We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Spot in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Cecilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cecilia
Ranked #6 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Spot in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My wife and I had our honeymoon/surf vacation and stayed at Casa Cecilia for 2 weeks. The location is perfect for just about anything you can possibly do on the peninsula. You can wake up and watch the surf right out front or the villa. Don the manager is simply the man! He made us a killer breakfast each morning, was a great mentor for learning to surf, and was an excellent host. He recommended all kinds of great places to eat. You will have some of the best fish in your life. We surfed everyday right infront of the hotel. The location is also a good jumping off point for other surf locations on the peninsula. We were fortunate enough to meet a bunch of great people who came in and out throughout our stay at Casa Cecilia. It is close to all of the restaurants and things to do right in Santa Teresa and Playa Carmen. Casa cecilia is a super chill place to relax right on the ocean. It would be a great spot to stay at with a group of people too. I cant say enough good things about Don and Casa Cecilia. We were there at the beginning of the "green season" and we didn't have 1 bad day of weather. Any rain that did occur came at night. When it rained, it poured!.. but it was usually very quick and at night. Highly recommend the first weeks in May. It is the end of the high tourist season so rates are lower, and weather was still perfect.. as was the surfing conditions.

Room Tip: If you can, stay a few nights upstairs in the Villa. It is super spacious and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corey e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
79
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We were staying near Casa Cecilia and walked over to have breakfast one morning. As it turned out they do not sell breakfast -- but the manager, Don, was wonderful and made us a breakfast burrito anyway. It was yummy! What a fantastic location -- right on the beach, and it is an amazing beach. I understand that they are going to renovate the place soon, but the manager promised that they will keep the laid-back beach vibe. From what we saw, and based on the manager's helpfulness and friendliness, we can highly recommend Casa Cecilia!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anon58318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Cecilia for a few days in May 2012; we stayed in the upstairs suite which was exceptional. In a few words, wood structure and furniture, very clean, comfortable beds, great view on the beach, hammacks on the beach. Fridge in the room which is convenient.

The hotel manager was very friendly and accomodating, possibility to rent a surf board, breakfast served every morning, try the burritos!

The beach is great, all sand which is rare on this portion of the Pacific coast.

We will return for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I spent a week at Casa Cecilia in January, and two weeks in March and have to say it is the best value anywhere in Costa Rica. It has the best beach location anywhere with shade trees and hammocks where you can relax without the crowds of other places in St Teresa. As a surfer, the beach break here can be seen from every room, and is the best in St Teresa. As the original developer of the Florblanca hotel located a stone's throw away, I can honestly say that I like it here better, and will stay here whenever I come to visit. Don is a great host, and takes care of anything that you need to do on your visit. The facilities are modest, but well thought out, and very clean. Use of the kitchen by guests is a great idea, and facilitates getting to know other guests and their families if you choose to. Great internet and cell phone service here as well.

Room Tip: All rooms on the first floor are equal, the larger rooms on the second floor have an even better bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RalphieSurfDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Sophie and I and our seven year old daughter Tabitha had the pleasure of staying here in February this year for two weeks, we were invited to a great friends wedding and she had suggested this was a great place to chill, it did not undersell , we were lucky enough to secure the master room on the first floor which was far more than the brochure depicted and ideal for a family travelling with children, a great space just to chill out, you can dip in and dip out as much as you want but breakfast is a must , it really is just staying in your own villa , people come and go in the other rooms which amused Tabitha with their different languages , accents and exercises! Sophie and i met some great people we would of just passed by in a Hotel any where else! This is Costa Rica don't expect 'Sandals' you are on the wrong Holiday but this is' flipflops' at its best! The waves just keep on crashing in day and night , wish we were still there and next time we will go for longer ! A huge thankyou to Don and his staff for the most wonderful time!

Room Tip: The master Suite for a family , couples the rooms are not huge but the whole place is like a villa w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I was introduced to Casa Cecilia through a friend who got married next to it on the beach. It's an attractive beach house, a hundred yards from the road and 30 yards to the beach. It is still remote enough to be able to pretend you're the only one around, though Cashpoints, bakeries, a good selection of restaraunts all a short way away.

Each room is a good size, has a fridge, aircon and a nice bathroom. The house is spotless thanks to Angelique and the open front is kept tidy to the beach, thankfully there a few trees to cast shade and some hammocks strung under them. There were many envious glances from walkers on the beach.

Endless pots of coffee for breakfast, some fruit, granola or something cooked is supplied when you're ready. No buffet or fixed timescales.

Don is the perfect host, he's there when you need him as a local guide/fixer, yet you feel as comfortable with him as one of your friends straight off. Usually at the house for the early surf session before you wake up and almost always there having his own little Bodi moment as the sun goes down.

The beach is one of the nicest I've ever been to. Clean, soft sand for miles on either side, warm, powerful, even waves. Surfers in abundance and you can see why.

Excellent stay. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: The upstairs room. Wow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GavsDavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

A clean, comfortable place right on the sand. The staff is friendly and the manager, Don is incredible and works hard to ensure your taken care of with dining, activities and accommodations! The week we spent at Casa Cecelia was very relaxing and would highly recommend for singles, couples and family with older kids.

Room Tip: Any room in the main house is great and faces the beach. Villa is not on the sand, but completely p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jazzystiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cecilia

Property: Casa Cecilia
Address: Nicoya Peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Cecilia Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing