We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location on excellent surfing beach”
Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Ranked #17 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Mountain View, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location on excellent surfing beach”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Richard is an awesome host at Hotel Casa Azul. He has helped me to spend a significant amount of time in Santa Teresa, find my way around, and resolve problems. The hotel is really clean, organized, and pleasant. I stayed in the small room, one of the ocean-view rooms, and also for a few days in the upstairs suite in the main building. This is the best location in the whole area: right on the beach where there is a massive, consistent beach break. I surfed once or twice per day, every day on excellent waves. The water is literally a couple of hundred steps from the room. The pool is perfectly located in lovely gardens, and there is a yoga pagoda with a hammock for the use of any guest. All the rooms come with their own hammock, except for the small room. A/C is good, WiFi is good (in the main building). Santa Teresa has great cafes, bars, and restaurants, and it's got a great small-town, friendly, non-touristy feel. I highly recommend Hotel Casa Azul.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
61
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was our first choice in Santa Theresa and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located directly on the beach and close to good places to eat. The hotel has options of staying in the main house or has separate cottages. We stayed in the main house in a very comfortable room that had great views of the ocean. The grounds are beautiful and there is a wonderful pool after you come in from surfing or just enjoying the beach. The owner is a great host and knows the area well. We really enjoyed his knowledge and humor. We definitely would recommend this hotel and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: There are two cottages separate from the main house. But the rooms in the main house that face the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has 2 little houses for rent right on the beach good for surfing and just 15 min walk to another really great suf spot !! One of the two house is brand new and it's just perfect if you plan a longer stay or you wanna cook a little ! Good for friends stay and family !

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

richard is a great host, the surfing was super!!!! easy access to the beach and everything else playa carmen had to offer, the owner is very helpful with tips and tricks for the local area dining and board rental, the best coffee shop and bakery is just across the street

Room Tip: with the bar next door it was a bit loud, but i enjoyed it non the less
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, NH
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in one of the villas/cottages on the property of Hotel Casa Azul in Sept. 2013. It was very spacious, had a full kitchen, huge bathroom, comfortable bed and a little patio. A short walk to the pool and just beyond...the beach. Very well maintained, clean property tucked away in a private setting. There is a great place to eat at the end of the driveway..."The Bakery"...no need to look elsewhere...they have fabulous food and Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshcorgi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

In September we were visiting Mal Pias and decided to switch our accommodations to Casa Azul.
Wow so happy we did. Very impressive property. When you enter it is a tropical paradise with beautiful well maintained grounds.

We chose to stay in one of the casita's but you can rent a room in the big house overlooking the pool and the ocean for less money.

Our casita was well arranged and very clean. Small patio with furniture overlooking the ocean and pool.

The pool was very large and well maintained with nice lounge chairs. There were gates that opened up to the sandy beach with a beautiful sunset over the water.

This property is close to everything and is an easy walk to town. We found the place to be very safe and well attended. We would certainly stay again and we highly recommend Casa Azul!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennisShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We switched to Casa Azul after our first night in Santa Teresa. We were not booked there originally, but after a bad first impression of our first hotel, we decided to make the move. We rented the white casita and it was fabulous. It was private, comfortable, clean and had great kitchen. It had a covered wrap around porch, which was great for chilling in the rain or in the shade. We also had an outdoor shower, A/C, ceiling fans and plenty of windows. We couldn't see the ocean, but we could hear it. Our view was of beautiful grounds, trees, wildlife, another casita (with ocean view) and felt very safe. The pool is a 30 second walk, was long enough to swim laps and had a great ocean view, right on the beach. The location of Casa Azul can't be beat, right on the Main Street, yet tucked away and on the beach. Steps away from sunsets & surfing. It's on Mal Pais side of town, which seemed a little more chill with great restaurants. The grocery, an amazing bakery, liquor store and good eats were all right there. The staff was very friendly and provided safety tips. We were warned of a nightclub next door, which can be very loud on the weekends, but we never experienced this. It was closed for the off season, luckily. We made instant friends with the other travelers at Casa Azul and never felt crowded. Perfect for our honeymoon. From our experience, the value can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#5 of 27 in Santa Teresa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#19 of 26 in Santa Teresa
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Property: Hotel Casa Azul
Address: Meters North Of Crossroads Of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa 100, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing