We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
171
42
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
42
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool wonderful stay small fridge cleaned daily beach access alessia roosters supermarket surfing maid birds hosts waves trees session
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Hotel was out of the busy town making it less dusty and more pleasant. The staff were very friendly. The wifi did not work from the rooms but was good in the lobby area. The pool was a nice feature and was clean.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mlangley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raratonga, Front desk at Hotel Raratonga, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice review. We loved to know that you liked our place and location and that you enjoyed the pool. We apologize for the inconvenient with the Wi-Fi, we are currently making some improvements in that area. We hope to see you soon here in beautiful Santa Teresa and send you all the best.
Regards
Lucy T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I liked the hotel but is good for a couple or quite people. I arrived with my friend on Friday (when the power went out) and we stayed till Sunday (when we waked up and there was no water in the whole hotel). On Friday night we were having some drinks in the bedroom, getting ready to go out, it was around half past 9, and the administrator came to our room to tell us we had to turn off the music and lower our voices. So it's a nice place for very calm people. But we learnt and on Saturday we left the hotel at 8pm, and went to a bar. The Hotel It's located at the end of the principal street in Santa Teresa but close to some beaches and the mini center of the town. We did everything by car.. make sure you go in a 4x4 cause there are lots of holes in Santa Tere. Best place to eat: Cafe Social. Best place to go out: Tap Brew.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raratonga, Front Desk at Hotel Raratonga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Raratonga. We want to offer you our apologies for the inconvenience with the power and the water, but, as we are sure you understand, those were circumstances totally out of our hands. We would also like to say that we appreciate your understanding and cooperation with our rule of quietness after 9pm, like you said, we like to keep a calm and quite atmosphere for our guests who wish to sleep or maybe just relax, read a book and rest. Our town offers a variety of bars and places where you can go and have some drinks, chat with friends and even dance! So there's something for everybody. We hope that, all in all, you've enjoyed your stay with us, we send you our best and hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards
Lucy T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The hotel is very well run, neat and clean. Great hot water. There are only 4 units in the facility, It has a nice little pool area, Good location at the far north end of Santa Teresa. The only thing preventing me giving it a 5 is the sound transfer issue between rooms, as noted in others' reviews. I was staying in one of the 2 rooms on the second floor of the 2nd building, 2 female friends were in the room next door. I could hear their voices, though not clearly, whenever they spoke.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raratonga, Front Desk at Hotel Raratonga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear guest, we'd like to thank you for taking to time to write your review on us. We are glad that you liked our facilities and that you thought it was clean and neat. Also that our location was convenient for you. We apologize if the noise from your neighbours disturbed you. We have strict rules about quietness after 9pm and we try to have them respected as much as possible, as you saw, ours is a fully wooden ecological building and even if the walls are insulated in between them it is not possible to block the noise entirely. But we thank our guests for understanding what we're trying to do here and for appreciating the ecological side of our buildings and the warmness they offer.
We send you all the best and hope to see you back soon.
LucyT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Close to what many say is the best beach on the west coast - Santa Teresa. The pool was in fantastic shape and we used is often. The staff were great. The air-conditioning was a life saver. Several easy routes down to the beach: be careful, the current/surge can be quite powerful here. We woke up to the sounds of howler monkeys every morning.., pretty awesome to wake up to them.
Really good cocktails at a bar nearby called El Smokey Bigote. The best value and cheapest Soda in town is right next door.
Downside: The rooms are separated by thin walls (its an eco-lodge) , if you have noisy neighbours, you'll hear them.
Also, the roads in town are bad, have a decent car to get around. We had a small rental (not a 4X4) - it's fine if you drive slowly. Raratonga provided safe parking.
Overall - I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms looked much the same to me.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raratonga, Front Desk at Hotel Raratonga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing your experience at Raratonga. We are so glad that you enjoyed our pool, our location and that you liked our staff. We appreciate very much all of our guests feedback, it gives us a great deal of satisfaction to know that they felt comfortable and well taken care of during their stay. Like you said above, our hotel is entirely built out of ecological wood, that's why it can't be insulated like a concrete building, but we know our guests appreciate what we're doing here and we thank them for that.
Hope to see you back soon and send you our best.
Lucy T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed at Raratonga in Sept 2016 in one of the basic rooms for two. Because it was the low season we basically had the place to ourselves, which was awesome! Felt like a secluded, treehouse getaway with the pool to ourselves. :) I image it might get noisy if there are a lot of people staying at the same time, as the structure is not noise resistant (great for listening to jungle sounds, but not as beneficial if you have a noisy vacation neighbor). All in all, we loved what Raratonga had to offer, it was exactly what we were seeking for a nice week-long getaway. Lucy at the front desk was very, very friendly as well as very helpful with any questions and arranging travel to and from the airport. Another perk to this location, the restaurant next door was delicious - ate there for many meals.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CoBail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raratonga, Front Desk at Hotel Raratonga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Dear guest, we want to thank you for sparing a minute to write your review on us. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's very rewarding for us to see all of our efforts to make of our place a home away from home, appreciated by our guests.
As you said, ours is a fully wooden ecological building and even if in this kind of building we can't insulate 100% of the noise, we thank our guests that understand and appreciate the ecological side of it and the warm atmosphere it offers.
We send all our good vibes and hope you come back to beautiful Santa Teresa very soon.
Kind regards
Lucy T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews