We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Welcome”
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Raratonga
Ranked #9 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We had a really good stay att Raratonga when visiting ST over Christmas/ New Year. They were very welcoming and helpful throughout. They gave us good recommendations and made reservations to various activities/transportation etc... for us. The room was accomadating and had just what we needed! The strip of beach nearest the Hotel was, according to us, the best strech on the long, long beach! Perfect for the morning swim and evening sunset. All in all we were very pleased and would not hesitate to recommend Raratonga to others nor would we hesitate to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed here for just under a month and from the very start of the booking process the staff were beyond helpful, from splitting up our stay between two apartments, to helping us book fishing and snorkel trips to advice on Santa Teresa and the local area.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, a well stocked kitchen and a super cold fridge and freezer were provided. We had clean towels and bedding every day and the mini bar restocked regularly.

Some of the best surf is only a five minute walk, all you have to do is slip your boardies on, neck some coffee and you're in the water before you have time to think.

Would recomend the Raratonga Apartments to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I spent a month at Raratonga Apartments with my husband to surf.
We booked everything online and reserved the place by email. Since then the staff was really attentive, answering all my questions.

To get there by bus from San Jose it wasn't easy, but when we arrived there we REALLY didn't want to leave. That place is amazing.

The apartment is cozy, and has all the equipment we needed. It's close to the shops so we could cook everything at our place, saving a lot of money and eating well.

It has A/C and fan for the hot days and to save us from the mosquitos.

The pool is refreshing and clean, so are the rooms/bathroom. Gisele was the cleaner for that period, a friendly and helpful lady. Gianni the manager was SUPER SUPER helpful and nice to us. He made our stay in Santa Teresa really special, joining us for some breakfasts and dinners.

The place is really quiet, relaxing helping us to sleep in almost every day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NegraModelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We ended up staying 2 more nights than what we originally intended! we loved the place and the room. First of all the service was amazing and all the staff was very helpful with anything we needed whether it was transportation, excursions or just tips on where to go. The rooms are cleaned everyday which makes it that much more enjoyable to come back to the room after a day at the beach. The mattresses are out of this world, we slept like babies every night. There are roosters outside the hostel in the morning but nothing to really be worried about, you get used to them and eventually learn to like it, as a result of you experiencing more of what it is like to live the costa rican lifestyle. Great location 2 minutes walk from the beach and surf! lastly the price is really good for what you get!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

First things first.
I read a review that stated a few negative things about this place. I'd like to say that anyone posting a negative review of this hotel should simply not travel to Santa Teresa. Santa Teresa, is a place with natural wild life, pristine beaches and limited development. The roads are not paved and Yes, there are monkeys, roosters and dogs running around. Anyone, who does not enjoy natural habitat is best to stay at a sandals resort somewhere else.

This place is great! The owners are sooooo nice and the rooms are really comfy. It is located at the quieter end of town and situated across from one of the best surf locations. It is priced well, safe and very hospitable.

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone (especially couples) travelling to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: second floor was great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appleseed777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the Raratonga Apartments for three days (June 29 - July 1) and it was amazing! We're hoping to visit again soon.

When Alessia welcomed us, she gave us tips and recommended a couple of places for us to visit. Once we got to step into the apartment, we were surprised at how nice it was! The kitchen is fully equipped and the dishes and utensils seemed new and neat. The bathroom was really big, clean, and it had hot water.The rooms were simple, but spacious with enough room for your stuff. Some felt that the beds were a bit hard to sleep on, but it was not a big deal. The whole apartment was equipped with A/C, fans and plenty of windows. Its location is pretty close to the beach, about a 5 minute walk, and it has several restaurants and supermarkets nearby (all at walking distance). And the pool was really nice too.

We drove there in a rented sedan, but would definitely advise you to get a 4x4 wheeler, just to make sure your car can make it to everywhere.

Overall, it was of great value and definitely recommend this place if you plan on visiting Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here as a couple back in 2010, its pete and amy. We stayed for nearly 3 weeks. Perfect location as short walk from the beach, very helpful staff. Alessia was amazing and always helped us with everything whenever we needed help. Thankyou for such a special time!

Room Tip: All good rooms, high ones get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteamy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#3 of 27 in Santa Teresa
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
584 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Florblanca Resort
Florblanca Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
331 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Address: | 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £42 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga is a small friendly lodge with 7 units total, double private rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments for 2 to 4 persons, swimming pool, A/C, private bathroom, hot water, safety box, wi-fi, daily cleaning. Rates from $45-$60 p/night p/double room. 5 minutes walking from the best surf spot and beach of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. Ideal for couples, families and group of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing