We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace on Earth”
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Raratonga
Ranked #9 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I really enjoy my stay at the Raratonga hotel, Alessia & Johnny were very nice and very heplful. The room is very cute and very clean. The hotel is very close to the white sand beach if you like to be sit on the chair you must bring your . so quiet you have the beach for yourself !!!!!!!!! The hotel is close to everything, can be walking distance. Don't bring fancy clothes or shoes, the road are so dusty. If you like the dogs this is your country ...... the owner has 4 dogs, they are not dangerous , all dogs from Santa Teresa love people......PS they are healty very different than others country. I stayed for 13 days and wish could stay longer !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indochine64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Raratonga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

Very nice small hotell with beautiful rooms, great location near the best surfspot, very clean, wifi, good value. Alessia who owns the hotell is the nicest person and will help you with any problems. If I go back I will stay there again.

Marcus from Sweden

Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
Thank MarcusGfromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

close to the fantastic beach of Santa Teresa
Nice and clean
exellent service
Wifi
Great value

I would love to come back one day:)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaGMalmo_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We are so glad we found the Hotel Rartonga! It is located in a perfect spot, very close to the beautiful beach and great surf. The grounds are very well maintained and it is such a calm, beautiful place to hang out at. Our room was clean, perfectly sized and a great value. The best part of our stay though was the owners - Alessia, Stephan, and Gianni. Helpful and knowledgeable from our first inquiry email to the last day of our trip. I can't say enough about the customer service they provided and the obvious pride they take in their hotels!! Thank you for a wonderful stay!!! We will be back and our bringing our kids on the next trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

For the affordable price, Raratonga Apartments was a great choice. You could even save more money if you have friends stay with you and split the apartment. They were clean, simple, wifi was fastest I found in town, A/C worked, pool was nice, and the short walk to the beach was easy. It's also right next to surf shops and Zwart Cafe - yum.
Our friends were staying in two of the other apartments and the guys who worked at Raratonga were super helpful to all of us. From lost bags by the airline to our friend losing his keys. You also saw our hosts around town and they always said hello.
There were also Iguanas all over the property which we thought was pretty cool.
If you want to spend your money on surfing and exploring vs. a private bungalow, or perhaps you are traveling with friends on a budget, this is a great spot for you.
Thanks Raratonga!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmhnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a great experience at Hotel Raratonga! It met our needs in a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay with a price that was reasonable. The location is near quality restaurants, cafes (Ginger Cafe), the beach and the supermarket was a 2 minute walk down the street. Our time spent at Hotel Raratonga will provide us with many great memories of Costa Rica and Santa Teresa. Lastly, as mentioned in many other reviews, Alessia is great and always there for you. She responded to all my questions in a timely manner while planning our trip and continued to offer her assistance when needed throughout our stay at her hotel. I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Enjoyed our time at Hotel Raratonga, firstly because Alessia is so available to help with any needs. The couple of maintenance issues we had were immediately addressed, the accomodations were cute and clean and we would definitely consider Hotel Raratonga on a return trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bamdoroshni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#20 of 26 in Santa Teresa
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Address: | 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £37 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga is a small friendly lodge with 7 units total, double private rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments for 2 to 4 persons, swimming pool, A/C, private bathroom, hot water, safety box, wi-fi, daily cleaning. Rates from $45-$60 p/night p/double room. 5 minutes walking from the best surf spot and beach of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. Ideal for couples, families and group of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing