We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Raratonga
Ranked #8 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. It is a short walk to the beach, the surfboard rental shop, a small supermarket (very useful since there is a common kitchen), and several restaurants including the great Ginger Cafe (amazing coffee, breakfast and lunch). However it is still very peaceful given the location and orientation of the rooms. Speaking of the rooms they were very clean, beautiful wood, chairs on the porch for lounging, and bug-free (which is defeinitely not the case everywhere). This is a small, cozy and friendly place. There is a new swimming pool when you get tired of feeling sticky from the ocean. The common kitchen is clean and has a great lounge area for reading or socializing. Expect to be woken up early by nearby roosters! Which is unavoidable anywhere in Santa Teresa - so enjoy and catch the early waves :) In low season the $35 rate is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpackso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

this hotel was amazing. location was great. a little further from the town, but 2 minute walk. our apartment was more then we expected. it was very clean, and beautiful. Gianni, one of the owners, was great!!!! he was always there when we needed him to answer any our questions. he was so sweet, that when i requested my desire to see some monkeys on our first day, he remembered it 2 days later and actually pointed me to the location. he was very helpful and had always smile on his face. would i come back? hell to the yes and i will tell all my friends to not waste any time or money and go straight to hotel raratonga, when they in santa teresa. if you looking for a place with an ice machine on the floor, its not for you. but if you looking for something safe, simple and beautiful and a great customer service, this place is perfect. gianni and smeagal (his puppy) definitely helped us create great experience

Room Tip: we had an apartment on 2nd floor with balcony. we were watching liguanas while having breakfast ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeykeyjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We came so santa teresa with no hotel reservation and walked up and down the main street for five hours searching for a nice place to stay. This hotel was our last stop. We found the most amazing wooden room in a peaceful and well-kept property. After visiting places where we had to choose between a/c or privet toilets we got to a place that has it all! Spacious room with privet toilet and shower (hot water), a comfortable bed, a/c, ceiling fan, a safe (which we did not feel the need to use), fridge and a porch facing the pool. Another grate thing was the commune kitchen. The room is being cleaned every day and also the pool. The staff (Alecia, Stefano and Max) were the most welcoming, warm and kind people. We had a problem with the hot water and they fixed it straight away.
We traveled as a couple and we serf, so we went to bed early and enjoyed the sounds of nature that woke us up for the morning surf session.
We paid 35$ a night and it was worth every penny.
We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the wooden apartments. Insane location right near the main entrance to playa Santa Teresa . All staff was super friendly, Alessia ,Stephan ,Max and Gianni, you guys are great. Room was extremely clean , Air conditioning worked great, and the property is amazing, monkeys in the mango trees and huge lizards , butterflies and birds in abundance right outside your room , perfect location, perfect room, perfect staff, excellent soda's and cafes , markets right near by . Just wish we could have stayed longer. Will save our money to come back!!
Mucho gracias , from the franklin's in Colorado

Room Tip: Wooden apartments are the best, great views of wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Excellent accomodation, very quiet, secure & surrounded by lovely mango trees, you can appreciate humming birds & lots of butterflies right outside in the garden as well as the howler monkeys in the afternoon while we were relaxing at the pool after a nice surf session, the appartments are located just a short walking distance from the beach & supermarket & staff were always friendly with us, as matter of fact they gave us 10$ disc because there was a small prob with the fridge but they fixed during the afternoon, I stayed three nights with 5 friends of mine & def will recommend this place & will be back again for sure.

word from a local

Hope ur doing better from the flu Gianni
Pura vida
Ismael

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed just one night at this cute little place with a very friendly owner. The beds and pillows were just right. The patio is comfortable, we sat out in a lightning/rain storm and stayed perfectly dry. The room is fully accomodated with a safe, a.c., a closet w/hangers, fridge, coffee maker, soft towels, and a nice warm shower, wi-fi and more! This spot is definitely worth a visit and will fit right into any traveller's budget. Oh yes, and there is a communal kitchen, great for saving a few bucks in a town where dining out is quite expensive.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My stay at Raratonga was perfect. Clean, simple and tastefully done rooms with hot water, mini fridge, safe, coffee maker and shared deck. It was peaceful, right up the road from one of the best surf breaks in Santa Teresa and very close to a supermarket, local restaurant and the best sunset restaurant in the area, Rocamor. Alessia was an amazing host who's willing to help you out with all your questions. I will definitely stay there again when I go back. I checked out most of the hotels and hostels in the area while I was there and she had the best prices for what you get.

Thanks so much!

Sean Aiken NYC

Room Tip: I won't tell because I want the same room next year ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanA112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Buenos Aires
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#3 of 30 in Santa Teresa
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#2 of 63 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Address: 300 meters north from Lora Amarilla | 20 meters south from Supermercado Hacienda, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £38 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Raratonga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga is a small friendly lodge with 7 units total, double private rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments for 2 to 4 persons, swimming pool, A/C, private bathroom, hot water, safety box, wi-fi, daily cleaning. Rates from $45-$60 p/night p/double room. 2 minutes walking from the best surf spot and beach of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. Ideal for couples, families and group of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing