We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beach (GREAT Surfing)!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Hermosa

Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach (GREAT Surfing)!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I took our first surfing lesson at sunset one evening on this beach. Wide clear sand and perfect waves made for a great experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    79
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievably beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This long stretch of beach is wild and wonderful. Its a great surfing beach, for both beginners and serious surfers alike. We were there in green season, and it felt like we almost had the beach to ourselves. Its magnificent. There are no services on the beach at all, so you do need to come prepared with food, drinks, etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great beach off the beaten path!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Playa Hermosa is definitely off the beaten path and mostly visited by locals. This is a beautiful beach with rugged jungle scenery and plenty of monkeys in the overhead trees. The dirt parking lot is patrolled by security paid for by local residents. A few bamboo beach structures provides respite from rain or sun. Don't miss buying a refreshing coconut from one of the locals who will trim and cut it open for you. Straws not included, but who needs one!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KTErving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce City, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Beach with Awesome Sun Sets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a great beginners surf beach. There was nice shade with the trees and very little crowds. I would recommend the drive especially if you are in the Mal Pais/Santa Teresa area

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ericriewerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice beach area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Cool place. Took a surf lesson here and enjoyed it. Nice waves (not that I am very good). Empty when I got there at 8am but was picking up by 11am. Seemed like a good mix of locals and tourists.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Hermosa also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing