We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of both worlds”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Ranked #17 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best of both worlds”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Richard was key in making our stay at Casa Azul in Costa Rica as wonderful as could be. The buildings and grounds are beautiful, meticulously maintained, and landscaped like a dream. The location is super convenient to most anything you would want in Santa Theresa. And, the best part is you have no idea the hustle and bustle is only 200 meters away, because all you hear and see is the ocean. There is a wonderful open-air pavilion that we used for yoga, watching surfers, and enjoying the hammock. Beautiful iguanas lazed in the sun while we did the same in the gorgeous pool. The rooms and cabanas are super modern; large showers, amazing AC, beautiful tiled floors, gorgeous woodwork, all with a relaxed feel. His staff are wonderful. Large safe boxes for my valuables added peace of mind to my stay.

His recommendations for activities; from surfing to restaurants, and most importantly, culture, was spot on. This is truly a labor of love and it shows.

Room Tip: We stayed in a small room with an ocean view. I would stay in it again, or one of the cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
60
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Richard Thank You. I have been in Santa Teresa several times since 2006. This time was the most enjoyable. Tabu the beach bar with the horribly loud music (yes I am over 25) and the almost as loud disco are now silent. Peace and quiet. Great Restaurants (Mary's, The Italian Place, The Grilled Chicken Place, Roca Mar, The Bakery, and others) make staying here a delight. If you surf there is always a good lineup on the beach. The break in front of Roca Mar is good too. Casa Azul is a little piece of Paradise. If you can rent a car or a 4x4 and drive up to Manzenillo. I really mean it when I say it is one of my four favorite places on this planet. Very clean, very quiet, very safe, wonderful pool, Yoga deck, direct access to the beach, and a staff that really takes care of the property. Richard the owner is very detail oriented and is directly involved with its management. Again thank you Richard and your staff. We will be back.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main house both ocean side and garden side on two floors. If you are a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We've stayed at the casita at Casa Azul twice now, once as a couple, once with our family and have been very pleased with both stays. The location is just about perfect - right in the heart of the action literally steps from the beach. The casita is clean and comfortable and easily accommodated our family of four - they boys each getting their own bed! We love having the kitchen so we have the option of eating in but yet are close enough to the restaurants that we can eat out as well.

Traveling with kids, they were disappointed that there wasn't a television, but I LOVED it!

I definitely recommend Casa Azul!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Richard is an awesome host at Hotel Casa Azul. He has helped me to spend a significant amount of time in Santa Teresa, find my way around, and resolve problems. The hotel is really clean, organized, and pleasant. I stayed in the small room, one of the ocean-view rooms, and also for a few days in the upstairs suite in the main building. This is the best location in the whole area: right on the beach where there is a massive, consistent beach break. I surfed once or twice per day, every day on excellent waves. The water is literally a couple of hundred steps from the room. The pool is perfectly located in lovely gardens, and there is a yoga pagoda with a hammock for the use of any guest. All the rooms come with their own hammock, except for the small room. A/C is good, WiFi is good (in the main building). Santa Teresa has great cafes, bars, and restaurants, and it's got a great small-town, friendly, non-touristy feel. I highly recommend Hotel Casa Azul.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was our first choice in Santa Theresa and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located directly on the beach and close to good places to eat. The hotel has options of staying in the main house or has separate cottages. We stayed in the main house in a very comfortable room that had great views of the ocean. The grounds are beautiful and there is a wonderful pool after you come in from surfing or just enjoying the beach. The owner is a great host and knows the area well. We really enjoyed his knowledge and humor. We definitely would recommend this hotel and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: There are two cottages separate from the main house. But the rooms in the main house that face the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has 2 little houses for rent right on the beach good for surfing and just 15 min walk to another really great suf spot !! One of the two house is brand new and it's just perfect if you plan a longer stay or you wanna cook a little ! Good for friends stay and family !

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

richard is a great host, the surfing was super!!!! easy access to the beach and everything else playa carmen had to offer, the owner is very helpful with tips and tricks for the local area dining and board rental, the best coffee shop and bakery is just across the street

Room Tip: with the bar next door it was a bit loud, but i enjoyed it non the less
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Teresa
Hotel Playa Santa Teresa
#20 of 26 in Santa Teresa
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Property: Hotel Casa Azul
Address: Meters North Of Crossroads Of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa 100, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing