We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A secret get-a-way in Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Main entrance and two balconies with ocean view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main entrance and two balconies with ocean view
View from the ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Main entrance and two balconies with ocean view
View from the ocean
distribution
kitchen
View from the kitchen
Bedroom
Room´s deck
Bedroom´s balcony
view of the surf
ocen view from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WintersR4...
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A secret get-a-way in Paradise”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The two main reasons to stay at Villa Jakal are the owners Axel and Martha. They can't do enough for you. They live on the property and they answer their email and requests while you're there immediately. We asked to rent bikes and 2 were delivered the next morning. We wanted to rent a quad, the rental guy was there to pick my husband up to take him to the rental place. AND he drove him home when we returned it. Axel picked us up at the van drop off point in Santa Teresa and stopped so we could buy groceries and charged half the price of a taxi! They even arranged for someone to pick us up and take us to the van drop off when we left because they weren't available. I could go on and on about how helpful they are.
As for the condo, you can tell from the price, it is not going to be a 3 star resort. It is basically a kitchen, bedroom, small bathroom. Certainly adequate for our needs. The stove is 2 burner propane, a full sized refrigerator, and utensils for two. There were no closets but Axel had made 4 hanging shelves in the bedroom that held all our things. The bed was comfortable with an overhead fan. There was air conditioning but we did not use it. There was a TV cable but we did not ask for a TV. They charge extra for electricity but don't worry, ours came to $14 for 10 days! Showers were warm with the typical Costa Rican water heater over the shower head. There were also shelves in the bathroom. I saw other complaints but we had no problem with the internet anywhere in the condo. The two small balconies overlooked the ocean. We were walking distance from the ocean. The condo is up a good sized hill but you will be glad it is. All roads are dirt and the dust is incredible at street level. We were above all that in the clean air where you could wake to the sound of the ocean, the howler monkeys and the birds. Manzanillo beach is calm water for swimming. Surfing is about 2 miles away at Playa Hermosa or 5 miles away at Playa Santa Teresa. The beaches must be undiscovered because nobody is there. Even at the surfer beaches there were about 30 people surfing. It is like having your own private beach! Would we go there again? In a heartbeat. Finally, thank you Axel and Martha for making our stay like visiting friends. We came as strangers but left as friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The dirt roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2015
Thanks you for such descriptive review, for your time and dedication on it, future guests and our team always learn from the feedbacks. You described our real status and this help our clients to have moderated expectations, in the level of this primitive area, best, Axel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2013
Tommy: thanks to give us the opportunity to be the host of this family reunion that meet here from places so distant as California and Honduras. If we had vacancy in the other bigger house we could make an upgrade for you, the 3 to be more comfortable, but was reserved because the hollidays brake. Also thanks for share the pictures about the wildlife and horse ride on the beach of the wildlife refuge. Hope to see you and your family again. Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
san rafael heredia
Reviewed 30 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Mar 2013
We are going to be excellent only if we can make you and your lovely family come again, for now we are just good enough.
Martha & Axel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bc
Reviewed 21 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Mar 2013
Well said that ¨nothing fancy¨, we do not treat the guest as kings, we just see them as our family. You and your lovely family will have always a space in our place, as you have it already in our hearts.
Martha & Axel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CR
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jan 2014
Gracias por tu recomendacion Rocio es muy util, hoy han llegado unos huespedes en un carro sencillo y bajo sin problemas.Para quienes quieran descansar, la casa esta a solo 150m de la playa y 500m a restaurantes o supermercados para quienes no deseen estar manejando alrededor o bicicletas para hacer ejercicio al tiempo que recorre el lugar. Siempre ofrecemos a los huespedes un seguimiento cuando vienen en camino y reporte del estado actual de las rutas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alajuela
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2013
Gracias Melissa por compartir tus comentarios con la comunidad Trip Advisor y para nosotros es una gran motivacion saber que lo han disfrutado. Cada check out es el desprendimiento de una parte nuestra que solo se vuelve a completar con su regreso.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Nicolas
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2005
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2013
Estimado Miguel: Nada ha cambiado desde tu visita, sigue siendo un lugar tranquilo, donde la paz y la cordialidad de los locales sigue siendo un tesoro bien guardado.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing