We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass up this place..... Took 40+ people here for dinner several times during our stay”
Review of Rocamar

Rocamar
Ranked #35 of 90 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't pass up this place..... Took 40+ people here for dinner several times during our stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I want to start by saying thank you to Gaston & his Crew. Me & My Wife were married on the Beach in Santa Teresa in May of 2013 & These guys provided us dinner service 4 nights while we were in town. We had a large group of 40 people & almost half of them vegan. I can honestly tell you these guys made did an amazing job taking care of us & making sure everyone in the group was taken care of. Not many places in town could pull of what Gaston's crew did for us & I can honestly tell you we are forever grateful. I'd recommend them for any kind of event & if you have the chance Family Day's on Sunday is a perfect way to spend an evening. They are situated right on the beach & the view & setting is AMAZING!!!! #PURAVIDA

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesParksTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, atmosphere, atmosphere!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Drinks are great, food is above average, service is totally fine, but what this place really has in spades is a great vibe. Comfortable seats/beds/hammocks to lounge in, a perfect view to watch the surfers and the sunset, and usually some great music.

Go on a Sunday for sunset and you'll probably start thinking of how you might be able to move to Santa Teresa permanently.

Family nights are last Sunday of every month, not to be missed (everyone's welcome).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sAFETY909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Really fun atmosphere with bon fire on the beach, aerial scarf dancers, fire hula hoop dancers and music! Food was good, but the atmosphere was really what made the night. Service was very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a night! Best entertainment in town!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I brought a large group here for our wedding on Sunday night from recommendation from a friend. I wasn't sure what to expect. While the food was decent (not many options and less even for the vegans in the group), the entertainment and ambiance was amazing! The service was excellent also. There was a bonfire, a fire dancer who was incredibly talented, and an aerial ropes dancer that enchanted us all. The group talked about it all week and it was a highlight of the trip. Take a group here on Sunday for an incredible experience! don't miss sunset!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CostaRimaJomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Not that the restaurant has a 5 star furniture etc. It is about the location and the vibe that's there.
A little bit rough on the edges.

We went there on a sunday, everybody gathering for sundown. A DJ played some nice tunes, and the people there looked local and expat to me, and using this spot to enjoy the view and catch up with eachother.
After some beers we checked the chalkboard for some food.

Simply said; the food was amazing!
The tuna breaded with sesame seeds was very well prepared.
All the others dishes that came by made everbody smile en enjoy the night.

A bit more expensive, depending your choice.

But, with the sundown, bonfire, dancing and chatting locals, kids and dogs playing around, the horses on the beach and logically the amazing food made this picture perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocamar also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rocamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing