We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not the best in the area... and overpriced”
Review of Hotel Luz De Vida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Luz De Vida
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewed 11 December 2010

The pictures that we saw outside the hotel made us think it was a perfect spot. We felt taken for granted when we stayed there eventually. The quality of the beds was terrible, there were no mosquito nets so our daughter got her face eaten by mosquitoes during the night. The entire property was occupied by the owners' friends, and we felt unwelcomed hanging by the beach in the evening, as if we were barging in on a private party. The room was dirty, and very low quality. The breakfast was the only nice thing, with also the location. I will not stay there in my next stay in town. Oh, and the pool IS dirty, was cleaned only once when we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VBretonne35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2010

After much research, we ultimately decided to stay at Luz de Vida for our spring break family vacation. We were two families travelling with 4 kids between the ages of 6- 10 yrs old. Overall, we were happy with our choice. The location could not be beat. If you are not looking for a 4 star hotel experience, and want something a little different, this is for you. The resort is fairly small, with only about 8 bungalows and maybe 10 hotel rooms. The pool was great (especially because it was very hot when we were there!)and there is great access to the beach. The grounds are very tropical & well maintained. The beach area has several hammocks & lounge chairs to hang out in. There is also a small game room with a pool table, foos ball, & ping pong....which was a hit for our kids.

We stayed in a garden view bungalow. There were two twin beds downstairs and then a small loft with a queen bed. Overall, we found the bungalow to be simple and sufficient, but a little small. The air conditioning worked great, & the maids were very meticulous. The biggest downside was that we found the bed to be extremely uncomfortable. We were also able to hear the road traffic, which wasn't a huge deal, but a bit of a distraction ( The hotel rooms are even closer to the road).
We ate many times in the hotel restaurant & found the food to be fairly well priced and decent. We even celebrated my son's b-day there on our last night & the restaurant staff was very accomodating by letting us decorate & play a video on the big screen.

Our primary reason for choosing this area was for the surf, which did not disappoint. The boys got plenty of surf in & the waves were also perfect for the kids to swim, surf, & boogie board (the water was 86 degrees!). There are beautiful tidepools to explore as well. This stretch of beach is really quite beautiful.
We were in the Mal Pais area over "Holy Week," so there were a lot of local ticos that filled the beach & the hotel. You can buy a day pass at Luz de Vida. A few times we felt like we were in the middle of spring break! I don't think it's normally a problem.

We were able to walk to a few restaurants, but would still recommend a car. My husband and I stayed at Flor Blanca several years ago for our anniversary. It was perfect for just the two of us, but has also increased in price! I think we got the most for our money at Luz de Vida. We might consider renting a house next time, but overall would recommend this hotel to families/couples looking for great beach access & decent accomodations.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalena-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Santa Teresa/Mal pais was the 2nd stop in our trip of Costa Rica. First, I would like to say that Santa Teresa/Mal pais (the two areas are so small they kind of merge as one) is beautiful, peaceful and has a definte hippy vibe. Being from San Francisco my bf and I loved it. Beachfront hotels are scarce on the Nicoya pennisula and I found that Luz de Vida was the beachfront hotel that was more reasonable in price. We stayed in one of the poolside bungalows and while we enjoyed the private porch which was surround by lush greenery the room it self was okay. It was a little dingy (see pictures). But it worked and we were rarely in our room anyway. We spent most of our time on our porch or on the beach. The BEST part of this hotel is the beach location. It wasn't cluttered with tourists since the hotel itself is small but you could tell that it was where the locals were at. Each sunset was absolutely stunning swinging on one of the hamocks on the property. During our stay my bf did some surf lessons through Luz de Vida. Amid was the surf instructor and he was great! Very personable and my bf got up on the board on his first try! If you are looking for a beachfront hotel without breaking the bank while mingling with locals, Luz de Vida is the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fstauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The location is great but te pool was a little dirty and the room was unimpressive. There were ants everywhere and they invaded our toiletries and luggage. The bed was not comfortable and there were holes in the sheets. It did not feel clean and I never walked around with out my flip flops on, not even in the shower. The private sitting area in front of our bungalow with the hammock was nice but the traffic was loud. The room down te street (although 200mts from the beach) was 1/3 the price and WAY nicer. If the price was 1/2 what we paid (100$) it would be doable but you can hang out on the beach for free and that is really the est thing they have to offer. My advice: stay somewhere else and spend the extra money on a hammock that you can hang in one of the trees that line the whole area!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blawclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Very artfully and tastefully done. It's all about relaxation in the rainforest - no TVs. New construction and super-friendly owner and staff (Argentinians). The place is up above the dust (very important) and a short ways from the beaten path.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATV_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Definitely pay a little more for the bungalows - they are super charming and the location can't be beat. We loved sitting on our porch in the rocking chairs and lounging in the hammock while drinking Imperials from the fridge. Woke up to howler monkeys at night. This is one of the few hotels with beach access in Santa Teresa, and definitely one of the most affordable. Don't expect a lot of attention from the staff, but the rooms are super clean, charming and comfortable. Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puravida999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Luz de Vida was a fantastic find! Bungalows were charming and the location couldn't be beat. The resort has a rustic vibe that was exactly what I hoped for, and each bungalow had it's own porch with rocking chairs, hammock and clothesline. The pool was a great place to rinse of from the beach, which was a only a few meters away. Staff was helpful when requesting tours and info. The only people I wouldn't recommend it to are those who wish for homogenous, full service hotels with no personality.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margomadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#15 of 27 in Santa Teresa
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
584 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz De Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz De Vida

Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 02254, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £72 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 garden view rooms and 5 pool view bungalows, all of them equipped with a/c, phone, safe and hot water. We also have an international cuisine restaurant, a spa and pool. We have a nice kids area, and a volleyball field. We are a beautiful beachfront resort in a nice piece of paradise. Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Luz De Vida
Luz De Vida Hotel
Hotel Luz De Vida Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing