We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Milarepa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Milarepa
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tropical Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed next door at the Red Palm Villas and our package included breakfast at the Milarepa Hotel and Restaurant. Everything was great, the food was exceptional, we had lunch here most days and dinner a few nights. The Mahi Mahi was the best fish I ever tasted and the chocolate tart is not to be shared, no matter how full you are, you can eat one by yourself.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamesK55197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    12
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We spent one night in this hotel while traveling the peninsula early July 2012 (start of rain season.) This hotel is located a bit away from the busy era of Santa Teresa and Malpais. Great friendly service and in a quiet little hotel of 4 bungalows. We had the beachfront bungalow #3, had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. This is not your typical accommodation: open roof bathroom, bamboo build, no sealed windows, net over bed to protect from mosquitoes at night... but this was perfect for us. We loved it. Our bungalow's front porch was overlooking the ocean. We left it wide open all night listening to the ocean and watching lightening and thunderstorm. We had a fabulous lighting show over the ocean during our dinner (+1.5hr) at their open air restaurant. Food was delicious. French tropical fusion prepare with local fresh produces, decent wine list.
After dinner, we went for a night walk before rain started. The beach is safe at night in this area. In the morning the howler monkeys were right above our bathroom watching us taking shower.
The hotel has free WiFi Internet access. A safe in the bungalow, there is a pool and no fitness room, but there are several activities that can be arrange or do on your own: swim, yoga, snorkeling, surf, boogie board, run, walk, etc.
I definitely recommend this hotel to any one who doesn't mind the open air accommodation.

Room Tip: Bungalow # 4 has best view but may be a bit less intimate as it is closer to beach. Bungalow #3 st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lajo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in March this year for 5 nights. We stayed in the back bungalow for the first 2 nights and then switched to a beachfront one. Both were great and we really enjoyed the experience of the ocean breezes coming in the big open doors. The back bungalow definitely provided more privacy but it's a small resort so there are not many people around. Our experience at the restaurant was always great. The food was always tasty and delicious and service was good too. She even made us her own sangria even though it was not on the menu. The sunsets at the beach were incredible, we even had a bonfire one evening. We can't wait to go back to Santa T and stay here again.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank gee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Perfect setting under a jungle canopy of vegetation abutting Santa Teresa beach, families of howling monkeys overhead dining on mangoes that they pull from trees, Small, boutique, charming with simply yet chic decor. The food is sensational, gourmet and fresh, prepared most evenings by Chef Sebastien and during the days by another lovely woman, it feels as if everything is home cooked (and, it is!). The staff is young and very helpful and pleasant. The owners, Philippe and Caroline are amazing, really cool and kind. The staff couldn't have made life there easier or more enjoyable. Oh, and Cristina the yoga instructor and masseuse is sensational, inspired. In all, a perfect spot with a phenomenal staff. Can't wait to go back!! Only issue is it's remoteness makes getting there from an international airport somewhat of a challenge-- small aircraft vs. auto/ferry/auto (however, the drive IS beautiful) and easy to hire a driver/car (Milarepa helps set that up too, with a terrific gentleman named Gilberto). A+++++++ !!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrScott911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed here many years ago. The beach was amazing, secluded. It was expensive then, but it was a very unique experience. The only negative thing i would say is the people running this place give a negative vibe of superiority and rudeness quite opposite to the spirit of warmth and hospitality. It is a shame because it is a great spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This place is amazing! I stayed here, somewhat on a whim, for 4 nights at the end of January, and left feeling that I had completely lucked out w/ my choice. The bungalows are simple, clean and open - everything you need and nothing you don't. The location is unbeatable, and the grounds open up to a beautiful and secluded beach that offers a spectacular sunset, which can be enjoyed from a hammock suspended between the palm trees. I found the staff to be an awesome group. Professional, welcoming and very friendly.... it would be difficult to spend any amount of time here and not feel both happy and relaxed. If you surf, definitely get out a couple days in with the staff! The food, as others mention, is reason enough to come here. It's a chalkboard menu and the plates are creative, cooked for a small group (only about 6 tables) and always fresh. I recommend opting for whatever the day's fresh fish. Will definitely be back.

Graham

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We only had dinner here as we were staying at a resort next door. The food was fantastic! This is a tiny restaurant with only 4 or 5 tables. I have never seen shrimp so big! It had a very elegant but laid back vibe, and most of the guests seemed very relaxed and happy. The service was attentive, but the meal could drag on for a couple of hours if you want it to, as most of the guests were just soaking up the atmosphere with wine and extra courses. My god, they made a pineapple/apple/banana crumble for dessert that was phenomenal!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milarepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milarepa

Property: Milarepa
Address: Oceano Pacifico 101, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milarepa is located on beautiful beachfront property at the Northern End of Santa Teresa. Our 4 open air cabinas and restaurant are surrounded by tropical foliage. Our resident howler monkey's can be found in the mango trees above your cabina on any given day and the sounds and vibrations of the Pacific will rock you to bed at night. At low tide there are gorgeous natural tide pools located just in front of the properties and the sunsets are unforgettable daily event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milarepa Hotel Santa Teresa
Milarepa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing