We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Pura Vida!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
JonnyBac
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly Pura Vida!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There's a reason why Calista is so highly rated by past guests, it's an amazingly well designed and kept bungalow, in the middle of an amazing town, and owned by an amazing couple. My wife and I stayed here on our Honeymoon and simply fell in love. You really can't beat falling asleep in the porch Hammock to the sound of the waves crashing 50 m away!

The bungalow is nicely decorated, clean, and well-cared for. As others have said, the ocean view from the porch is stunning, especially at sunset. It's also well situated in Santa Teresa. Everything is walkable, restaurants, surf school (go to Del Soul, Amit is the best instructor ever), organic veggies and groceries, including the Super Costa just up the road.

We had the liberty of meeting both the owners, Hanit and Schmulik. There are terrific hosts and were always there for us to answer questions, to set up some activities, or just to say hi. Hanit really went out of her way to help set up many of the activites we had planned for our trip: fishing, snorkeling, surfing, ATV rides, sunset massage.

Staying here certainly made our Honeymoon even more memorible. I would definitely recommend this bungalow for newly weds or anyone looking for a romantic and relaxing getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Falling asleep in the hammock
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBisval
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Beautiful location with fantastic host”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Calista bunglaows are located on a beautiful stretch of beach in the town of Santa Teresa. We were traveling with our 21-month-old daughter in Costa Rica for a month and our stay at Hanit's Calista bungalow could not have been a more perfect start to our vacation.
Firstly the location - absolutely idyllic. You wake up every morning feeling like you are on your own private beach and our little one was in heaven watching the monkey's, squirrels and iguanas that came to visit us daily at the property. If you are looking for tranquility, yet still within a stone's throw of all the amenities of Santa Teresa,you can't ask for more than this.
The bungalow itself is compact, but was beautifully decorated and had all we needed and the deck was perfect for spending our evenings star gazing and listening to the ocean.
The bungalow has a small kitchenette, which was big enough for us to prepare the ceviche we made from the red snapper purchased at the nearby Fisherman's Village.
Hanit is a wonderful host and from the moment we arrived was on hand to help make sure our stay was magical. She even delivered coffee to us on our first morning.
Along with her assistant Victoria, Hanit offered many tips to ensure we made the most of all that Santa Teresa has to offer.
Don't leave without asking for local masseuse Matias to come to the bungalow. Having a massage while watching the sun go down from the comfort of our deck, was one of the most memorable experiences of our stay in Costa Rica.
In short, if you get the chance, go, you won't be dissapointed.
Thanks Hanit, we hope we will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carman O
Centreville, Virginia
2 reviews
“Absolute paradise!”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I came to Calista for our honeymoon and it was absolute perfection! The bungalow is just off the main road but located right on the beach. We woke up every morning to the sound of the surf and birds. Once we were ready to venture out for the day there was plenty for us to do and see within walking distance - from restaurants, to swimming and surfing to just walking through the main part of town.

The bungalow is absolutely beautiful and is the perfect beach retreat. It has been built with comfort in mind and includes a double sink and shower, a comfortable bed with romantic sheer curtains, a small kitchenette that includes a refrigerator, hot plate, blender and coffee maker, a seaside hammock, sun chairs and a built in banquette table.

The owners Hanit and Shmulik are amazing hosts and made sure our stay was everything we wanted it to be. It is obvious they love what they do and want to make sure their guests enjoy their time in Santa Teresa and at Calista. They recommended different excursions and things to do around town which they will happily arrange for you. They answered all our questions before arriving and even arranged for a seaside massage on the porch followed by dinner with a chef that comes to the bungalow.

It was such an amazing time and we can't wait to visit again soon. Thank you for a memorable honeymoon and one of the best vacation spots we have visited!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dania Fad...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious Beachfront bungalow”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We wanted a last minute change of venue for our stay and the bungalows of Calista made our stay in Santa Theresa absolutely, PERFECT!
Away from the main road and right on the beach you feel like you have the best that Santa Theresa has to offer. The sounds of waves, the cool beach breezes and a bungalow that feels more like a five star hotel room.
The owner welcomed us and was available via phone at all times. Very prompt. I actually had to call since I forgot how to set up the safe and she was there in less than 10 minutes.
Santa Theresa has many lovely places to stay, but few actually have beach front views and access. Would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right on the beach
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfrikMiam...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had to search hard for some reason on Tripadvisor since this wonderful spot does not come up unless you type it inn properly. Anyway we were very amazed at not only the location but the class of this small beach villa. It was perfect for decompressing and laying back. I always have an agenda but my wife was amazed we did very little other than take in the spectacular beach and scenery in quaint Santa Teresa. You do not need much other than a bathing suit and flip flops. Everything you need is within 1000m from the villa. Dinner at Habeneros 200m down the beach and breakfast at La Sandwicheria another 200m up the dirt path.
Hanit and her husband provided a great boutique concerge service from massages to Surf Lessons
Everything was easy. We can't wait to get back to Pura Vida.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred V
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tropical hideaway in paradise with staff to meet your every need!”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This bungalow and surrounding area offers everything you need. From private relaxation chilling on your backyard beach to walking the town streets, surfing four wheeling etc...is area has it all. The staff here-Maju is fantastic. Always accessible to help with anything you need and a very long list of activities and events to coordinate for you. They are wonderful hosts and truly want you to have the best experience you can. We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location -right on the beach
Liked least: Not being able to keep large doors open at night -security reasons. We felt very safe though
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, comfort and peace”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our third trip to santa teresa. It's an easy place to fall in love with if you are so inclined. Our past experiences have been great, but were too child centric. This spot was perfection. Two villas. Total privacy. Beach at your door. An easy walk to several great eating spots and groceries. I do suggest getting a car, just so you can explore. I'd say this is best for the independent type traveller who doesn't need hand holding. Staff popped round daily and were available by email, but you are quite on your own (fine with me). Two small suggestions to management....consider adding a toaster/kettle to kitchen set up and also covered garbage in bathroom (some of you will get me here!). Otherwise perfect. Be back in a heartbeat :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing