We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Florblanca Resort
Nearby Hotels
Nautilus Boutique Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacifica Surf Studios(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaima Chill House(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuego Lodge(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Break Surf Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$31
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$11
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Principe del Pacifico(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
285
39
18
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
39
18
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf houseflor blancaopen airnectar restauranthorseback ridingcosta ricaliving roomsushihowler monkeyscoconut crabyoga and pilatesother restaurants in the areacouples massagecanopy bedwalk minutesspa treatmentsthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I visited Florblanca in April 2014. Simply put, we had the best time ever. The staff, the grounds, the food and all the drinks we had were the best. Stefano is a great yoga instructor, we were lucky to have taken his class.

We were also glad to see the rain finally come while we were there. Hopefully, we'll be able to get a chance to come back very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffhancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

this little resort does however fight the dry spells when people call it a dust bowl but that my friend only occurs when you LEAVE the facilities, that is beyond its walls! Within lies a ZOO of nature. Whether you are in the " HUTS " or the " SURFSIDE " cottage, the ocean is 50 yards from you. Fine drinks and food are moments away. Hospitality abounds and language barriers are non-existent. From a five to thirty minute walk or a 4 wheeler trip to see the crocodiles or different displays of the beach and sand are a pleasure to seek. In addition you can be charmed by the little village of Montezuma a 15 minute ocean stroll away. PARADISE PURA VIDA

Room Tip: They are all magnificent, the surf side cottage is however my choice
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19,472,014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our second visit to Florblanca in the last four years, and we could not have been more pleased with everything that the resort and the employees offered and provided us during our stay. The hardest part was leaving but we plan to return very shortly.

A few thoughts.

The Concierge Staff
Booking our stay could not have been any easier. We completed the reservation form from the website and within a day Vanessa began corresponding with us. She, and Esteban, took care of all the details and provided very helpful hints on our travel. They helped book our intra-country flights and ensured that once we landed in San Jose we would be taken care of all the way to Florblanca. We left NY at 7AM and we were at the resort by 1PM.

The Villa & Grounds
We stayed in villa #5 (two bedroom towards the back of the resort). While we were closest to the road, traffic noise was very limited, never waking us up or distributing our time in the rooms. There is no ocean view from this villa, but it was very private.

The bedrooms are air conditioned (a MUST given the heat and humidity) and are well designed and decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. The second bedroom, upstairs, is very large, two twin beds and a day bed that is also very comfortable. The second bathroom is also upstairs with a large shower. Perfect for families.

The master bedroom is downstairs are very large with a good size closet. The bathroom, across the hall, is bigger than my first apartment. The bathroom is “outside” but with a large wall providing totally privacy. Probably the best rain shower ever. Nothing like taking a shower and seeing howler monkeys make their trek up the hill or back to their nests.

Yes there are ants and other insects - attracted to the water, but nothing that bothered any of us. The maids do an amazing job keeping the rooms clean and dry. They clean every bit of the villas – they were spotless every day.

The living room is very large, comfortable and surprisingly cool during the late afternoons. There is a kitchen sink with a small fridge that is well stocked and a dinning room table if you ever decide to eat in your room.

The patio and hammock are awesome, comfortable and private. It was special to start each morning watching the howler monkeys walking by in the trees. They were so close you see the babies on the mothers’ backs. So very cool.

The grounds of the resort are very well maintained and beautiful. The villas are mixed amongst the jungle so as to provide a ton of privacy. The pathways at night are lit making it easy to get around.

The pool, just off the beach and close to the restaurant, is well laid out and very relaxing. Perfect to sit around late afternoon with a drink watching the sunset over the ocean.

Nectar
Nectar, Florblanca’s restaurant, is so very beautiful, relaxing and the food is so fresh (fish caught that day) and so very good. While we were tempted to try other restaurants, we ate every meal at Nectar. The wait staff is very professional and nice. Yes, service may be slower, but you are never rushed allowing you to enjoy the meal/night at your own pace. Gaudelupe, Oscar and all the other staff get to know you, ask how the day was or what your plans are and provide good information on where to go, what to see, how to get around, etc. They could not have been nicer or more helpful.

All menus offer a lot of choices. For breakfast we loved the “Healthly Bowl” (fresh fruit, granola and yogurt) with homemade toast. The French toast is out of this world good so is the surfers’ burrito.

The salads, ceviche and fish tacos for lunch are very good and filling. But we really enjoyed the dinners. The calamari is the best we ever had and the salads made for great starters. It was hot during our stay and we could not resist having the sushi/crudo most nights. The sushi chef is very good and creative and would say very comparable to the best sushi spots in NYC, only the fish is fresher. The seared tuna is a must!

Explore their smoothies. They are fun, healthy and taste great. The “hydrate” and “indulge” were our favorites. The coconut waters were also very refreshing and nothing more fun drinking coconut water from a coconut (you won’t be able to buy coconut water back home ever again.)

Activities
The family loved the pilates class and yoga. The yoga classes were great and very much recommended. People seem to come from all around to take Stephano’s classes – one class and you understand why. But the yoga room cannot be beat – relaxing with amazing views of the ocean and grounds with cool breezes.

The spa is out of this world, beautifully designed, relaxing rooms and great therapists. The coconut scrub, facials and massages are out of this world. We saw that the spa was ranked one of the top spas in the world and we could not agree more.

There are two main beaches: Playa Santa Teresa and Playa Hermosa. Santa Teresa is a short walk to the left with a great surf break (heavy hollow waves) but is meant for more experienced surfers. Hermosa is to the right and perhaps a 15/20-minute walk. The break there is much friendlier with an outside break with long rides and an inside break where kids can learn to surf, boogie board or body surf. (Cyndi and Esteban were very helpful when we asked for a car to bring us there and back for quick surf trips). Hermosa is beyond this world beautiful especially at low tide. It is huge and great to explore.

We rented two boards from Kina surf shop. The hotel was good to help us pick them up and drop them off. The boards were in great shape and the Kina staff was helpful in explaining the tides and best spots.

The beach directly in front of the resort provides a great view and beautiful sunsets. But it is very rocky making it not safe to swim. However, at low tide tidal pools form that are refreshing and fun to explore and good for kids to play.

Dogs from the area and from the resorts roam the beaches. Do not be afraid of them. For whatever reason they are the happiest dogs around and love to come up and say hi. They may walk with you (as if they were your pet) for a few yards only to take off for another dog or family.

We cannot wait to go back and spend another week relaxing, being active and eating healthy. We highly recommend Florblanca to anyone wishing to experience Costa Rica and everything that it has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank avalonsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlorblancaManager, General Manager at Florblanca Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for your thorough review of Florblanca. I enjoyed reading your thoughts on all the amenities and services we offer.

We agree that Pilates and Yoga are at the top of the list of activities to enjoy here. We feel so grateful to be able to have beautiful places to practice and awesome instructors who truly love teaching.

It is great to hear you enjoyed all the variety on our menus. The healthy smoothies are a new edition to the bar, and our guests are really enjoying them this year. The "hydrate" is so good and very healthy. The seared tuna is a must for fish lovers, you are indeed right about that. Our sushi/crudo menu is full of the freshest fish and our sushi chef is the real deal. We agree....as good as NY!

Thank you thank you thank you for taking the time to write this. We look forward to having you back some day. In the meantime, wishing you very well.

Best Regards and Pura Vida,
Cody Dillon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Really nice resort with Spa, service and food are really excellent. Location is outstanding and great surfing spot. Perfect also just to relax and enjoy the thriving nature of Costa Rica. Rooms are large and furnished with style.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We travelled with my family of three children, my mom, my sister and her family of 4 in March and had the best trip! The hotel is beautiful, location is great and the staff are very kind. The pool area is great, very relaxing along. The hotel isn't very big, only 11 villas and the surf house. In March you definitely want AC in the bedrooms, so look for that in your lodging. We had to move to the surf house for a few days because we booked late and while the bedrooms are great (2.5) and the view amazing… the shower is pretty bad and should be improved. The actual villas are amazing, outdoor showers, AC bedrooms, wonderful outdoor lanai areas with hammocks .The foliage all around the villas makes it all seem very cozy….even when the monkeys are noisy in the mornings! The food was very good too! The surfer burrito in the morning is so good as are the fish tacos for lunch. The front desk was very helpful with anything we needed. We loved this hotel!

Room Tip: All the Villas are great.. number 5 is closet to the road (and farthest back from the beach)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie-RGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews