they have security roaming the grounds, and there are plenty of beach chairs and hammocks to lay and relax in. We didn't experience any crime while we were there, but we always kept our valuables in the in-room safe and only brought the cash we needed with us when we ventured out to restaurants. We were fortunate enough to have a friend who lives locally show us around. I recommend renting a quad or some type of transportation to get around to local restaurants, etc. The rooms are a little pricey compared to what you might get in a well developed area but it is priceless to feel completely unplugged. That being said, there is WiFi, it's not entirely stable but good enough to post a picture to Facebook, or send an email. Don't expect to be able to Facetime or Skype with it though. This is a place to simply relax. We didn't bring our children but it was a kid friendly resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach house, which are supposed to be a bit nicer but they don't have the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefaniLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I needed a relaxation time away from work. Our week visit to Tropico Latino put us on the beach at a wonderful resort. Just what we needed. We began each day having an early morning walk up an down the beach. The coastline here is so beautiful. We would sit at the beach and have breakfast at the Shambala restaurant at T.L. After some sun and reading, we may get in the ocean or hit the pool. Great lunches were available at Shambala Each afternoon was spent either at the spa getting a massage or other treatment: or we would attend the yoga class for some stretching on a deck right on the ocean. The dinners at Shambala were incredible. We did try a couple other restaurants, but are convinced that Shambala is the best in all of the Santa Teresa area. Randy the chef/manager of Shambala has put together a delicious consistent menu. The waiters at the restaurant were exceptional. The resort management continues to improve the experience at Tropico Latino. This was our second visit and we plan to come back as often as we can. The staff are so friendly and kind. I guess this is no longer my secret. Enjoy. Greg and Linda from Colorado, USA

Room Tip: There is not a bad room at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Such a lovely spot! The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating. Evelyn at the reception was most gracious and helped us out on many occasions - including unlocking our room safe twice- with a smile! We also needed help with one of the bed supports and it was done immediately!

The food was very good and the wait staff always greeted us with a smile and were most helpful and efficient.. The accommodations were what I would call Tropical rustic! Our room was clean and spacious and thank goodness the AC was working because it was very hot outside.

Lots of security around the hotel grounds - we were warned not to walk on the beach at night.

The spa staff wonderful - Ask for Mary, Nina or Nadia!!!!!

We were four of a group of 10 women participating in the Pura Vida Surf Camp! They were awesome. Josie was our hostess - she was great! Bret, Helen and Andy were the surf instructors and they were very thorough, patient, and always emphasized safety.

This is not a four star type of hotel but was perfect for what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We were close to the reception and restaurant and we liked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraStice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#8 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.2 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Property: Hotel Tropico Latino
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing