We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa Azul
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,017
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
US$452
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Cielo(Santa Teresa)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
129
15
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
15
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue housegreat bakerycosta ricayoga paviliongrounds are beautifullittle slice of heavenfalling asleepfavorite placesshort walknice bathroomboard rentalssmall kitchensan josea great staylaid backsurf lessonsrichard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Casa Azul four times over the past 7 years and it continues to be the best place to stay for surfing. It is on the beach with a direct view of the waves and is 75 yards to the surf. It is clean, safe and very well run. All the accommodations have a safe to keep valuables. There are two ocean view room, one non-ocean view room and two separate cottages, the latter of which have their own kitchen. All have air conditioning (a necessity), bathroom, shower and wi-fi and daily maid service. There is no kitchen in the rooms, but in the interior hallway there is a refrigerator which is shared with other guests and a coffee maker. The ocean view rooms have a small patio and a hammock, which is very pleasant in the morning and early evening. The grounds have a pool and a covered gazebo with a hammock for for reading and a wooden floor for yoga. There is an outdoor hose for rinsing off after surfing.

Room Tip: There are two ocean view rooms with a direct view of the surf. You can check the waves from your room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyleStout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Beautiful, Clean, Safe, Great pool, steps to one of the best surf breaks you will find. Richard and his support staff have done it once again. 5 days in paradise! A simple walk to restaurants. Rest in between surf sessions in the hammocks, soak in the pool. Can't say enough. Thanks again!!!

Room Tip: I love the casitas. For a couple of bucks more, worth it for the space.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feedme108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Richard is the consummate host, and Casa Azul is the perfect blend of quality, comfort, and value. It's location couldn't be better either - prime proximity to the beach and close to all you need in Santa Teresa. Richard makes the guests' comfort, security, and peace of mind his priority, and it is evident in the surroundings at Casa Azul. Take a dip in the beautiful pool or spend some time in then newly-constructed yoga pavilion - you really can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crushnitdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Richard was key in making our stay at Casa Azul in Costa Rica as wonderful as could be. The buildings and grounds are beautiful, meticulously maintained, and landscaped like a dream. The location is super convenient to most anything you would want in Santa Theresa. And, the best part is you have no idea the hustle and bustle is only 200 meters away, because all you hear and see is the ocean. There is a wonderful open-air pavilion that we used for yoga, watching surfers, and enjoying the hammock. Beautiful iguanas lazed in the sun while we did the same in the gorgeous pool. The rooms and cabanas are super modern; large showers, amazing AC, beautiful tiled floors, gorgeous woodwork, all with a relaxed feel. His staff are wonderful. Large safe boxes for my valuables added peace of mind to my stay.

His recommendations for activities; from surfing to restaurants, and most importantly, culture, was spot on. This is truly a labor of love and it shows.

Room Tip: We stayed in a small room with an ocean view. I would stay in it again, or one of the cabanas.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Richard Thank You. I have been in Santa Teresa several times since 2006. This time was the most enjoyable. Tabu the beach bar with the horribly loud music (yes I am over 25) and the almost as loud disco are now silent. Peace and quiet. Great Restaurants (Mary's, The Italian Place, The Grilled Chicken Place, Roca Mar, The Bakery, and others) make staying here a delight. If you surf there is always a good lineup on the beach. The break in front of Roca Mar is good too. Casa Azul is a little piece of Paradise. If you can rent a car or a 4x4 and drive up to Manzenillo. I really mean it when I say it is one of my four favorite places on this planet. Very clean, very quiet, very safe, wonderful pool, Yoga deck, direct access to the beach, and a staff that really takes care of the property. Richard the owner is very detail oriented and is directly involved with its management. Again thank you Richard and your staff. We will be back.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main house both ocean side and garden side on two floors. If you are a family there are two small houses with a bedroom and extra beds in the main living area. The house is set back far enough from the road with large Banyan trees to dampen road noise. All rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews