We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milarepa is terrific!”
Review of Milarepa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Milarepa
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Milarepa is terrific!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We've just returned from Santa Teresa where we stayed for 3 nights at Milarepa. The location is outstanding, there are only 4 bungalows, and everything within this tiny hotel is easy to reach - the beach, the restaurant, the pool, and an easy walk to other hotels down the beach. There is a wonderful feeling of belonging that sets in immediately. The bungalows are very simple, with no a/c, but that fits right in with the casualness of Santa Teresa in general. And, our bungalow had an incredible ocean view, and the pounding surf lulled us to sleep every night. But, the main reason we were in Santa Teresa was for our son's wedding and Milarepa was our venue for the rehearsal dinner. We had 100 guests dining poolside and Milarepa's staff was terrific. It looked gorgeous. A memorable evening for all. We would go back there in a heartbeat. Gail Young, Mount Pleasant, SC

Room Tip: Ask for one of the beachfront bungalows. Or the ocean view that's closer to the beach. the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailYoung107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    12
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winkler
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We didn't stay here for night, but came here every day (while we were in the area) for breakfast and some meals. Fabulous food! They have different items on the menu each day. I loved their beef wrap with sauce that they had the one day. The next day I was disappointed that they did not have it on the menu. The server found out and said that they would see if they had the ingredients. They ended up making it specially for us. While we were eating the one morning, someone came from the beach to say there was a whale close by. We all rushed to the beach to catch a glimpse of the whale's tail. Although we did not stay here for night, everything looked great and the prices are reasonable for this location. The location with the deserted beaches are what makes this place so very special. The sunsets alone are worth the trip to this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The food at the restaurant was very good. BUT, our server was not with the program. She ignored us for the most part. We had to ask repeatedly for everything. I ordered a margarita. When it finally arrived it was the worst drink I have ever had. Seriously. One sip, no more. The lady never even asked if it was OK givien the fact it sat through the entire lunch. After she handed us our check, she then said oh, should have asked if you would like anything else! There was also a price for our meal in US dollars as well as colones. If we had paid in US dollars, it would have been a true rip off. Anyway, service horrible. Luck of the draw perhaps. The food was great though. The surroundings are also very beautiful and enjoyable. If only our server had been!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catz9886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My husband wanted to wake up and throw a rock on the beach from our room...and this was the place to do it. There is not one bad thing I can say about our experience here...we wish we would have stayed longer. Noel, who worked for the hotel, was gracious enought to help teach my husband how to hand fish. He defiantly makes your experience at Milarepa a great one. The bungalows are unreal. They open fully to let in the fresh air and amazing sounds of the ocean. Not to mention, the outdoor shower was one of the coolest things I have seen and done thus far. The food at the restaurant is immaculate. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here and the southern French cuisine was a nice suprise. Highy recommend this place.

Room Tip: Beach front bungalow is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Motpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

From the moment we arrived til the moment we had to leave (very hard to...) the experience at Milarepa was unforgettable and perfect in every way. The bungalows are beautifully integrated into the environment and simple... they had the necessary to feel comfortable and relaxed. The open-air bathrooms are lovely. Jesica and Nawel (hope i'm spelling his name right) were both remarkable hosts, they made us feel at home and offered to help us in any way and gave us great tips for the area. We were supposed to stay one night, as we were travelling with no plans, and ended up staying three since we loved the ambience at the hotel and were delighted with the hosts. The dinner at Milarepa is absolutely delicious and fresh, chef Sebastian is a great cook and prepared fresh daily menus. We had the best tuna tartar and mahi mahi ever... Definitely a better choice than Florblanca's - Nectar restaurant which is overpriced, too "americanized" and not as chilled. I highly recommend Milarepa Hotel as it has 'only' 4 bungalows (more private), the staff are very friendly and efficient (Jesica and Nawel), and the meals are excellent. I must add that the price/quality of Milarepa in relation to other hotels is definitely better. It was an unforgettable experience and we hope to go back to Milarepa as soon as possible.

Room Tip: beach front bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MADgob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We booked a package trip to Cost Rica and spent 5 days and 4 nights at Milarepa. We had not idea what the hotel would be like but once we got there we fell in love. With only 4 bungalows you feel like a VIP. The bungalows are very nice, the open bathroom and canopy bed were quite special. We were just feet from the beach, going to sleep and waking up with the sound of the waves is something we will never forget. We are not used to humidity so the open air bungalow was a little warm, but the fan does help.

The staff was great, Linus, Maria and Eric were very friendly and the daily menus are great. We loved sushi night and the mojitos! The beaches are great and surfing was not far away. The hammocks and pool were also very nice. The staff is there to help arrange anything you need, we enjoyed the zip lines, surfing, massages, local restaurants and shopping. It is a special place.

I have traveled the world and usually say "been there done that", but Milarepa is a place I would like to return to someday. It was a great place to really unwind, forget about TV, cell phones and traffic...Pura Vida!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Closer to the beach the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I recently spent a week at Milarepa in Santa Teresa. The location is beautiful with plenty of deserted beaches to wander along. The hotel itself was very relaxing and the breakfasts were amazing. The bungalow we stayed in had great views of the beach. The best thing about this place are the friendly and helpful staff. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable and helped with anything from surf lessons to restaurant reservations. If you are looking for a relaxing break then I would recommend a stay at Milarepa.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 26 in Santa Teresa
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milarepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milarepa

Property: Milarepa
Address: Oceano Pacifico 101, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milarepa is located on beautiful beachfront property at the Northern End of Santa Teresa. Our 4 open air cabinas and restaurant are surrounded by tropical foliage. Our resident howler monkey's can be found in the mango trees above your cabina on any given day and the sounds and vibrations of the Pacific will rock you to bed at night. At low tide there are gorgeous natural tide pools located just in front of the properties and the sunsets are unforgettable daily event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milarepa Hotel Santa Teresa
Milarepa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing