We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio
Ranked #7 of 90 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Why Tapas? Converse, share, taste and enjoy.A fun way to understand Pura Vida through gastronomy.A sampling of the Mediterranean cuisine presented in small portions, made from scratch and prepared the traditional way, updated to modern times.Healthier, lighter, low fat recipes.We challenge your taste buds with the best selection of cheeses, hams, cold cuts with Designation of Origin, accompanied with wines and Cavas from outstanding wineries of our country.All our tapas are made using the freshest ingredients of the cattle ranches, farmers and fishermen of the area, thus contributing to the controlled growth of the economy of the local community. Helping sustainable fishing and organic farming of the area, with the utmost care for the environment.ENJOY PURA VIDA!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went to tapas el Rey a night after Alma and in our mind alma was better. Regardless this place is very nice. The service was great, the food was good and we had a great night overall. The food is indeed very Spanish and very close to authentic Spanish tapas. We missed some local interpretation and better use of local ingredients. The patatas bravas is a great example in my mind. Yes it is a tapa staple but with all these exciting fresh ingredients around you either don't serve it or make it a little different than what the serve in Barcelona. Obviously it is my 5 cents and if you are around definitely give this place a try. However in our mind Alma is a better spot and if you only have one night in Santa Teresa, definitely go there

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimados clientes,
Muchisimas gracias por su comentario nos agrada haber hecho de su cena algo agradable.
En cuanto al producto es todo pescado fresco de mal pais y verdura organica de la zona. Nuestro objetivo es contribuir con la economia de la zona ademas de ser un producto fantástico.
Si las patatas les recordaban a las de Barcelona creo que hemos logrado el objetivo de nuestro lugar...hacer que a miles de km de distancia la gente sienta la esencia de nuestra amada Barcelona por un instante con el producto de Costa Rica, que maravilla.
Compartimos nuestro agrado por Restaurante Alma, consideramos que es un Restaurante muy bueno al que nosotros también vamos, Santa Teresa es un pequeño lugar con Restaurantes exquisitos de cocina de todas partes del mundo.
Gracias de nuevo por su opinión y no duden en volver a visitarnos si regresan a Santa Teresa.
Un abrazo.
Vanessa y Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    40
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So friendly and tasty!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a wonderful evening at Tapas. We were welcomed and well taken care of by a very outgoing and competent spanish lady, and the dishes were delicious.
The trip at night to the restaurant is by itself a great adventure, with hundreds of crabs migrating from the beach to the land over the dirt road. Definitely a night to remember!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank michelg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
Gracias por sus palabras, que maravilla conseguir hacerles felices en su cena en nuestro Restaurante.
Ese es siempre nuestro objetivo.
Muchas gracias.
Un abrazo.
Vanessa y Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Superb!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Tuna and red snapper were excellent!! I'm typically not a tapas guy, but the food here is amazing!!! We enjoyed the ambiance and service was well attentive! !

Helpful?
Thank Motoshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks thanks thanks for your review.
We are sooo happy than you enjoy in our Restaurant.
Gracias,
Vanessa y Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tambor, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uninspired.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Firstly, it has to be said that the service was excellent. Nicest people. However the food was so basic and lacked any real yum factor. And the chicken (?) croquettes were the strangest item we had. Deep fried paste. It's too bad because the view is stunning, but overall I sadly have to give it a thumbs down.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elleintrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimada cliente,
Me apena mucho leer su opinion negativa respecto a la calidad de la comida tras recibir sus reiteradas felicitaciones durante el servicio.
En cuanto a las croquetas, como ya le explique, es una tapa tipica de nuestro pais, no son los nuggets de pollo que usted esperaba. La preparacion de la croqueta es distinta tal como le explique en persona y es una de las tapas preferidas por nuestros clientes.
Al ver que no le gustaron demasiado, las cancelamos de la cuenta con el fin de que no pagase algo de lo que no pudo disfrutar.
Como me comentaron usted y su esposo, fue su primera experiencia en un Restaurante español y tal vez hay texturas y sabores a los que usted no esta acostumbrada tratandose de una gastronomia distinta y nueva para su paladar.
Lamento que no fuesen de su agrado pero el resto tal como usted nos dijo era "yummy" y que volveria a probar el resto y esperamos que asi sea.
Gracias por elegirnos y esperamos que vuelvan a conocer mas platos de los que proponemos.
Reciba un cordial saludo.
Gracias de nuevo.
Vanessa Solano y Ramon Estol
Propietarios Restaurante Tapas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service and Dessert.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The trek to El Rey Patricio is somewhat of an adventure after dark - navigating through lot's of purple crabs crossing the street with our ATV was hilarious. Once we got there, the restaurant is beautiful. We didn't eat during sunset but I can only imagine how pretty the view must be.

The service is great, and our hostess was sweet and attentive. The tapas dinner however wasn't as remarkable as I'd expected. Perhaps it was an off-day, or perhaps my expectations were too high being that this restaurant was rated #1 in the area. I did enjoy the gazpacho and the manchego with tomato bread was quite tasty.The wine was very nice and the dessert, a molten volcano chocolate, made up for it. I'm glad we tried it, no regrets.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toronto18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Google Translation
Estimada cliente,
Gracias por elegir nuestro restaurante y por sus palabras agradables hacia el servicio ya que personalmente yo atendi su mesa de la mejor manera como hacemos siempre en nuestro pequeño y bonito lugar.
Lamento mucho que no fuesen de su agrado dos de las Tapas que ustedes mismos seleccionaron de nuestra amplia lista.
El queso Manchego es un queso curado de una region especifica que importamos de España tiene sabor potente que tal vez no sea del agrado de todos, lo acompañamos de pan casero con tomate y aceite de oliva y el gazpacho (plato tipico de andalucia) va elaborado y servido como en España yo siempre aconsejo no pedirlo si se desconoce ya que es una sopa fria de vegetales que no a todos agrada, pero ambas tapas son de primera calidad y de exquisito sabor.
Lamento muchisimo que sus expectativas fueran tan elevadas y no poder haber estado a la altura, ya que el Ranking lo deciden los clientes, nosotros siempre damos el mismo servicio y comida sin pretensiones.
Es una lastima que su puntuacion haya sido tan solo un regular habiendole gustado como usted mima remarca en su review nuestro local, el servicio, el vino, el resto de las tapas y el postre, tal vez el queso y el gazpacho no fueran una buena eleccion simplemente no una mala noche de nuestro Restaurante ni de la calidad del mismo.
Le invitamos, si vuelve a visitar Santa Teresa, a que nos visite de nuevo para poder sorprenderla con nuevos platos y pescados frescos, seguiremos trabajando diariamente para mejorar.
Gracias de nuevo por su visita y hasta pronto.
Vanessa Solano y Ramon Estol
Propietaria y chef Restaurante Tapas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing