We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on our last trip to CR 7 years ago and were very happy with our cabin/hut and the service level. This time our cabin was larger, but much less nice. Perhaps we ought to be less uptight, but we did not like that there were saloon doors to the toilet! The beds creaked so much that I woke myself up turning over!
And above all, it was not clean, e.g. we found a dead cockroach (not small either) under our son's bed. The beds were made, but the floors not cleaned - I'd rather that it had been the other way around.
The restaurant was nice and the waiters made a great effort. They have a nice pool and unparalleled access to the beach, so it would be a real pity if they let standards slip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank labeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    138
    44
    20
    16
See reviews for
142
206
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Dimas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon.. We were looking for a hotel on the beach with a romantic feel. We booked with Expedia, which ended up being a mistake as what they called a beachfront bungalow was not. Thankfully the manager was sympathetic since it was our honeymoon and moved us to a nicer room for the last three nights we were there. The rooms are nice but not great and they lack the charm we were expecting for the price. The beach was beautiful and quiet but it was very rocky and not good for swimming so beware of that. The pool was great with a nice view and the restaurant at the hotel was very good. The staff were okay but not great for the price and they really were not all that accommodating. Two nights we were there and the power went out and they didn't even have candles or flashlights for us to use. When we asked the front desk for a light, she said they had some but were out of batteries and there was no one to go get any. Overall we had a nice time at the hotel and the area was a lot of fun with good restaurants, but I wouldn't necessarily go back to this hotel. We just expected a little more for the price. Oh and I would recommend that if you want to stay here you book directly with the hotel's website as they don't communicate with Expedia at all and you won't get what you are expecting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrumsTongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We came to this hotel for a friend's recommendation.
I don't know if the hotel changed administration and chef, because my perception is very different from some comments here...

What we liked: the service and the friendly staff. The location. One part of the restaurant is right at a stunning beach.

What could be better? : the maintenance. Our bathroom was outdated and the toilet was not working very well, the room was not as clean as I'd like to. We ate at the restaurant. I ordered a Thai Salad and they served me a warm salad with no dressing and hard chicken... no good...

So, if you are going to be at the beach all day, and have dinner in other fabulous restaurants in the area, you can come to this hotel. I won't be back...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cahuitacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great rooms with AC and your own little patio! Restaurant is great too! Amazing food, cocktails and the restaurant staff is top notch!
The only reason that this place didn't get 5 stars with me is because the beach right out front is full of rocks, no white sand unless you walk at least a mile to the right. Not too big of a deal but for me, I'm all about a beach. The best surf is to the right about a mile too. Great value for your own romantic cabana.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Tropico Latino offers a beach front location with a safe environment. Evelyn at the front desk was an immeasurable help with local information and in arranging activities(the ATV to Montezuma waterfalls was a great experience!!!) Our suite had us waking up to the surf on their restricted beach with just a short walk to a great restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in Cabin #8, which hotel staff admits is the best one! The porch faces the ocean and gives one an incredible view of the waves. The cabin was basic, but tropical, well maintained and clean. Great vanity and shower. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the monkeys and saw wild horses on the beach twice during our 3 night stay. Ate at least 1 breakfast, 1 lunch and 1 diner at the restaurant and food was good and not too expensive. Their signature cocktail the Tropical Latino was delicious. Service throughout our stay was exceptional. The way they have their furniture and hammocks set up on the beach, gives you lots of options for sun or shade. Although I did not participate in Yoga, I chatted with the instructor who really stressed his classes were for all levels. Lastly, Nadia in the spa was wonderful. Great massage and facial, moderately priced. If you are staying on property, they also give a 15% discount. I loved this place, but it isn't fancy, what it offers is a well maintained, tropical atmosphere with a fabulous staff who goes out of the way for their customers.

Room Tip: Request cabin 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamanole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is one of the few ideally located on the beachfront there.
However it apparently lacks maintenance.
Some rooms are huge and comfy all wood decorated but the outdated bathroom was disappointing with all the plumbery falling apart and no hot water in ours !
Too bad our A/C was so noisy we couldn't sleep to the sound of waves crashing just in front.
Our view from a sea-view room was blocked by vegetation.
Once top notch the hotel seems in bad need of gardeners, handymen and you're even greet with a sceptic tank overflow on your way to the room..
Beach could use a cleaning or two.
Staff however is nice but such a pity to let a nice place like that go down.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Property: Hotel Tropico Latino
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing