We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The apartments are fantastic!”
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Raratonga
Ranked #8 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Nothing fancy but everything you need. Cold a/c. Occasional Monkey show from the porch and a quick walk to the beautiful beach and surf spot. Nice pool. I recommend highly!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed here on my cr trip in may. It was one of the nicer places I stayed. It was quiet, visually appealing clean and the owner took pride in her business. They were friendly and helped arrange surf lessons and recommended other things to do. A must stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellermjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Raratonga for 2 weeks at the beginning of March and loved it.

We had an appartment with it's own kitchen which was very handy for making lunch breakfast and the odd dinner when we didn't feel like going out. It was very clean and well looked after and the cleaners gave the place a once over every day when we were out.

For a Surfer or beach lover it is ideal as the shore is just a 5 minute walk along a little path through the trees. This was nice as it meant you avoided the dusty road and got to say hi to the howler monkeys every morning.

The owners were great; very accommodating and welcoming. We lost our key at one point and they were very cool about it.

One of the highlights was that we had our own holiday cat who we called Minty. Minty was good at chasing the lizards away and greeted us every morning.

I was a bit concerned about comments I have read on this site relating to noisy roosters. They were definitely in evidence but actually didnt cause any issue. This is partly because if you visit at the end of the dry season like we did, you tend to get up fairly early anyway to do some sunbathing/surfing before it get's too hot.

We would really recommend the Raratonga hotel to couples and serious surfers who are looking for a chilled out place to stay. And finally the price is pretty good too - one of the cheapest places in town and one of the nicest.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughandzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My husband and I first visited Santa Teresa two years ago. When we did, we stayed right in town. It cost us $5 less to stay there, and for that we had massive amounts of termites, water dripping from the ceiling, and loud partiers next door. Here, it is a more "tranquilo" experience. I understand what others have said about thin floors/walls and loud animals but honestly, my husband and I are light sleepers and we've been fine. The rooms are simple yet lovely. Meticulously cleaned daily and private. Also, the owners are truly the best! They are some of the most helpful, kind, and good-spirited people to ever run a business. Finally, they have the best recommendations. Listen to them and you won't be disappointed! The Raratonga is akin to the warm beaches of Costa Rica- tranquil, inviting, and not to be missed.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_surfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed for over a week and found the service to be very helpful and the rooms to be very clean. I highly recommend staying here if you are in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelman0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

we stand in one of the apartments in front of the pool and it was awesome!
comfortable, clean and furnished with everything
also very close to the beach and anything we would need.
alessia, stefano & gianni (the owners) are great people!! always friendly and helpful!!
we got some trouble during the trip and they really helped us..
Grazie one more time!
looking forward to go again, absolutely reccomended!
marco & mirella

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pakkatrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I stayed in the Raratonga studio apartment. It was on the small side and the appointments were spare with a concrete floor. Its a new place so it was in good shape. It had air conditioning that was weak by US standards, but basically did the job. I paid $65 a night on the weekly rate which I think it was fair given its proximity to the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is about a 5 minute walk from a very beautiful beach with pretty consistent swell, but it is a beach break that closed out a lot. You had to pick your waves very carefully to get one that you could make.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Buenos Aires
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
280 reviews
0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
0.3 mi away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#2 of 62 in Santa Teresa
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#3 of 30 in Santa Teresa
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Address: | 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £39 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Raratonga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga is a small friendly lodge with 7 units total, double private rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments for 2 to 4 persons, swimming pool, A/C, private bathroom, hot water, safety box, wi-fi, daily cleaning. Rates from $45-$60 p/night p/double room. 5 minutes walking from the best surf spot and beach of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. Ideal for couples, families and group of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing