We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible chef, excellent service!”

Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Why Tapas? Converse, share, taste and enjoy.A fun way to understand Pura Vida through gastronomy.A sampling of the Mediterranean cuisine presented in small portions, made from scratch and prepared the traditional way, updated to modern times.Healthier, lighter, low fat recipes.We challenge your taste buds with the best selection of cheeses, hams, cold cuts with Designation of Origin, accompanied with wines and Cavas from outstanding wineries of our country.All our tapas are made using the freshest ingredients of the cattle ranches, farmers and fishermen of the area, thus contributing to the controlled growth of the economy of the local community. Helping sustainable fishing and organic farming of the area, with the utmost care for the environment.ENJOY PURA VIDA!
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We loved our dinner here on our anniversary. Vanessa was such a fun and gracious co-owner and host! She put our bottle of champagne on ice while we took a pre-dinner walk to see the sunset on the beach in front of the restaurant. When we came back she had set up a pretty flower and some hand fans for us at our table. Ramon then proceeded with preparing us a fabulous meal. For tapas we had patas bravas (done the traditional way, the only way to have them!) and the specialty chorizo with garlic aioli that they have custom made for the restaurant. Both excellent. We dined on the mixed paella, which was one of the best paellas we've ever had. And then we somehow made room for dessert with molten chocolate cake and an insanely creative maracuya and mint foam that Ramon concocted with his foam machine. He's truly a fantastic chef and without a doubt professionally trained in Spain. They are such a great couple, we can't wait to see them when we go back!

Thank dallas-decko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014
Google Translation

Querida pareja,
Gracias por venir a compartir con nosotros una noche taaan especial.
Fue un placer conceros y hacer vuestra noche de aniversario inolvidable.
El proximo mes de abril espero poder veros ya que repiten Santa Teresa para su boda.
Felices de hacerles felices.
Gracias por vuestra palabras hacia nosotros y a nuestro Restaurante.
Un abrazo y hasta pronto.
Vanessa y Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went to tapas el Rey a night after Alma and in our mind alma was better. Regardless this place is very nice. The service was great, the food was good and we had a great night overall. The food is indeed very Spanish and very close to authentic Spanish tapas. We missed some local interpretation and better use of local ingredients. The patatas bravas is a great example in my mind. Yes it is a tapa staple but with all these exciting fresh ingredients around you either don't serve it or make it a little different than what the serve in Barcelona. Obviously it is my 5 cents and if you are around definitely give this place a try. However in our mind Alma is a better spot and if you only have one night in Santa Teresa, definitely go there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimados clientes,
Muchisimas gracias por su comentario nos agrada haber hecho de su cena algo agradable.
En cuanto al producto es todo pescado fresco de mal pais y verdura organica de la zona. Nuestro objetivo es contribuir con la economia de la zona ademas de ser un producto fantástico.
Si las patatas les recordaban a las de Barcelona creo que hemos logrado el objetivo de nuestro lugar...hacer que a miles de km de distancia la gente sienta la esencia de nuestra amada Barcelona por un instante con el producto de Costa Rica, que maravilla.
Compartimos nuestro agrado por Restaurante Alma, consideramos que es un Restaurante muy bueno al que nosotros también vamos, Santa Teresa es un pequeño lugar con Restaurantes exquisitos de cocina de todas partes del mundo.
Gracias de nuevo por su opinión y no duden en volver a visitarnos si regresan a Santa Teresa.
Un abrazo.
Vanessa y Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a wonderful evening at Tapas. We were welcomed and well taken care of by a very outgoing and competent spanish lady, and the dishes were delicious.
The trip at night to the restaurant is by itself a great adventure, with hundreds of crabs migrating from the beach to the land over the dirt road. Definitely a night to remember!

Thank michelg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,
Gracias por sus palabras, que maravilla conseguir hacerles felices en su cena en nuestro Restaurante.
Ese es siempre nuestro objetivo.
Muchas gracias.
Un abrazo.
Vanessa y Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Tuna and red snapper were excellent!! I'm typically not a tapas guy, but the food here is amazing!!! We enjoyed the ambiance and service was well attentive! !

Thank Motoshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thanks thanks thanks for your review.
We are sooo happy than you enjoy in our Restaurant.
Gracias,
Vanessa y Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Firstly, it has to be said that the service was excellent. Nicest people. However the food was so basic and lacked any real yum factor. And the chicken (?) croquettes were the strangest item we had. Deep fried paste. It's too bad because the view is stunning, but overall I sadly have to give it a thumbs down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elleintrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimada cliente,
Me apena mucho leer su opinion negativa respecto a la calidad de la comida tras recibir sus reiteradas felicitaciones durante el servicio.
En cuanto a las croquetas, como ya le explique, es una tapa tipica de nuestro pais, no son los nuggets de pollo que usted esperaba. La preparacion de la croqueta es distinta tal como le explique en persona y es una de las tapas preferidas por nuestros clientes.
Al ver que no le gustaron demasiado, las cancelamos de la cuenta con el fin de que no pagase algo de lo que no pudo disfrutar.
Como me comentaron usted y su esposo, fue su primera experiencia en un Restaurante español y tal vez hay texturas y sabores a los que usted no esta acostumbrada tratandose de una gastronomia distinta y nueva para su paladar.
Lamento que no fuesen de su agrado pero el resto tal como usted nos dijo era "yummy" y que volveria a probar el resto y esperamos que asi sea.
Gracias por elegirnos y esperamos que vuelvan a conocer mas platos de los que proponemos.
Reciba un cordial saludo.
Gracias de nuevo.
Vanessa Solano y Ramon Estol
Propietarios Restaurante Tapas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing